We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton
Ranked #1 of 2 Greenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I unreservedly recommend this establishment. Great location, wonderful rooms, and a brilliant breakfast. Liz and Steve were most welcoming and my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only negative was the Somerset weather.... it rained a lot but then thats why the countryside is so green and beautiful.

Room Tip: They are all good and if stairs are a problem there are two rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aged_traveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz_Cannon, Owner at The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Keith and Jeanette
I'm not sure who enjoyed your being here most. Me or You? You were a real pleasure to have as guests and I do hope you'll come again. Thanks so much for your great review and especially for the kind donation to my NSPCC JustGiving Appeal, Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

We found The Old Dairy online when needing just one Saturday night stay while en route between South Africa and Switzerland. What a find!
The four poster room was beautifully fitted with everything provided for our comfort.
Liz was the perfect hostess - a mine of local information and serving up a great full English to start the day.
The location was superb - beautiful views and tranquility.
Make sure you check out the imperious stag in the garden!
We'll certainly be back.
Kerry and Steve

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz_Cannon, Owner at The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again when you're back from Switzerland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Everything about our stay at The Old Dairy was great. The room was gorgeous, lovely and spacious with a beautiful four poster bed, and perfect ensuite with a roll top bath! This was a bonus, we booked and a normal king size room but as the four poster was empty liz let us use it, lovely little treat.
Liz was wonderful, very friendly and helpful, cooks a lovely breakfast too. Nothing was too much trouble, from catching a spider, for us wimps, too letting us stay till 1 while I attended an interview.
We will definitely be back, without a doubt the best B and B we have stayed in. Gorgeous location to top it all off too.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Aimee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz_Cannon, Owner at The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Spider Removable is just one of our specialities! We're glad to be of service and delighted you enjoyed your stay. We all deserve a treat sometimes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in the Loft room and it was wonderful. Very tastefully decorated, and incorporating the old beams. The bed was large and extremely comfortable, the room was spotless and a dream to be in. I have to say that this is the best B&B I've stayed at in a long time.

Liz was the perfect host, and made as feel welcome as soon as she opened the door.

All we can say is that you won't be disappointed with the accommodation and great food as well as great hosts. Sorry to have to leave our great room.

Jo and Chris

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_anne2627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz_Cannon, Owner at The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Jo and Chris, we're so pleased you enjoyed your time at The Old Dairy. You were great company and we really appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Beautiful setting, very comfortable and clean, perfect breakfast, friendly people. A lot of care and attention has been put into designing the rooms, the beds are very good and every detail is thought of without it being too over the top. Absolutely spot on, make this your first choice!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz_Cannon, Owner at The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We love our Four Poster bed too and its good to hear that you've enjoyed a great sleep here at Bishops Barton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A really enjoyable stay! We were going to a wedding in the area and The Old Dairy was the perfect base. Before we arrived, communicating with Liz was really easy: she answered all our questions by email and even organised our transport to and from the wedding celebrations.

When we arrived, we got a warm welcome. We'd booked into the standard double but Liz put us in the four-poster room instead: lovely room with gorgeous en suite and beautiful views. The B&B rooms are in a separate building from the main house which meant that we could feel completely independent.

We had some free time during the day, so after a tasty breakfast, Liz and Steve gave us some tips (and a map!) for walks in the surrounding area and we were able to explore the Somerset countryside.

Overall, a really high-quality, professional B&B, but warm and friendly too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz_Cannon, Owner at The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Fran, Thanks so much for your lovely review. We're pleased you enjoyed your walk round the hills and along the canal before the wedding celebrations at Huntsham Court. Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A wonderful place to stay and enjoy the lovely countryside and hospitality. Liz and Steve are great hosts, they even took us out for the day to visit Dunster Castle. The house is very quaint with lots of original stone and wood beams and the English breakfast is awesome. We are so glad we chose to take a few days vacation away from London and could not have chosen a better place to stay

Room Tip: The Junior Suite on the top floor was spacious and the bed incredibly comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz_Cannon, Owner at The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thanks for your lovely review. We had a great day out at Dunster and it was a pleasure to be able to share some fabulous British History with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton

Address: Bishops Barton, Greenham, Wellington TA21 0JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wellington > Greenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Greenham
Price Range: £94 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed, Breakfast & More at The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton. Unwind and relax at the perfect rural retreat while enjoying our fully licensed Honesty Bar. Ideally located to explore Somerset and Devon, there are four beautiful en-suite B&B rooms, individually designed and located in a private converted barn as well as a Family Room in the main house. They offer luxury and comfort whilst retaining the charm and character of the Victorian era. Delicious home cooked evening meals served Sunday to Thursday. Families can enjoy everything Bishops Barton has to offer, staying in either our Ground Floor Junior Suite or our spacious Family Room in the Main Farmhouse and with the addition of the linked en-suite King Room we can even accommodate families of 6. Winner of Channel 4s Four In A Bed, find out for yourself why The Old Dairy scores top marks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing