We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Inn & Suites Colby
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Colby
Greeley
1 review
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We spent one night here on our way to moving to Colorado. The room was nice. We could tell it had recently been redone/renovated. It still smelled vaguely of fresh paint when first walking in. Overall a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplem0nkeydishwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Our sincere appreciation for being one of the few guests who appreciated our renovation efforts during 2012.

We would love to have you visit us again and really appreciate our hospitality and service in our updated and renovated Jewel in Colby.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    87
    32
    15
    41
See reviews for
94
80
39
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colby
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent one night at this hotel and we barely had any complaints. We arrived rather late, but the service was still very friendly. We had good beds, good bathroom, we had TV and free wifi, so we had a good room. Breakfast was from 7 until 9 if I remember well, but when we got there (around 8:45) there was not that much too eat. We made a waffle, which was really good and drank some orange juice and coffee. There were some cereals available and a cookie, but that was it. But overall if you plan on staying one night, it is perfect: a good night of sleep for little money and despite the small variety we had a good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We appreciate your candid, favorable comments.
It is nice that some guests understand and appreciate that this is a budget motel and any breakfast that includes waffles, cereal, coffee, juice and cookies is more than what can be expected.

Many franchise facilites do not provide any breakfast. We certainly understand and wish to be a known as the best value for a budget motel in Colby, KS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

If I could give this place a 0 I definitely would. I have never had a hotel experience this terrible in my life. Upon arrival I could tell the hotel was in pretty bad shape. I looked on the web and the hotel only offered non-smoking rooms, so I assumed that it was a non-smoking hotel. Upon opening the door to our rooms, there was a smell of smoke and potpourri. There were water damage on the walls, cigarette burns on the sheets and blankets, unfinished molding and painting, etc. We had several people who don't do well with smoke in our party and with the condition of the rooms, I went to discuss canceling our stay with the manager. He was not very cooperative and when Cheap Tickets called him to confirm cancellation, he made very derogatory remarks to the Cheap Tickets customer service guy on the phone. He was not very apathetic at all to the situation and his response to us was "well, you get what you pay for". I don't feel that a manager/owner of any establishment should ever use that as an excuse. I have paid that price many times through cheap tickets and hotwire and was never disappointed. I would highly recommend not staying at this place. I also uploaded the pictures seen to show what we encountered when we got there. On a side note, Sleep Inn and Suites and Days Inn were both great places to stay in Colby.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XBarron23X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrydes, General Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Please note that the Night Clerk in question is no longer employed here. Also all the non smoking rooms have been completely refurbished with new furniture, new bedding, new drapes, new heat pumps ( air-condition / heater combo), new molding, fresh paint, new 32" flat screen TVs,. We offer a complimentary hot breakfast with waffles, cereal, juice and coffee.
We assure you that rooms are comparable to any franchise property with rates that are very affordable.
The family owned Motel thrives on customer satisfaction, a genuine "home away from home" atmosphere at best affordable rates in Colby.
It is unfortunate that the guest had a bad experience and we would certainly welcome the guest to visit us again with a complimentary nights stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This dump was beyond bad - I was ashamed to make my family stay here - but it was 1 am and we had a hotwire reservation. Filthy, broken windows, spiders, stains everywhere, cigarette burns in the comforter, a 'pool' filled in with dirt, a complimentary "breakfast" - no thanks. If you're thinking about giving this place a chance - DON'T - drive on to Wichita or Denver - at least you won't contract a disease!!!! You've been warned!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JK-OKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrydes, General Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
The present management had just taken over the property in the summer of 2011. The property has since been completely refurbished. It took almost a year to get the upgrade done and we are now responding to customer reviews.
We assure you that all rooms have been refurbished with new bedding and linens, new drapes. There are no broken windows anywhere. The pool was closed It is now a landscaped picnic area with 2 charcoal grills for guest use.
Hot breakfast includes waffles, danish, 2 kinds of cereal, coffee and 2 kinds of juices.
We pride ourselves in providing a quality, "home away from home" atmosphere at most affordable rates in Colby. We have a satisfaction guarenteed policy now and welcome this guest back for a complimentary nights stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

These folks were very friendly and courteous. The room we were given was not in good condition, physically, with broken door knob to the bathroom. Although we checked in as a family of four, there were only towels for two....?
We sat our bags on the tables and ran out to grab a meal....came back and started getting ready for sleep.. only to find that when we pulled down the sheets, there were little black specks moving about! Further inspection brought about the discovery of several large bugs, and an entire family of them living inside one of the pillowcases!
We did get a refund, but I would sure like to have had them buy us a room across town! http://www.foxnews.com/imag/Wellness/15+Tips+for+Avoiding+Hotel+Bedbugs

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueHighwayTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrydes, General Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
The Night Clerk is no longer employed here. However, the present management has implemented a vigourous inspection and maintenance policy. A reputable exterminator compnay is employed to monitor and erradicate and and all bugs.
The rooms have been compltely refurbished since last August.
We strive to keep guest completed satisfied with quality, comfortable, clean accomodation with most affordable rates.
It is nice to know that the guests were given a full refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The rooms are basic, good TVs, fridges, microwaves, clean. The couple running it are very nice. The motel is a bit off the interstate. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajh076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I was heading east on I-70 and saw a billboard advertising $32 rooms at Budget Inn and Suites in Colby. Looking for an inexpensive room I stop in. There was also a pricelist taped to the lobby counter showing the $32 price. Despite only four cars parked on the property and it being only 4pm, I was told a $32 room was not available but there was a smoking room available for $40/night. I was also told the pricelist taped to the lobby counter was 7 years old. Bait and switch is a poor business model. I gave this motel a pass and recommend you do the same.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markamcdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrydes, General Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
We still have a bill board that shows a $32.98 AND UP price. The Motel has ONLY 2 rooms which are smaller than others and have only 1 queen bed in each. All our other rooms have either 1 King beds or 2 Queen beds in them. These rooms have become the most popular rooms because of the price and are usually get sold first, especially during the busiest travel season.Both have an adjoining connecting room and is often used as an office by commercial crews. There is no price list and has never been a price list on the counter showing any such rates.
There was an old out-dated motel flier which dated back to 2006, showing prices effective in 2006.
The guest was informed of this and shown the check in register. The $32.98 rate is unheard of in Colby, KS and he never called to check availablity. He was offered the only room that was available - a King room at a discounted price and he refused to accept the offer.
There is no bait and switch policy here.
We strive very hard to provide a quality, comfortable accomodation at most affordable prices.
Our amenties match most high priced franchised properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colby
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Colby
Days Inn Colby
#6 of 10 in Colby
305 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Colby
268 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Colby
Hampton Inn Colby
#1 of 10 in Colby
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Colby
172 reviews
2.4 mi away
American Inn Colby
American Inn Colby
#9 of 10 in Colby
34 reviews
22.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Oakley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn & Suites Colby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn & Suites Colby

Property: Budget Inn & Suites Colby
Address: 1745 W 4th St, Colby, KS 67701-1546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Colby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Colby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn & Suites Colby 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel is an outdoor property featuring 33 rooms at best rates in Colby, KS. Completly refurbished in 2012. Comfort and amenities of a franchise motel at budget rates. Continental breakfast including waffles assorted pastries, cereal, milk, juice and coffee from 6.30 am to 9 am every morning. Free high speed internet access in rooms and common areas. 32" flat screen TVs in most rooms. Free use of computer and free fax/copies in lobby. Self parking in front of room. Free RV and truck parking available. Children 12 and under stay free with paying adult. Laundry service provided and pets allowed for a small fee. Non smoking rooms available. Golf, tennis, swimming, boating, restaurants, shopping nearby. Management strives very hard to make your stay very pleasant, comfortable and memorable. Satisfaction Guaranteed at "your home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Budget Inn & Suites Colby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing