We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
19
30
14
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
30
14
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheesecake book in advance rock paintings blantyre garden shower malawi lodge kettle sleeping laundry samuel
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Recently stayed in Dedza Pottery with a group of 16 - in spite of which the service was still excellent and we were well looked after. Quiet and peaceful location but still within a decent distance of the heart of Dedza. Would definitely stay again if I'm ever in Malawi again. Sam and his staff made a brilliant impression, leaving us well looked after. Good room size, comfortable beds and good shower. Couldn't have hoped for better.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

The location itself was beautiful and the staff were incredible at helping out and provided us with lovely meals in the morning and the evening. The rooms were reasonably large with ensuite access and hot water and lovely views from the patios. I would definetly recommend this to anyone else for a stay in Malawi.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shonacr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

I stayed at Dedza Pottery, with a group of 16, despite there being a lot of us, plus other guests, the service was always excellent and Sam the manager was in particular very welcoming and always happy to help. The rooms and beds were very comfortable and the showers excellent. The food was great with good sized portions and there was something for everyone. Overall, I had a brilliant stay at the Pottery and would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank gracemgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

I stayed in Dedza pottery for 10 days recently, and wished I could've stayed longer! It had a great Malawian feel whilst having nice, clean rooms, great staff and good food. I would throughly recommend staying here, I'd go back in a heart beat.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apilcher2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We were at this hotel over the Easter weekend. First, the good. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, with charming little porches with a view out over the mountains. The showers are excellent - the best I have encountered in Malawi. The pottery itself is very nice, and a lot of fun to visit. There is another excellent place, Dedza Handmade Art, an easy walk down the road.

Next, the not so good. Service seems to have probably once been at an excellent standard, but it was not when we were there. The rooms were not checked to be sure that everything was in order (we had to ask for enough towels for both of us, and for laundry forms; also, one of the lights was out, which the staff did not notice or fix - I am sure they would have if we had complained). The food orders were often done a bit wrong (eggs over easy rather than scrambled; toast rather than rolls).

And restaurant service was slow, very, very slow. Most of the food was very good, but do not order a pizza here. The quality of service at the restaurant was spotty. Some of the people were very attentive, but often the staff would all be joking around in the kitchen, and one would have to interrupt them to get someone to come into the bar/restaurant and take at food or drink order. There is a relatively small menu, which is fine, but the restaurant was out of many items listed on the menu; a fact which one learned after placing an order. A minor example - on the first day the excellent home made lemon squash was available, but it did not get made again during our 3 day stay.

Other very good stuff. We did the whole day rock art tour and loved it. The views of the countryside are magnificent, and the art itself fascinating. It is very easy understand loving the country when you see it this way. The pottery itself seems to be being run very efficiently, and has much that is delightful on offer. It is well worth a trip on its own.

Room tip: There are only 6 rooms - they all have the same view of the gardens and the mountains
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank annsQ4882KQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews