We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in NamibRand Nature Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed at Wolwedans on the recommendation of a friend and enjoyed it immensely. They are very ecologically aware and a behind the scenes tour on our last morning was fascinating. The food was good - I wonder if four courses plus amuse bouche is entirely necessary in the desert it seemed slightly at odds with their ethos of simplicity. Portion sizes were perfectly judged and the staff were charming. Our guide, Jonathan was a lovely guy and the best we had during our two week trip. There are no power sockets in the tents, nor air conditioning nor hairdryers which may be an issue for some. Laptops and batteries can be charged in the office. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beauboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena W, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest

Your review of Wolwedans is much appreciated. The team certainly tries to maintain a balance between commerce and conservation. Although we have chosen a sustainable way of running our operations, we certainly would not want to compromise on quality of meals at our establishment. I was thus pleased to note that despite the numerous courses, you were able to enjoy your dinners at Wolwedans.

Kind regards
Magdalena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at Dunes Lodge and had a wonderful time. It helps that we got married there, out in the desert on New Year’s Eve! The set up of the camp is incredible especially when you consider it is in the middle of nowhere. The tents (or chalets as they call them) are great and you can roll up the panels to watch the amazing sunrises, the beds are huge and comfortable. Our wedding was arranged very easily by a few emails with the reservation office. We were taken out for a surprise sunrise breakfast on the morning of our big day, met with the Pastor later on, and then were taken out to the desert in a decorated land rover for our sunset wedding on top of the dunes. It was a spectacular spot and all very relaxed, exactly what we wanted. Our guide, Richard, was brilliant, very knowledgeable and he definitely helped to make our stay a very special one. All the staff were very attentive and made you feel very welcome, the food was excellent. We will definitely go back for an anniversary at some point. If you are planning to visit in December, be aware that it is very hot, you are in the desert after all!

Room Tip: All the chalets face out to the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena W, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing the highlights of your time at Wolwedans. The team was very pleased to have been able to play a part in orchestrating your special day. I wish you and your spouse well in your future endeavours together.

We look forward to having you as guests at Wolwedans soon.

Best wishes
Magdalena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The view amazing, the food was excellent and the guides are the best we've ever come across.

Downsides there is only one for us:

it would be a nice touch to have cooler boxes in each room with some ice and cold water! As much as the water is safe to drink when we were there the cold water was the same as the hot tap!

It was nice to feel part of nature and ladies forget the hair dryer....no electricity in rooms! The main lodge does have electricity for charging cameras and iPads etc but my advice would be forget the iPad and take a good old traditional book to really unwind and experience the sounds.

Dinner makes for a fun evening and we met great people. Don't opt for the private dinner table, get stuck in and you never know who you might meet and what you might learn!

Jonathan was our guide, his knowledge outstanding, he made our stay very enjoyable.

We were at the lodge for NYE.....unforgettable! Party under the stars - wow

Eric and team deserve a big pat on the back from the owners.

Room Tip: Any room will be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chappells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena W, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for such a refreshing review of Wolwedans. Your suggestion concerning the provision of water bottles will certainly be considered. As for the team, they will surelybe commended for their excellent conduct. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Kind regards
Magdalena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Wolwedans Dunes Lodge in December for 2 nights, and we both thought it was the absolute best place we've ever visited. It was situated in a completely desolate spot, for total quiet and serenity, and it was set up to feel like the most luxurious vacation ever. We were worried about spending so much on the stay (and that's why we only stayed 2 nights), but it was well worth it, and someday we'd really like to return.

The views of the landscape from both the rooms and the common space were spectacular. The rooms all ave canvas walls that can be rolled up for optimal landscape viewing. Even though we are indoors, the whole time you feel at one with nature and the surroundings. Nothing beats waking up to a morning breeze with the sun rising RIGHT in front of you.

The Dunes lodge is the easiest of the camps/lodges within Wolwedans to access from the main reception, just 20 minutes away, so we liked that although it felt completely remote, when we needed to visit main reception to use the WiFi, we could ask a guide to drive us down there fairly easily.

All the guides spoke English, but most of the guests when we were there were Swiss or German. We liked that, because often we go on vacation and the destination is full of Americans and we feel like we didn't leave home.

One other thing -- the food was OUTSTANDING. Every meal was a five-star dining experience with 3, 4, or 5 courses (breakfast, lunch, or dinner), and was perfectly crafted for taste and presentation. We are vegetarians, and the chef still made us meals that far-exceeded our already high expectations.

We definitely recommend a visit. We cannot wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Eytan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Fantastic location and incredibly friendly and helpful staff led by Heleni (who was a great host). The food and service was excellent.
We enjoyed two unforgettable game drives with Abraham and Richard who were both very knowledgeable. Richard also gave us a tour of the night sky.
Overall a wonderful, peaceful place to spend a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Wolwedans Dune Lodge really is number one in Namibia. From the food to the friendly staff everything was perfect. The rooms are very clean and the view from the bed is incredible. Frans, Adelia, Heinrich and Chef Vanessa made us feel very at home and spoilt us with excellent food. The a la carte breakfast is a great way to start the day. Our guides Quintin and Daniel showed us the secrets the Namib Rand has to offer.

Room Tip: We were in Room 9. Great view of valley and waterhole :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PackSaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This past weekend we were very fortunate to experience what I found to be the ultimate luxury, space! Not a light, no telephone pole as far as the eye can see! Couple this with lovely accommodation, good food, a scenic flight and of course excellent company and this is what we had at Wolwedans in Namibia. It was great! The staff were really welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation in a hybrid between blockhouse and tent with all the amenities you need was awesome when you listen to the quiet of the night. We long to be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NilsHeckscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near NamibRand Nature Reserve
0 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
112 reviews
0 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
544 reviews
0 mi away
We-Kebi Safari Lodge
We-Kebi Safari Lodge
#2 of 4 in NamibRand Nature Reserve
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Greenfire Desert Lodge
Greenfire Desert Lodge
#2 of 9 in Maltahohe
58 reviews
0 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Hoanib Skeleton Coast
Wilderness Safaris Hoanib Skelet...
#1 of 3 in Skeleton Coast Park
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolwedans Dunes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Address: NamibRand Nature Reserve, NamibRand Nature Reserve, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > NamibRand Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in NamibRand Nature Reserve
Price Range: £813 - £817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunes Lodge is perched on top of a dune plateau, overlooking panoramic vistas in all directions & capturing the beauty of the desert. The building style is a combination of wooden structures and canvas blinds, opening up to the desert beyond. The lodge reflects the ambience of a tented camp, but provides the comfort and protection of a permanent building. Each of the nine spacious chalets with en-suite bathrooms has a private verandah, which connects you to vast stretches of untouched sand. Sleeping with your canvas blinds open is like sleeping under the stars. The main complex consists of two lounges, a number of sundowner decks, a fireplace, a tea deck, a library, the wine cellar and two dining rooms. The lodge also has a swimming pool, suspended above the sand. All communal areas of the lodge open out onto decks with superb views. The variety of recreational space makes a visit both exciting & relaxing. To make the most of your view, we recommend staying three nights. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wolwedans Dunes Hotel Maltahohe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing