We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life in Jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Natron Tented Camp
SHANGHAI
Level Contributor
163 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Life in Jungle”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

It was not easy to achieve Lake Natron, so the small oasis of the Camp beside the lake seemed so kind for tired people.Several wooden houses were inside the jungle,mosquito and bathing avialable.I heard at least 4 kinds of birds singing on that night.
The staffs were quite polite, although the food supply was not very good...you could imagine and forgive this considering how far it was from any city.The power supply was only avaialble in dinning room several hours after 6PM,it was necessary to get cells and camaras charged ASAP.
The big star of Lake Narton is undoudtly flamingo, and it presents zebra,giraffe as well. Just keep your eyes wide open.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XUEGANG Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Lake Natron Tented Camp, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear XUEGANG Z,

Thank you for your review of the Lake Natron Camp.

It is true that the camp is perched on a hill overlooking the Lake Natron and this provides beautiful views of the scenery below.

We have noted that you found the staff polite and the birds singing delightful.

We apologies that you thought that the food was not enough. We always strive to provide standard portions of food for all guests and you could have gotten more had you asked one of our staff for another serving.

The camp is powered by generator from around 5pm to midnight and there after all rooms are provided with simple lights with matches that guests can use.

During the day, the restaurant area is solar powered so that guests may charge their cameras etc and also for the much needed cold drink.

Thank you for staying with us!

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    47
    21
    4
    11
See reviews for
26
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Lake Natron Tented Camp is a quiet place, but there are activities to conquer the silence.
It’s not a place known for its wildlife, but a place I enjoyed staying. I visited Lake Natron to have a glimpse of the flamingo breeding zone, a trip to Springs of Engaresero River and loved my hiking to the waterfall.
The natural pool is very refreshing, which is welcome at the hot and dry daytime.
If you like simplicity and beautiful views you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Lake Natron Tented Camp, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your positive review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Lake Natron and we hope to host you when you visit the area next time.

All our best,

Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hotel is managed by maasai and a part of the revenues go for the maasai community. And the staff really tried a lot to make its guests feel comfortable so my impression is very positive despite certain shortcomings I describe below.

You will receive a bungalow which is small but with a very original bathroom as if from the Flintstones :-). There is a bathroom inside and a shower outside. The shower outside is surrounded by a high wall so it forms part of the whole bungalow. The beds are comfortable, however a friend found that the net was instable.

You do not have any plugs to charge your batteries or to dry your hair in the bungalow - you have to go to the restaurant for this. There is hardly space to move around in the bungalow, so it is not suitable for spending time there apart from sleeping. It is very warm and there are a lot of mosquitos - so be prepared. You need a light to move around during the night since there is no electricity after 10-11pm. The path between the bungalows and the restaurant is dusty.

The restaurant is very nice, there is also a fire place outside of the restaurant. The service is great and if something is not alright please bear with the personnel - only some of them speak English well. We had the maasai Marco for a guide and he was excellent - just fantastic.

Just bear in mind that you pay for your drinks and all prices are in Tanzanian shillings. You can pay in dollars at an unfavorable exchange rate (1USD = 1450 Tanzanian shilling at the end of July 2013)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We drove here ourselves via the Lobo camp in the Serengeti National Park in a Land Rover and what a fantastic drive (but very challenging-the roads are awful at the start).
We were greeted by Marco who seems to do everything there from fire making demonstrations, to order taking, to welcoming guests and more...the staff here are really, really lovely and the tents themselves are so well designed and perfect for the location. Food was basic but good and the local walk around the Lake and to the waterfall are must do's.
We also drove out heading to Lake Manyara and the local villages have caught on to the fact that the national parks are getting all the tourist dollars and have set up three gates you have to pay to drive through which totalled the equivalent of US $135, something we werent informed about prior.
It is very hot at Lake Natron and the rooms were pretty hot at night but had mosquito nets. The bathrooms are really well done. I read the review here about the rat problem and I heard a rat in our roof one night but we didnt see any evidence of them.
We loved it here and it gave us an opportunity to see how the local people can run accommodation really, really well.

Room Tip: They all seem pretty private and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPM35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed here one night during our safari. When we arrived, it was quickly clear that the staff wasn't very hospitable (only to the group of Germans who were giving large tips), that the place wasn't very clean, and that there were rats in the area (rat droppings in the meeting area, tent, ...). Also, drinks were rather expensive, and outside the gate, you couldn't walk without being surrounded (rather aggressively) with Massai women who wanted to sell their jewellery. However, we didn't mind too much at that time, since you couldn't expect a spotless hotel service in a semi-luxury tented camp in the middle of nature.

The next morning, when we woke up, a filthy surprise awaited us. Our bed was covered whit rat droppings. You can imagine that this was not a nice awakening. The thought of rats having spend the night in our bed... When we reported this to the staff, they confirmed that there was a rat problem, but that they weren't doing anything to get rid of it. In such a case, I prefer to spend the night in a small tent in a basic tent camp, where I wouldn't have to spend the night with rats.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank miquette85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Natron hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed in one of the fixed army-style tent so I can't comment on the mobile tents and public washrooms. The tent was fine, clean, well maintained. Washroom facilities were also clean. Food was good and staff friendly. No complaints at all about this place. We did the waterfall trek with a Masai guide which was really nice. One piece of advice though don't wear sandals as the trek rocky and a bit perilous at times - not difficult but you could loose your footing without proper footwear.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dupv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We recently had two nights at this tented camp. Earlier reviews had not all been very positive but the tour company assured us that the camp had improved. Whether it had improved or not we can't say, but we can say that it was one fo the best we stayed in on our 19 day safari.

The drive from Arusha through the rift valley is spectacular and the camp is situated just outside a Maasai village on the banks of a small river flowing into Lake Natron. Each of the luxury permanent tents has been recently renovated and they are delightful, hidden away iin the cool shade of the gardens, full of wonderful birdlife. The sunrises over the rift escarpment and the lake are spectacular.

Not as sophisticated as some camps maybe, but why come all this way to such a spectacular spot looking for that!, The staff are really friendly and look after you well. The atmosphere is relaxed and the kids enjoyed the pool too. We visited the village with a local guide who was great, as well as having a long morning walk out onto the lake edge to watch flamingoes.

A highlight for all of us was the afternoon walk up to a cascading waterfall and swim in the plunge pool.

Ignore the older negative reviews, they are definitely out of date. We would go back tomorrow and stay for a week.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Natron
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bu...
#1 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Migunga Tented Camp
Migunga Tented Camp
#10 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#16 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#23 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maasai Giraffe Eco Lodge
Maasai Giraffe Eco Lodge
#1 of 8 in Lake Natron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Natron Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Natron Tented Camp

Property: Lake Natron Tented Camp
Address: Lake Natron, Lake Natron, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Natron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Lake Natron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Natron Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild and remote Lake Natron lies in the northeast of Tanzania in betweenthe Ngorongoro Highlands and Serengeti plains. Here it is the landscaperather than the animals that is the attraction - the area around the lakeinhabited by Maasai is dry, desolate and hauntingly beautiful.Situated at the base of Africa's only active volcano Oldonyo Lengai (Mountain of God), Lake Natron is one of the most alkaline lakes in the world. The lake is home to millions of tiny crustaceans, attracting literally thousands of lesser flamingo's and it is therefore one of the most important flamingo breeding grounds on earth.Unique in its setting, Lake Natron Tented Camp is set back in a grove of trees slightly removed from the dusty terrain of the lake. Clean safari tents offer showers, comfortable beds and a private veranda. A fully stocked bar and candle lit restaurant ensure you have a cold drink and delicious food at the end of an arduous climb or long days walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Natron Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing