We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Cothay Manor

Cothay Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Greenham
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

If you like plants and gardens you will love this lovely old manor house.It was pouring with rain but it didn't matter.We thoroughly enjoyed our visit

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LordDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    20
    13
    3
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“If you can find it, don't miss it!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

First thing to note is that this isn't the world's easiest garden to find one's way to, at least from the north of it ... mainly because of the reluctance of the locals to erect signposts that aid the motorist.

However, it's well worth searching out. It has the type of structure that appeals to me, informal planting within formal structures... the core of the garden is room-based and it seemed that each was predominantly given over to one colour. The use of contrasts foliage was also educational for an amateur such as myself. If we lived closer, I'd love to watch it change through the seasons.

Time constraints mean that we didn't venture far from the house - but the variety of trees nearby promised that there may well be much of interest that we missed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anaximander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“well worth a long journey”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We travelled from the Midlands on a day trip. (Bear in mind a hot Saturday in August on the M5!!!) What a tiresome journey! Then through lanes barely wide enough for our coach but it was all worthwhile. The house is wonderful - full of treasures and we were encouraged to take our time as we moved from room to room. I only wish we had had longer to explore the gardens - moving from 'room to room' was a magical experience. All this and then a cream tea. Thank you Mrs Robb for sharing your house and gardens with The Black Country Society

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BazEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Discovering Cothay”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had tried to find Cothay previously and gave up but this time with the aid of the SatNav we found it. Signposting could be better but once you get there, it is fabulous. Beautiful gardens and very peaceful. Well worth perservering.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzric18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

After seeing this place on Country House Rescue years ago I have been longing to visit it as the gardens looked amazing. Found is easier than I expected and was impressed even as we walked towards the entrance/tea room. The house looked amazing from the outside - next time I visit I shall pay to go round the interior. At the tea room a delightful young girl (grand-daughter?) not only took our entrance money but also made us coffee and served us cake in a most delightful and cheerful manner! The gardens were a delight: so many different 'rooms' and all lovingly tended by what seemed to be a family affair - Mrs Robb was still outside gardening in heat-wave conditions! Every single person at Cothay was friendly and welcoming and the whole experience was delightful!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DeltaBev810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cothay Manor also viewed

 
Wellington, Somerset
 

Been to Cothay Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing