We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pretty village pub with gorgeous food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The King's Head Brooke

The King's Head Brooke
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Brooke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The King 's Head in Brooke is a fabulous classic family run and family friendly country pub with great food, friendly staff, cask ales, wine and beautiful garden. Join us for coffee or enjoy a fabulous lunch or dinner with locally sourced produce and daily specials. At the weekends breakfast is served from 9.30am till 11.00 and our traditional Sunday lunches are available from noon to 6pm. Children and dogs are welcome and we have a large car park too. Just a twenty minute drive from Norwich so come and see us soon!
England
Level Contributor
181 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A pretty village pub with gorgeous food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Really nice menu with good selection of dishes including for vegetarians.Save room for the pudding if you can. We went several times and were always happy with the food and the service.
I wish it was our local !!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EnglandBookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    58
    31
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We've been here a few times now, both for lunch & dinner and have never been disappointed! Dinner last night was simply the best, my Salmon was cooked perfectly, piping hot and absolutely delicious! As for the desserts, far too many to choose from, all yummy and homemade too. Such a lovely evening and such friendly and attentive staff, will definately return soon!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dabl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Local Fayre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Friendly staff, local people enjoying a quiet drink and a few dogs to scratch behind the ears PLUS a good selection of local food well cooked and presented. I had the pie of the day which was served with mash and veg and very tasty it was too. My husband had the chicken breast with paprika which he reported was flavoursome and perfectly cooked! For dessert there was a chocolate sundae and mixed berry frangipane both of which hit the spot. The portion sizes were not enormous but to be honest for me they were perfect and meant I had could enjoy my dessert! we would visit again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartestree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Excellent menu of local , well presented produce with very good service. What more can you ask for!
Restaurant well attended by local people which volumes for its value and quality

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as it was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Kings Head Brooke used to be a firm favourite. Staff are still very nice but food standards have dropped. The lunchtime blackboard deals - 2 courses for £12 or 3 courses for £15 - are no more. I had one of the blackboard specials, fish cake and salad, priced at £8.95. Was very disappointed to be served up a small fishcake with a few pieces of greenery. It certainly did not represent value for money as I made myself a sandwich when I got home!
Far less people than normal eating there when we went - we now know why.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tis56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The King's Head Brooke also viewed

 

Been to The King's Head Brooke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing