We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little long in the tooth, but a good option”
Review of Super 8 Winterset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Super 8 Winterset
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Winterset
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A little long in the tooth, but a good option”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

As one of the other reviewers said, if you're going to see the Bridges of Madison County then Winterset is the logical place to start and stay the night, but if I had to come back or knew someone who wanted to come here, I'd definitely tell them to find a hotel in Des Moines and drive the 30 or so minutes instead of staying here. The other options were all B&B's and with two 3 month old babies along for the ride, we quickly ruled those out. Not to say this was a bad hotel, but it's showing its age and could use some freshening. Mattress was so coily and springy that I swear I woke up with little curly indentation in my back. As others have said, though, the hotel staff were both extremely nice and personable! And Winterset itself is a great little town with a classic Americana town square. Final review: come for the Bridges and the small town charm, but plan to sleep elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you need a fridge be sure to ask for one in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrottingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    66
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
75
74
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pocahontas, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here for one night while visited my sister in law. It is a nice place to stay. Very clean. It dosen't have a pool but we didn't have time to swim anyhow. Pretty basic continental breakfast, rolls, cereal, juice, and coffee. My kids were happy with it! I kind of figure that you can't be to picky when your getting a free breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cayla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

If you are planning on visiting the "Bridges of Madison County", Winterset is the obvious town to base yourself in. Unfortunately, there is little choice in accommodation and you'll probably end up in the Super 8. It's good enough and Bill is very friendly, but the town diserves better.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same - it's a Super 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed one night - VERY WORN and in need of urgent updating. I could feel the coils in the mattress. The room appeared clean. The smoke alarm was hanging by it wires about 8 inches from the ceiling. Surroundings area is nice. We ate at the Mexican restaurant in town and then had an ice cream cone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieq50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, AR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We made reservations here because of the great reviews we read on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed!! Everything was clean and accomodations were as they were advertised to be. I felt this an exceptional place to stay as Bill gave us great reviews on places to eat and things to see. But for us, he went the extra mile when it was pouring rain one day and we couldn't leave as we were on our motorcycle. Bill offered to take us whereever we wanted to go in the town and gave us his cell phone number to call when we needed him to pick us up. And that is going the extra mile!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bville, Mn
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2012

May, 2012: our party of 6 stayed at the Super 8 motel in Winterset, IA for 2 nights. Bill and his employees were exceptional! They took care of our every need and were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean, everything was in working order. Bill's suggestions for sightseeing/restaurants were very helpful. Bill was extremely friendly and seemed genuinely interested in making our stay in the area a memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Island, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2012

A wonderful friendly staff clean rooms professional management

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterset
23.7 mi away
Lakeside Hotel Casino
Lakeside Hotel Casino
#2 of 7 in Osceola
460 reviews
23.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
22.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Stuart
21.4 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
268 reviews
20.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Winterset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Winterset

Property: Super 8 Winterset
Address: 1312 Cedar Bridge Rd, Winterset, IA 50273-8014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Winterset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Winterset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Winterset 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Winterset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Winterset
Winterset Super Eight
Winterset Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing