We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little worn out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Shore Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Lorneville B&B and Inns
in Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little worn out”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were assigned a chalet cabin which was nicely laid out and with a propane fireplace to keep us warm. The furniture was just plain "Old" and it totally lacked any charm. We chose to try it here as we often stay at their sister property The Blomidon Inn in Wolfville NS which is wonderful and always fun. It was early in their season but we felt they could have done at least a thorough cleaning of our chalet.
My wife was having some tests done at a nearby hospital and we thought this would be a way to change a dreary trip into a pleasant experience. It was in early June and the weather was bleak but that usually is a great time to enjoy a cozy stay, the manager was barely nice and any time we asked for even the most tiny change to our meals we were reminded that there were no chance they could give us anything other than the menu description. I am sure things are better when the full staff is on (at least I hope so) but we wont think of returning for a second try.

Room Tip: All the chalets had an ocean view and the grounds looked nicely looked after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our last stop in Nova Scotia and what's very, very special place. We stayed in the inn cottage, as it had a washer and dryer in the bathroom and after six weeks of car travel we needed them. We were right on the water and could enjoy watching the tides come and go plus look across the water to PEI. The cottage was rustic but very comfortable with a full kitchen, bath, three bedrooms and a living area. But the best of the stay was the food!!! Rob is a magician with meals and Mary is a master at baking. The inn has acres of gardens so all the vegetables are fresh, with every meal you get different assortments, not including the salad which changed every night. When you first sit Mary brings a loaf of fresh bread to your table which you can take home if you don't finish it. At breakfast she makes fresh scones daily. The service is wonderful. This is truly a hidden gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Our room was in the basement and had zero charm, and our host was nearly incommunicative. But the dinner made up for it all - probably the best meal, with home-grown fruits and vegetables, that we'd had on our whole trip. With seating for only 16 at dinner, you're guaranteed excellent service and attention. Breakfast was quite good, too. There's no place else to stay that's nearby, so try to ignore the room and enjoy the meals!

Room Tip: There are cabins that might have a bit more charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our accommodations in the chalets were very comfortable, our group of four couples enjoyed having these cottages for our holiday. The propane fireplace helped to take the chill off from a rainy day on the golf course. The golf package with two spectacular dinners and full breakfasts was the perfect fit for our group. Mary was a very welcoming host who helped to ensure our holiday was a memorable vacation. The grounds were lovely with lots of beautiful gardens and the pathways were well kept and invited the guests to walk down to the water and enjoy the view. The addition of the chipping green was a popular destination for the golfers. We really enjoyed the trip to Pugwash to play Northumberland Links. The golf course was in top shape with great views and quick greens. The trip to the Inn was a great way to spend a weekend in August. We will be back.

Room Tip: We really like the privacy and location of the chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfGal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Mary and Rob provide an extraordinary meal that includes vegetables and herbs freshly picked from their beautiful garden. Dinner began with fresh tomato bisque and then a mixed green salad with perfectly ripened peaches and a light vinaigrette dressing. The chicken wrapped in prosciutto and stuffed with brie was accompanied by perfectly prepared baby vegetables from the garden. Dessert included a choice of two sweet treats of homemade pastries that highlighted blueberries in season and a lemon cheesecake with chocolate to die for. The locals we met at dinner, who regularly dine here, were celebrating a family event and opined they hoped Amherst Shore Country Inn would remain a “local secret”… Shhhh! Don’t tell anyone that this was one of the most memorable meals we have ever had!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We did not get to do their dinner because of late golf down the road in Pugwash but our room was cooled and cozy when we arrived. Mary and Rob were gracious and the French toast breakfast next AM was excellent. The view from their dining windows and a short walk down the hill are goregous over the strait and bay. ( Think Adirondack chairs and white wine!) When we indicated interest in "hanging around " a bit after checkout and using their children's "chipping green" to have some fun and practice our short games, they encouraged it and Rob promptly appeared to mow the green so as to enhance our fun with best conditions.

Room Tip: Make sure you have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PepeNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Mary received us so well! Not only were we impressed by the quality of our accommodations and our meals but when the bill came, the "package deal rate" was applied and we spent less than expected. Now that's not an everyday occurrence. The sea side location is another bonus and we could go on. Ok. A bit more, Mary's hubby Rob is a top chef. Breakfast would of make the Ritz proud.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sajecoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorneville
16.7 mi away
Comfort Inn - Amherst
Comfort Inn - Amherst
#2 of 5 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
20.6 mi away
Coastal Inn Sackville
Coastal Inn Sackville
#1 of 2 in Sackville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
19.6 mi away
Tantramar Motel
Tantramar Motel
#2 of 2 in Sackville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Super 8 Amherst NS
Super 8 Amherst NS
#1 of 5 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
7.2 mi away
Pumpkin Inn B & B
Pumpkin Inn B & B
#2 of 3 in Port Elgin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
20.7 mi away
Sackville Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Shore Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Shore Country Inn

Property: Amherst Shore Country Inn
Address: 5091 Route 366 | RR#2 Amherst, Lorneville, Nova Scotia B4H 3X9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Lorneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lorneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amherst Shore Country Inn is located near the town of Amherst in Lorneville, Nova Scotia. The inn is set on an oceanfront knoll along the shore of the Northumberland Strait. It boasts a spectacular sea view with a park like beach setting complete with seaside gazebo. The inn features the historic charms of a century old farmhouse, the modern conveniences of today, outstanding culinary experiences, walks on the expanse of sand flats at low tide and of course professional but relaxed hospitality. Operated by the Laceby family since 1980 it is a well established Nova Scotia Country Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Amherst
Amherst Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing