We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
19
30
14
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
30
14
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheesecake book in advance rock paintings blantyre garden shower malawi lodge kettle sleeping laundry samuel
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2016

We stayed here after having car problems on our way to Blantyre. The lodge manager went out of his way to accommodate us, which we really appreciated. The rooms are very basic, but it was clean and spacious. Food is nice, however the service is slow. A big thank you to the lodge manager - we appreciate your trouble and kindness.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank YokkaBlantyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016

The property is huge, with gardens and camping sites. But the rooms are not really upto standard.
The rooms were biggest disappointment
There are also only 6 rooms, so book in advance.
No complimentary breakfast, but Food is good.
One bigger problem. You do not get mobile signals in this place.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank PradWestside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

The garden and grounds of this lodge/ pottery factory are very nice. If you like pottery the souvenir shop is great. There are lots of unique pieces on display and you can see the workroom beyond. The coffee and cheesecake they serve in their home-made blue and white glazed cups are both delicious. The staff was friendly enough, but a little slow. The campsite is essentially a lawn next to the lodge and the campsite bathrooms and shower had a bit of a neglected look. It is however the cheapest campsite we came across in Malawi. The restaurant and the rooms looked cozy enough.
It is a convenient place if you want to go hiking in the area and explore the local rock art. You can hire a guide from the pottery lodge or ask in the craft shops down the road if someone will guide you.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tanja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

This is a unique place - a pottery works where you can buy local African pottery, and a small lodge with a dining room where you can experience African (and other) food. The service was slow, but good. The Chambo was great - best eaten with fingers to avoid the bones, but crispy and fresh out of Lake Malawi. The rooms were clean and comfortable, though the pillows were too fat and stiff. The hot water was heated by a wood stove, causing two minor problems: short showers, and wood smoke through the windows. I would return any time, especially to enjoy the people I met there.

Room tip: Room 6 is a 'superior' room, which was nice, but it was closest to the wood fire and smoke.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laurel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

I paid only 2000 kwatcha (4 USD) to camp here and that included acdess to the abultions with hot showers when the donkey boiler is lit. This is the cheapest price I have found at a hotel or backpackers in my 4 months of traveling through Africa.

The staff were quite friendly. The restaurant has a good menu. They offer tours of the rock paintings in the surrounding area. I found the price of $30 for a guide for the day somewhat reasonable, but they wanted to charge me over $100 in addition to use their vehicle and driver for the day! The rock paintings are worth a day but definitely arrange your own transport instead of paying this absurd fee.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Conor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews