We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in NamibRand Nature Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The NamibRand reserve must be one of the most beautiful places on earth. So the Wolwedans lodge has an absolutely unique location that is simply not accessible in any other way. For us the biggest pro was exactly the fact that it is where it is - unsurpassable from a scenic point of view.

The lodge itself was great and well designed - spacious and very comfortable tented rooms with all the facilities you might need. We were met by our guide Rudy who spent a lot of time with us, was very helpful and friendly, drove us around and generally imparted a lot of information about the environment. One problem was that the East wind came up and howled the whole three days and nights we were there. This made sleeping at night quite challenging and we had to avail ourselves of the earplugs supplied as the tented walls flapped and banged all night. At one point we were even somewhat concerned that we might lose the roof!

We found that the food did not really meet the standard one would expect for this sort of price. On two of the three nights we were there, the main course was so salty that we could not really eat it - one night of oryx and one with duck. Although the staff were helpful and attentive, this did not make up for the rather ordinary food. We also found that the house wine was not particularly good - a disappointment when you are paying a huge amount! Breakfast service was extraordinarily slow and it seemed difficult to get something as simple as just a bowl of muesli with some yoghurt and fruit salad - maybe a breakfast buffet would be a better option.

Apparently there used to be WiFi connectivity at the lodge but this is no longer available so the only connection option is to go down to the reception/parking area where you leave your car - and for this you need someone to drive you down.

In summary - the most exquisite location ever, wonderful accommodation, good service, mediocre food - a pity!

Room Tip: Try and get a room closer to the lodge - you have to go through quite deep sand to get there otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magriet11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena W, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear guests

Your positive appraisal of Wolwedans is much appreciated. Indeed the location and facilities are rather awe-inspiring. It is regrettable, however, that the meals did not meet with your approval. The culinary team always strives to deliver a high quality product and it is rather disappointing that this did not seem to be the case during your stay. The Management has taken note of your comment and already steps have been taken to assure consistently high culinary standards within the Wolwedans Collection.

Kind regards
Magdalena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

The arrival road is rather worrying - stone road and very few signposts. However, once at base camp, you leave your car and are taken up by jeep to dunes Lodge. A very friendly welcome awaits, but with some caveats....there are NO plugs in bedrooms (but a charging room behind kitchen), hot water is normally only available early evening....no problem!, Went out on drive with a fascinating guide, Daniel. Remember, this area is more "botanic" than "animal" - he was able to keep us interested for a few hours! Once back at lodge, we were very much pushed to sit down by 8pm for dinner - we weren't allowed to chat over a drink. Dinner was then served very formally - too much in my opinion, and very pretentious. Amouse bouché, soup,,main course and dessert...none of the guests (and we were sitting on a communal table) knew whether the wine was included - we had to sign for EVERY glass! I did ask, and was told that this was to prevent fraud, but, indeed, we were thinking that we had to pay for everything!(And,until our departure, we still didn't know if we had to pay for wine). It was only on checkout, in Dunes Camp, when we were given the bill!!! The soup was sllightly worse than Heinz tomato soup, and the rest of the courses were no better.

Woldewans is amazing for the views. Rooms and staff are very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena W, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Wolwedans Dunes Lodge. Although you seemed to have enjoyed several aspects of your stay, the meal arrangements seem to have displeased you. It is rather disconcerting that the dinner did not meet with your expectations. Every dinner is a culinary celebration, served with fanfare. Under normal circumstances, every effort is made to ensure that the quality as well as presentation of dinners are first class. The chef will certainly be notified of your food complaint and steps will be taken to maintain a consistent level of quality of meals at Wolwedans.

Kind regards
Magdalena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

From the arrival to the check-out, we experienced an exceptional friendly and professional service and attention. In particularly, I wish to commend our guide, Daniel, who not only impressed with his deep knowledge and understanding of the flora and fauna of this territory, but also with his large and mature knowledge of socio-economical aspects of Namibia.
We were most impressed by the architecture of the lodge, which blends perfectly into the environment and which provides the discreet comfort we are looking for.
We wish to compliment the founder, Albie Brückner and his family for making such a venue possible in this unique landscape of Namibia.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena W, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your Wolwedans experience with the world!
Your positive remarks certainly served to motivate the team to continue to work towards making Wolwedans the destination of choice among visitors to Namibia.

Many greetings to you from our desert-based Team.
Kind regards
Magdalena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Look no further. This is the once in a lifetime event you will never ever forget. Let the price not put you off. It is worth every single penny. We stayed in the mountain view suite and it came with an excellent and very friendly tour guide that took us out into the beautiful nature that surrounds this very remote lodge. Also we had a private chef and a waiter who served us the most amazing lunch and dinner you can wish for, made using only locally produced, fresh ingredients. The sun downer in the sand dunes was one of the most amazing experiences we ever had in our lives. Go. It is a long drive, it is very remote, but that is part of the reason why it is such an amazing experience and it is really worth any effort to get there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank markzeedzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana W, Manager at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your glowing review of Wolwedans. I'm very pleased to note that you and your wife had a memorable experience at the Mountainview Suite. The staff will certainly be encouraged by your positive feedback and would be delighted to welcome back to Wolwedans in the future.

Kind regards
Magdalena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at Private Camp, which meant we had a sprawling, relaxed home all to ourselves, with no one around as far as the eye can see. Except for the the three incredible staff members allocated to us: an experienced tour guide and raconteur, Jonathan; superwoman chef V who dished up pescetarian delights in the middel of the desert; and Maggie, our housekeeper and waiter, who consistently created picture-perfect table settings and whose playful creativity was highly appreciated. These three created an unforgettable and absolutely perfect 3 days for us. Thank you for being so kind, attentive, and dedicated from first light until the stars turned bright.

We sorely miss the magic of the quartz landscape... Our 5-course dinners immaculately set outside, momentarily defying the mischievous dessert wind and those wine-crazed moths... And most of all your playfulness, sense of occasion and intensely positive vibes.

Until next year!

Room Tip: For a romantic getaway, definitely opt for Private Camp. You will only encounter other guests at Wol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Great-Escapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed in two of the Wolwedans lodges, Boulders with only four chalets and Dune which is a lot bigger. The same concept goes for both of them. Food was better at Dunes Lodge than in Bolder, while the personal service is far better at Boulders. The Dune lodge was very warm when we were there, and several people told us it was one of the hottest place in summer and also among the coldest places in the winter. This is not a new lodge and you can obviously see som wear and tear here and there, and this is in strong contrast to the new Boulders Camp, all though both are very good, we would definitely rate Boulders higher.

Room Tip: Some of the "rooms" are quite far away, not a problem for us might be an issue for some pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena W, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of both Boulders Camp and the Wolwedans Dunes Lodge.
Given the changing extremes of temperature in the desert, it is understandable that the wooden facilities may require maintenance from time to time. Every effort is being made to ensure that public areas are continually in good condition.

Kind regards
Magdalena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed at Wolwedans on the recommendation of a friend and enjoyed it immensely. They are very ecologically aware and a behind the scenes tour on our last morning was fascinating. The food was good - I wonder if four courses plus amuse bouche is entirely necessary in the desert it seemed slightly at odds with their ethos of simplicity. Portion sizes were perfectly judged and the staff were charming. Our guide, Jonathan was a lovely guy and the best we had during our two week trip. There are no power sockets in the tents, nor air conditioning nor hairdryers which may be an issue for some. Laptops and batteries can be charged in the office. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beauboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena W, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest

Your review of Wolwedans is much appreciated. The team certainly tries to maintain a balance between commerce and conservation. Although we have chosen a sustainable way of running our operations, we certainly would not want to compromise on quality of meals at our establishment. I was thus pleased to note that despite the numerous courses, you were able to enjoy your dinners at Wolwedans.

Kind regards
Magdalena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near NamibRand Nature Reserve
0 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
90 reviews
0 mi away
We-Kebi Safari Lodge
We-Kebi Safari Lodge
#2 of 4 in NamibRand Nature Reserve
38 reviews
23.6 mi away
Greenfire Desert Lodge
Greenfire Desert Lodge
#2 of 9 in Maltahohe
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolwedans Dunes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Address: NamibRand Nature Reserve, NamibRand Nature Reserve, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > NamibRand Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in NamibRand Nature Reserve
Price Range: £699 - £986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunes Lodge is perched on top of a dune plateau, overlooking panoramic vistas in all directions & capturing the beauty of the desert. The building style is a combination of wooden structures and canvas blinds, opening up to the desert beyond. The lodge reflects the ambience of a tented camp, but provides the comfort and protection of a permanent building. Each of the nine spacious chalets with en-suite bathrooms has a private verandah, which connects you to vast stretches of untouched sand. Sleeping with your canvas blinds open is like sleeping under the stars. The main complex consists of two lounges, a number of sundowner decks, a fireplace, a tea deck, a library, the wine cellar and two dining rooms. The lodge also has a swimming pool, suspended above the sand. All communal areas of the lodge open out onto decks with superb views. The variety of recreational space makes a visit both exciting & relaxing. To make the most of your view, we recommend staying three nights. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wolwedans Dunes Hotel Maltahohe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing