We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert luxury in beautiful scenery”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in NamibRand Nature Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Desert luxury in beautiful scenery”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

From the moment we were picked up from the airstrip by our guide Lucas our stay was amazing, We had booked the dune camp but were upgraded to the lodge and highly recommend staying there. Although arriving late our guide managed to take us out for a sundowner and we enjoyed the beautiful sunset sipping wine on a red dune. The lodge itself was luxurious with spacious bedrooms with verandas looking out across the spectacular desert vistas, In the comfortable main area we met the other guests by the fire before having a tasty five course meal delivered by a friendly team of staff announced in their native language. The next day we did a full day desert safari with our fantastic guide Lucas, we had a great day exploring the desert and spotting wildlife, we stopped for lunch at a huge pile of boulders which created a cave where they kept a proper table and chairs so we could enjoy lunch with proper cutlery!
This was one of our favourite places in Namibia, the staff were attentive and friendly, Eric our host was very entertaining, the scenery was beautiful, the lodge had a good atmosphere and our guide Lucas was very knowledgable and friendly. We stayed two nights and wish we had stayed three, we highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SueFilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    30
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
52
187
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

appreciate the focus on saving limited resources
the food, especially the greens and vegetables, were of excellent quality and well prepared
guide/ranger Ben was very professional and most knowledgeable
all the staff were warm, sincere and interested in us as individuals and were most accommodating

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Wolwedans is a lodge like no other. Apart from the wonderful accommodation, service, 5-star meals, setting and incredible views, it also has integrity, is run in an eco friendly way, and the landscape, fauna and flora are the heroes. We stayed at Dunes Lodge for 3 nights then 1 night in Boulders Lodge. Dunes Lodge was an excellent introduction to Wolwedans, and we enjoyed the sundowners around the fire before dinner, meeting fellow guests(22 in total) and starting animated conversations that continued over the most wonderful 5 course meals at the long tables in the dining area. There is no wifi or cell service, and batteries of cameras, cell phones etc. can be charged in the lounge (solar powered rooms' wattage is too low). This becomes a blessing, as you immerse yourself in the desert's colours, sounds and smells.
Boulders Lodge is a smaller and more exclusive lodge (max 8 people), amongst huge granite boulders.The game drives were wonderful at both lodges, and there are plenty of oryx, zebra and springbuck, as well as the elusive bat-eared foxes, black backed foxes, aardwolf, cheetah and aardvark. The field guides have a huge knowledge of the area's plants and animals. We went on a Balloon safari over the Sossusvlei area close-by which was fantastic. But the star of our 5 days was Wolwedans, with its unique landscape and the brilliant staff who made our stay so lovely.

Room Tip: In Dunes Lodge we stayed in number 9 which was a 4 minute walk form the main lodge, and had exquisit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swakopmund
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Staying in this lodge is like entering a big family. The scenic tour with a romantic lunch and the sundowner drive were real highlights as were gathering at the fireplace and dining together. The rooms (tents) were pretty and clean. The meals were excellent, the staff friendly and always willing to help. The tour guide (Jonathan) impressed with a deep knowledge of nature and astronomy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alexander E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officemd, officemd at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest
We are most appreciative of your review, and the team is delighted that your stay at Wolwedans was peaceful and relaxing.
Welcome back, soon.
Kind regards, ALison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The lodge is very nice and the rooms awesome. Only let it know that we went in august and it was very cold days. The room had not heaters and to be honest it was an unforgetable night. But on the bad side.

The guide was very good and the place very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officemd, officemd at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for visiting Wolwedans, we appreciate your custom. Unfortunately, Winter in the desert is cold and we have not found a safe and ecologically friendly solution to warm up our tents, considering our current solar supply system. I'm sure you appreciate the huge cost behind running a hospitality operation like Wolwedans in such a remote location, and with eco committment as well. We're so sorry that your visit did not meet your expectations.
Kind regards
Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Affligem
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The Wolwedans Dunes Lodge is one of the most extraordinary places we have ever been to. The landscape is breathtaking ...

We will never forget the scenic drives with "Felix" our personal guide.
A very big thank you to Eric and the wonderful staff!! Every single detail was cared for to make us feel comfortable and at home in the middle of the desert!
Friendly Staff, great food, We will be back one day ...
And yes ... it was cold ... august is winter in Namibia .. but for us that didn't spoil the fun nor the overall magnificent experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guldemont1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officemd, officemd at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest
thank you for your five-star review, your personal praises of the team and for sharing your experiences with the TA readers.
We will forward your feedback to the team, who will be most grateful that they satisfied their guests. Wishing you many more returns to Wolwedans.
Kind regards, ALison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The setting of Wolwedans Dune Lodge is mind-blowingly beautiful. At every turn, the views take your breath away. Our guide Elias was superb, extremely knowledgeable and hit just the right note. However, for us, that was the extent of the positives. On arrival we were met by the manager Eric who has clearly been in his job too long. He was so laid back that he gave the impression that he didn't care whether we had a good time or not. We were there from 12th-14th August and having read other reviews can only assume that the usual chef and other members of staff were away on holiday. The food was average at best - stale toast at breakfast and weak, tepid, instant coffee. The evening meal was a 5 course affair served with a fanfare but the quality of the food was really disappointing. There were several members of staff who were doing a month's work experience whilst we were there and a couple of them bordered on being rude and had not been sufficiently trained. Our tent was very nicely presented with antique furniture, 4-poster bed and was very spacious but we were not comfortable due to the freezing cold weather. Hot water bottles should have helped but on our second night the housekeeping staff were so slack that the previous night's water bottle (which had gone cold) was simply shoved back in my bed without being re- filled! It would have been funny had we not been so teeth-chatteringly cold. A tea/coffee tray is delivered to the room each morning but on both days the 'hot' water in the thermos flask was so tepid that it was impossible to brew a cup of tea. Due to the camp being run on solar power, we couldn't even have a hot shower at night or first thing in the morning to help warm us up. This was our last stop on our 14 day tour and when planning the holiday we thought we'd saved the best till last. How wrong we were. I'm sure that in warm weather and with their normal staff it would be gorgeous but we left feeling hugely disappointed and ripped off.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officemd, officemd at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at Wolwedans. We appreciate your candid feedback, and are most concerned that we failed to deliver the "Wolwedans experience" for which we are renowned. Our hospitality manager is investigating each point you raised, as many of the items are basic deliverables, and unforgivable if not done so. Our solar geysers usually deliver hot water for a late afternoon/early evening shower, albeit not piping hot for a long leisurely shower in winter - they need more sunshine to heat up the next day. We hope that you raised your concerns with your guide, who in turn would have passed your feedback on to management. Our sincere apologies for the lack of service delivery - we trust that some of the positives could contribute to fond memories of your stay.
Kind regards
ALison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near NamibRand Nature Reserve
0.0 mi away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 9 in Sesriem
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soft Adventure Camp
Soft Adventure Camp
#11 of 12 in Sossusvlei
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corona Guest Farm
Corona Guest Farm
#8 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
#8 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Etosha Safari Camp
Etosha Safari Camp
#14 of 35 in Etosha National Park
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
We-Kebi Safari Lodge
We-Kebi Safari Lodge
#4 of 4 in NamibRand Nature Reserve
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolwedans Dunes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Property: Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Address: NamibRand Nature Reserve, NamibRand Nature Reserve, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > NamibRand Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in NamibRand Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wolwedans nestles into the dunes and is set against a backdrop of extraordinary natural beauty. Located in the heart of NamibRand Nature Reserve, our portfolio of camps provides the perfect base from which to explore vast stretches of awe-inspiring and undisturbed nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wolwedans Dunes Hotel Maltahohe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing