We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best in DSM”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baru 66

Baru 66
Reserve with OpenTable
Baru 66 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: (515) 277-6627
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Probably the best in DSM”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I only come through DSM occassionally but have decided this is probably the best place. Its an OK room but the food very good and with wine list is decent and reasonable. Nice service, chef came to table for feedback. I'll keep going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank InTheMoment_TBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    9
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines
Level Contributor
226 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“No reservations they seat you in the bar then lie about the 5 open tables being reserved.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Went there on the last night of restaurant week. We didn't have a reservation but it was late so we figured we'd get in. The hostess lied and said the 5 empty tables she had were reserved. We should have walked out then. She seated us at the bar instead. For the whole time we were there no one took any of the so called reserved tables. Soon after being seated there were 13 tables open. They didn't have escargot. As someone who has been to Paris 6 times I can say that his food is substandard by Parisian standards. The portions were so small that I had to stop at McDonald's on the way home and pick up two $1 hamburgers that were tastier than Dave's offerings. A C-note meal should at least be satisfying. The last time I made a reservation there my mom died so we missed New Year's there. This was the first time we sampled their fare. The food was so much better when Sage or Angelo's was there. No one refilled the water glasses until we were waiting for the bill and another server walking by did it for us. We parked in back and got to take a peek in the dirty kitchen on the way in through the open doors. Patching the holes in the Sheetrock above the basement wine cellar would help appearances.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Proteeus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best continental food around!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The French chef, owner, David Baruthio,has brought a higher standard of food in Des Moines. The menu is imaginative, the quality of food, presentation and, service is top notch-this has to be the best over all, restaurant in the state. The owners always greet visitors.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alumnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

The dining experience here is outstanding from beginning to end. The food here is different from ordinary restaurants, which is very refreshing. The dishes are created by the chef and he does an excellent job of combining flavors and foods together. We had an anniversary dinner there and don't regret choosing this restaurant!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

at a recent lunch (Wednesdays only) we had a wonderful 3 course "box" from the menu. It included a special soup, a delicious entrée and a superb crème brulee. and our server was gracious, attentive and informative. Be sure to reserve because the word is out about the wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernie-Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baru 66 also viewed

Des Moines, IA
Des Moines, IA
 
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Baru 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing