We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the BBQ Pack for Dinner”
Review of Tussock Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waipiata
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tussock Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We did the Otago rail trail in January this year - and are still talking about the whole experience and our stay at Tussock Lodge. We both want to live in a barn and this has clinched it! It was spacious, modern, clean and comfortable! My partner is gluten free. We ordered the BBQ pack for two. Pete had the salmon and I had the beef steak... wow. No expense spared ... What amazing value for money... There were several yum salads we could both eat and a tasty bread (for me) Breakfast too was catered for both our dietary requirements. There is the option of eggs, cereal and fruit. And a cool coffee machine - I wish I knew how to use ... Mark was so friendly and funny. We would love to go back and stay and highly recommend it to everyone

Room Tip: It all looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tussock Lodge W, Owner at Tussock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi Rockfern, We are glad that you and Pete enjoyed your stay with us, it was equally enjoyable having you to stay. We are very proud of our Central Otago sourced BBQ meats and salads in our BBQ packs. At Tussock Lodge - Waipiata we believe that you need a good breakfast to start the day with, and the Coffee finish's this off, the next time that you stay we'll give you a lesson on using the Fully Automatic Coffee machine so that you can enjoy a Flat White, Latte or Long Black before you head off for the day. We hope that the Barn plans for your new home are going well, thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were a group of 6 female baby boomers down from the North Island to do the Rail Trail. Mark was an amazing host from the minute to picked us up to when he dropped us off next day. He took us on a sight seeing tour to show us areas of interest that we wouldn't have time to see on our bikes. The accommodation in his lodge was outstanding. The rooms were very well appointed and quite spacious. The fridge was full of goodies for us for breakfast too. We were surprised to see him back at the lodge prior to us heading to the local hotel for dinner but he arrived with some freshly baked bread and home made hummus. It went down beautifully with our Moet! We were sorry we hadn't booked a BBQ pack with Mark as it would have been lovely to join the other couple at the lodge for dinner. Next time!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didie1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tussock Lodge W, Owner at Tussock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review CottagesonStAndrews, its appreciated and for staying at Tussock Lodge in Waipiata, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, the Home Made Foccacia Bread and Hummus has proven very popular with the Hungry Otago Central Rail Trailers to refuel after a busy day on the Trail. We look forward to having you to stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We spent a night on our way along the rail trail. We all agreed it was a shame we couldn't have stayed longer. Great location and fantastic lodge. Mark was friendly, really helpful and even delivered us fresh bread before we headed to the local pub for dinner. Everything we could ask for and more. All the boxes ticked down to a washing machine and dryer to deliver clean clothes for the rest of the trip. A place with the wow factor!

Room Tip: Like it warmer or cooler, ask Mark which room to choose. They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tussock Lodge W, Owner at Tussock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Rob B and for staying at Tussock Lodge in Waipiata its much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, Tussock Lodge is a unique design and we look forward to having you to stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at Tussock Lodge at the end of our first days cycling on the Otago trail. We didn't really know what to expect as the cycle tour company had organised the accommodation. I'd phoned ahead a few days earlier with our food order and on arrival were blown away with both the size of the accommodation and the quality of all the facilities. I accept we were spoilt as we had the whole of the place to ourselves but even if we'd has other guests there as well there was ample room. Mark, the owner arrived about 40 minutes after we had, loaded down with the food we had ordered, a range of home made salads and home made bread - just fantastic. He was very welcoming and we chatted for a while, especially about Rugby Union. We elected to cook and eat indoors as it was pretty windy but had full access to a large gas BBQ had we wanted it. We the sat on the big sofa and played Scrabble, watching the sun set through the big glass windows. A great place to stay and really helpful, friendly owners.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tussock Lodge W, Owner at Tussock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Hi Andy T, thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay at Tussock Lodge Waipiata, it s greatly appreciated. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we equally enjoyed having you at Tussock Lodge - Waipiata. The locally sourced BBQ packs are very popular with large and small groups. Its always good to talk rugby with a fellow enthusiast, and I'm sure that you will be a happy man that England beat Wales in the weekend. We look forward to having you to stay again, sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Tussock Lodge is found along the Otago Rail Trail and is in Waipiata.

Recommended by the cycle company we used.

Modern lodge with great kitchen, 4 rooms with ensuites, laundry facilities available.

Group of 11, lodge able to take 8, 3 others stayed st the owners home in own wing.

Great accommodation in isolation.

Mark and Nicki were great hosts. Freshly baked bread on arrival with local cheeses.

On raIl trail relied on his good will to take us to the local hotel for a Meal and to the nearest town for supplies. He did it without hesitation and this gave us one of the many experiences of the famous southern hospitality we had heard of.

Great stop over, fine hosts, would highly recommend, and we did, to a couple at our next nights stop!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLCAUCKLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tussock Lodge W, Owner at Tussock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Hi TLCAUCKLAND, Thank you choosing to stay at Tussock Lodge Waipiata and for taking the time to write a review its greatly appreciated. Were very happy to here that you enjoyed your stay, we enjoyed having you here and thank you for referring the couple that you met the following day it was greatly appreciated. The local food is certainly well received and were very proud that the majority of our supplies are sourced from the local Central Otago region. We look forward to having you to stay on your next visit to our beautiful part of New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

The lodge has four good sized bedrooms and an enormous shared area.
Host provides great BBQ packs - we had salmon and steak with fantastic salad and amazing home baked bread and wonderful dip. Local wines plus beers etc were also available for purchase. Given local hotel was a way down the road I would recommend you prebook a BBQ pack if you stay here.
Breakfast selection was really good too.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank LagoNexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tussock Lodge W, Owner at Tussock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Hi LagoNexus, thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay at Tussock Lodge Waipiata, its much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the BBQ packs, we are very proud that the produce for these is sourced from the Otago Region along with our selection of Wines and Beers which are very popular. We look forward to having to stay at some stage in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed here only one night because we were on a tight schedule. When are back this way we stay longer. Wonderful location, seemingly in the middle of nowhere. Great views and a huge deck where you can just hangout. The whole building is very modern and has a HUGE kitchen with everything you would ever need, the rooms were large and very comfortable. Mark and his wife have five alpacas and while we were there they were having them sheared and we were invited to watch, exciting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tussock Lodge W, Owner at Tussock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

HI Philip G, thank you for choosing to Stay at Tussock Lodge Waipiata and for taking the time to write a review, its greatly appreciated. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are proud of our location, so close to the Otago Central Rail Trail yet very quiet and secluded. Tussock Lodges 5 Alpacas are very inquisitive animals who offer a lot of enjoyment. We look forward to meeting you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tussock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tussock Lodge

Address: 18 Factory Road, Waipiata 9397, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Waipiata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Waipiata
Price Range: £65 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tussock Lodge offers you the choice of various accommodation options and functionality. We utilise the latest in eco friendly appliances and fixtures to help reduce the impact on this remote environment. Secluded alongside the Otago Rail Trail, we are just a short walk to local amenities. Boasting 4 separate Super King Rooms (with quite possibly the most comfortable beds on the trail) capable of sleeping up to 8 people, a Gourmet Kitchen, and very comfortable lounge area, why wouldn't you stay at the amazing Tussock Lodge in Waipiata? We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing