We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little effort goes a long way”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Baldwin City Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baldwin City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baldwin City Lodge
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little effort goes a long way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was a nice lodge but not quite what we had expected. The online pictures made the rooms look nicer than they really are. However, it was clean and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and very kind. They were all warm and welcoming. One thing I would suggest is to put tissue boxes in the rooms. Really, that one small thing would be much appreciated. It does not seem too much to expect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    13
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
11
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

I stayed in the baker suite and was very disapointed to find the carpet in disrepair when I arrived I overlooked that however it was also dirty (very hard to overlook) I set down to relax before going out to find the TV did not work, when I approched the staff they said unplug it and plug it back in, this worked however had to do it again about 2 hours later. The reason for my reserving the suite was because it had a Jacuzzi tub, I have bad knees and was looking forward to it however as I began to fill the tub I notice a sign on the wall informing me I have to get down on the floor on the other side of the wall and reach thru a door and plug the tub in. I expersed my concerns while checking out and was not offered a discount or even an apology. I will not go back.

Room Tip: inspect room before you commite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We needed a handicap room as I had a leg amputation and The Lodge was very accommodating. Our room was very clean, quiet, roomy, and comfortable. We only had need for one night as we came to Baldwin City for the dinner train then headed back to Omaha the next day.
We highly recommend the Baldwin City Lodge to anyone.

Bill and Kim Oldenhuis

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The rooms are very well kept, and once you are in the door, you'd swear it was a nice hotel room. The motel has a nice lobby, bar, and meeting room. The staff is very friendly and extremely accommodating and we enjoyed the free mini golf!

Room Tip: Book by phone to get a room cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyT120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

I went BU in the late 80's. at that time, there was a pitiful motel across the "highway" from this motel. This is such an improvement! It is clean, comfortable, and very reasonable. I have stayed in the Baker Suite. It has a comfy bed, fireplace, full kitchen, and the bath has a jacuzzi tub and separate shower. I would suggest this motel to anyone staying in Baldwin.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwin City, Kansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

This Christmas I had all the family at our home to celebrate, not having enough room in our home for all family to stay the night, I reserved 3 rooms for family members as a Christmas gift to them. Family members were very pleased, staff was friendly, the rooms are clean, and comments of a really nice lobby (the exquisite Bear). The value was great also. Very nice place to stay and well worth the frice. Thank you Baldwin City Lodge for your hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, NY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

This is a great and pretty much only choice in Baldwin City. Last year I had to drive back to Lawrence each night. I was in the whitetail room. It is in the new part of the motel and was very nice. My co worker was lucky enough to get one of the suites and he was very pleased with it. If you need a room here book very early. If there is a sporting event going on the lodge books very quickly and being it is only 20 rooms it doesnt take long. I wish there were more places like this around the country! Keep up the good work!

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Baldwin City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldwin City Lodge

Property: Baldwin City Lodge
Address: 502 Ames St, Baldwin City, KS 66006-5089
Region: United States > Kansas > Baldwin City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Baldwin City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Baldwin City, Kansas, the Lodge of Baldwin City is a family owned and operated motel and banquet facility.Enjoy our one of a kind wildlife display, relax in our lobby with family and friends by the warm fire, or stop in the "Office" lounge for a cool and refreshing drink. The Lodge has spacious guest rooms and beautiful new suites with full kitchens, wood burning fireplaces, two person jacuzzi and outside patios. Try our 9-hole miniature golf course! Open daily to guests and the public. The Lodge also offers banquet and catering facilities for events of up to 70 people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing