We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really overpriced”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in NamibRand Nature Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wolwedans Dune Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I have traveled all over Namibia and think you can get a better experience for a better price. Furthermore, I did not find the staff very accommodating and the tents are noisy and not warm. Not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officemd, office md at Wolwedans Dune Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear Guest
We're so sorry that you did not fully enjoy your Wolwedans stay. Were your expectations different perhaps? We do hope that you raised your specific concerns with Duty Management, to allow them to rectify anything that needed to be fixed immediately. We certainly do try our best to ensure that all guests enjoy their stay at Wolwedans, and it appears that our venue and all-round offering was not what you were expecting. Our webpage is clear about descriptions of each of our camps, and that we are solar-powered (gentle footprint), and that accommodation is in spacious tents, housed on expansive platforms. Thank you nevertheless for sharing your experience with us on TA.
Kind regards, ALison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Wolwedans Dune Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

We have stayed in a variety of accommodation in Nambia all of which are excellent but this place is unique in its location and service. We were there for our 25 wedding anniversary and were treated like royalty. On our actual anniversary we had dinner served in a private dining room which was superb and made us feel really special. The 'tented' rooms and the wide screen TVs (ie the wonderful view from your bed down to the watering hole) was amazing. The trips out, with your personal guide, was educational and well organised. We can not fault this place and will definately be returning.

Room Tip: they are all fabulous
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grace5204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Although there was some initial disappointment when we learned that Bolders Camp where we initially booked was closed for renovations, we were certainly not upst to have been upgraded to the mountain view lodge, where we had our own chef, staff and guid.
We prior to the visit knew little of the nature of game drives etc, and we had little idea of what to look for. Howver, by the end of the first day we had learned so much, seen some amazing game and experienced the joy of being able to spot some animals before our guide.
The lodge is unbelievable. The setting for meals, whether in the candle lit dinning room or amongst the dunes was atmospheric and the quality of the food cooked in our private kitchen for us, was surprisingly delicious. The setting sun illuminating the mountain was a perfect back drop for our sundowner drinks.
All in all the most perfect setting for our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finchamrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We spent here 3 nights of our honeymoon and would absolutely recommend it. The staff is very friendly and makes you feel as if you are the only guest they have, still giving you all the privacy to enjoy the luxurious tent-rooms, the amazing views and nature. Dinner is a highlight as all the guests (max. 14) are sitting at the table with some of the staff and the cooks tell you in Nara-language (followed by theenglish translation) what the menu is. Its worth every cent! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We spent a couple of nights at the Dune Camp in mid-August right after staying at the Sossus Dune lodge in Sossusvlei.
We loved the Sossus Dune lodge, so the expectations were quite high for the Dune Camp. And frankly, I have been waiting for a few years to stay there.

First of all, the drive from Sossusvlei to the NamibRand reserve was one of my favorites. It was just stunning. We hadn't been to Etosha yet so seeing springboks, ostriches, oryx and zebras with beautiful backgrounds was awesome and exciting.

We arrived a little late but still on time to join other guests for lunch. The food was really good.
It was difficult not to let go and start relaxing at the camp. It was so peaceful with gorgeous surroundings.
We were taken to our tent and it was even better than what we had imagined.
The camp is obviously very expensive. I would even say overpriced but with only 6 tents and so few people around, you're getting intimacy and privacy.

We just loved everything about the camp and it will rank really high on our list of best places we have ever been to.
We had a couple of incredible sundowners and one half day tour. We enjoyed it all.
We took a half-day excursion since we had decided to go on a flight over Sossuvlei and the coast. (it came up around 500$ per couple).
Words could not describe how beautiful it was up there. I would recommend it.

In conclusion, we had a great time at the Dune Camp. The only problem was to stay there at the beginning of the trip and set very high standards that were never met by any other lodges.
If we ever go back to Namibia, we may try the Dune lodge next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcgraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Outstanding of this place are two things:
The surrounding landscape and the service and attention of the tour guides.
Negative is the extreme shortage of staff and the lack ofproper organization/managment in housekeeping and service.
In the evening dinner is served rather late (20:00 h) and - due to the lack of staff - it takes quite some time when fully booked. Changes to this are reluctantly accepted.Unfortunately the restaurant tent was kept open and the evening cold and the wind made the stay unpleasant.
Communication btween lodge and base camp are ineffcient. Messages to our pilot were not communicated.
Tour organization was not too godd and we had to wait for more than 90 minutes to get started. They tried to put us for a halftour drive(with picnic as final of the tour) together with Americans on a full day drive which included picnic but was scheduled much longer.
At the end the rearranged it for us and we had an excellent guide for the halfday and lunch at the lodge.
Wolwedans is promoting themselves the image of a lodge near to perfect and thus expectations are high. They do not fulfill this image at all, only the landscape an the guides are fully up to expectations, and are thus overpriced considering quality and service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

No need for alarm clocks the light streaming in to your room overlooking the namib is enough.
Lovely welcome. Great food and actually good value considering what is incluced. Lovely communal dining atmosphere.
An apres lunch and pre sundowner siesta in a hammock is higly recommend!
Very attentive guides and staff.
The flask of hot water in the morning was a nice touch.
Our nicest accomodation in namibia
Lots of places in Namibia seem to boast of their eco friendliness, I think Wolwedans truly lives up to its green credentials

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank two_boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wolwedans Dune Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolwedans Dune Camp

Address: NamibRand Nature Reserve, NamibRand Nature Reserve, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > NamibRand Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in NamibRand Nature Reserve
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DUNE CAMP – has six canvas tents built on stilts atop a 250-metre-high grass covered dune. A spacious deck allows for sleeping outdoors under the stars, and an en-suite bathroom completes this very civilized camping experience. The main area comprises a lounge, dining area and open-plan kitchen, which allows guests to chat to the chef while their meals are being prepared. The charm of Dune Camp, lies in its tranquil and intimate atmosphere, capturing the romance of a bygone era. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing