We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but service is a bit rigid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Shore Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Lorneville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for one night in Aug 2014. Our cabin had a queen-sized bed and a sleeper sofa, which accommodated our group of 3. There was a comfortable sitting area, which was much appreciated after a long day of biking.

However, we found the service a bit off-putting. You are required to order your meals 24 hours in advance. While the food was wonderful, we were less than thrilled with the experience. They are rather rigid about the meal times, and wanted to insist that we sit in the sitting room, not the dining room, until we were called to dinner--this despite the fact that all seats in the sitting room were already filled by other guests similarly waiting. Furthermore, the chef was very anxious about the food allergies of one of our members. While the guest attempted to convey that she was very relaxed and would be perfectly fine with just a salad and baked potato, the chef was insistent that she have four courses, because that was what was served--and then anxious that there couldn't be 4 courses for this individual b/c of her allergies (to the point of trying to serve her juice while we all ate soup). I understand that allergies can be a pain, but this individual goes out of her way to try not to annoy restaurants w/ the issue and the reaction of the chef was just odd.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Amherst Shore Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We are from New Hampshire and had never been to Nova Scotia. We enjoyed our experience so much at the Inn! The grounds were beautiful, the food was the Best and the Owners were so nice. We would recommend this as a great place to stay and would love to come back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were assigned a chalet cabin which was nicely laid out and with a propane fireplace to keep us warm. The furniture was just plain "Old" and it totally lacked any charm. We chose to try it here as we often stay at their sister property The Blomidon Inn in Wolfville NS which is wonderful and always fun. It was early in their season but we felt they could have done at least a thorough cleaning of our chalet.
My wife was having some tests done at a nearby hospital and we thought this would be a way to change a dreary trip into a pleasant experience. It was in early June and the weather was bleak but that usually is a great time to enjoy a cozy stay, the manager was barely nice and any time we asked for even the most tiny change to our meals we were reminded that there were no chance they could give us anything other than the menu description. I am sure things are better when the full staff is on (at least I hope so) but we wont think of returning for a second try.

Room Tip: All the chalets had an ocean view and the grounds looked nicely looked after.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank honeyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our last stop in Nova Scotia and what's very, very special place. We stayed in the inn cottage, as it had a washer and dryer in the bathroom and after six weeks of car travel we needed them. We were right on the water and could enjoy watching the tides come and go plus look across the water to PEI. The cottage was rustic but very comfortable with a full kitchen, bath, three bedrooms and a living area. But the best of the stay was the food!!! Rob is a magician with meals and Mary is a master at baking. The inn has acres of gardens so all the vegetables are fresh, with every meal you get different assortments, not including the salad which changed every night. When you first sit Mary brings a loaf of fresh bread to your table which you can take home if you don't finish it. At breakfast she makes fresh scones daily. The service is wonderful. This is truly a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mgl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Our room was in the basement and had zero charm, and our host was nearly incommunicative. But the dinner made up for it all - probably the best meal, with home-grown fruits and vegetables, that we'd had on our whole trip. With seating for only 16 at dinner, you're guaranteed excellent service and attention. Breakfast was quite good, too. There's no place else to stay that's nearby, so try to ignore the room and enjoy the meals!

Room Tip: There are cabins that might have a bit more charm.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our accommodations in the chalets were very comfortable, our group of four couples enjoyed having these cottages for our holiday. The propane fireplace helped to take the chill off from a rainy day on the golf course. The golf package with two spectacular dinners and full breakfasts was the perfect fit for our group. Mary was a very welcoming host who helped to ensure our holiday was a memorable vacation. The grounds were lovely with lots of beautiful gardens and the pathways were well kept and invited the guests to walk down to the water and enjoy the view. The addition of the chipping green was a popular destination for the golfers. We really enjoyed the trip to Pugwash to play Northumberland Links. The golf course was in top shape with great views and quick greens. The trip to the Inn was a great way to spend a weekend in August. We will be back.

Room Tip: We really like the privacy and location of the chalets.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolfGal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Mary and Rob provide an extraordinary meal that includes vegetables and herbs freshly picked from their beautiful garden. Dinner began with fresh tomato bisque and then a mixed green salad with perfectly ripened peaches and a light vinaigrette dressing. The chicken wrapped in prosciutto and stuffed with brie was accompanied by perfectly prepared baby vegetables from the garden. Dessert included a choice of two sweet treats of homemade pastries that highlighted blueberries in season and a lemon cheesecake with chocolate to die for. The locals we met at dinner, who regularly dine here, were celebrating a family event and opined they hoped Amherst Shore Country Inn would remain a “local secret”… Shhhh! Don’t tell anyone that this was one of the most memorable meals we have ever had!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candace V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorneville
16.7 mi away
Comfort Inn - Amherst
Comfort Inn - Amherst
#2 of 5 in Amherst
133 reviews
20.6 mi away
Coastal Inn Sackville
Coastal Inn Sackville
#1 of 2 in Sackville
95 reviews
17.4 mi away
Amherst Wandlyn Inn
Amherst Wandlyn Inn
#4 of 5 in Amherst
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Pumpkin Inn B & B
Pumpkin Inn B & B
#3 of 3 in Port Elgin
9 reviews
15.7 mi away
Apothic Inn
Apothic Inn
#1 of 5 in Amherst
39 reviews
17.2 mi away
Super 8 Amherst NS
Super 8 Amherst NS
#1 of 5 in Amherst
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Shore Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Shore Country Inn

Address: 5091 Route 366 | RR#2 Amherst, Lorneville, Nova Scotia B4H 3X9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Lorneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lorneville
Price Range: £89 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amherst Shore Country Inn is located near the town of Amherst in Lorneville, Nova Scotia. The inn is set on an oceanfront knoll along the shore of the Northumberland Strait. It boasts a spectacular sea view with a park like beach setting complete with seaside gazebo. The inn features the historic charms of a century old farmhouse, the modern conveniences of today, outstanding culinary experiences, walks on the expanse of sand flats at low tide and of course professional but relaxed hospitality. Operated by the Laceby family since 1980 it is a well established Nova Scotia Country Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amherst Shore Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Amherst
Amherst Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing