We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older quiet setting away from the busy town yet convenient to I-70.”
Review of American Inn Colby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
American Inn Colby
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Colby
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here off and on for business trips the past several years. No complaints other than dirt in the corner of the floor at the front of the bed. The couple who manages it are nice but the wife is easier to deal with overall. Good basic value.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alleyhse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for American Inn Colby
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

we have stayed at this motel several times , it is a halfway point from our home in Colorado to Sterling KS where our grandson is attending Sterling college. The rates are reasonable, the rooms comfortable and plenty of hot water in the morning for a hot shower. There is a computer available in the office,(don't have a smart phone) and a nice breakfast offering with coffee, oj, a selection of danish and breads, and fresh fruit. Starbucks is across the street, along with restaurants, and a Travel Center with gas available.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed one night in a king bed room.
The bed was fair as far as comfort. Not sleep through the night without waking up kind of comfortable but didn't wake up with dead arm like some places.
It was clean. Brand new bedspread. The continential breakfast was decent.The people were nice. It was quiet. Decent rates. I'd stay there again.
PS I read everyones reviews before I book a motel. I hope more people will take the time to really be honest about places they've stayed. There are some real dumps out there with good reviews. I booked this palce based on these reviews and would recommend this place to other travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank susanskyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devpatel02, Manager at American Inn Colby, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here again , in September on our way home from a 2 week vacation out in the upper Midwest to visit family. We have always been happy with this motel. It is quiet here and we like the parking at your door and walk right in to your room , the price is good , good internet service...BUT...this time was a bit different...we were in a room that we have not been in before. First impression was great , it smells nice and is very clean. Like the other person , I had issues with the shower. It was either way too hot or cold , couldnt quite get it right. It was not broken , just very sensitive. The beds were uncomfortable. We both woke up with aches and pains. I actually got up to take some Tylenol for the pain in my shoulder ! Quite a surprise since we stayed here before and the beds were so comfy then & I didnt want to get up on those other stays here !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank theakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We needed a place to crash after a long day of driving and this exceeded our expectations. The room was clean, large enough for the king size bed and very quiet. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, bagels, sweet rolls, coffee and juice. It was all we needed and all we expected. Best part was the very reasonable price when compared to the big chain hotels

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gstroud538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

On our way to Colorado, we stopped in Colby, arriving at 11:30 pm. Room were clean and had refrigerator for our food. The only "trouble" we had was with the air conditioner. It was not cooling at all. Once it was turned to warm, it worked and cooled immediately. Shower had great pressure, but like the a/c it had some temperature issues. All in all, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslieas15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We have stayed here before , last year it was, and returned over the Memorial Day weekend. I dont rate any motel a "5" ...no motel is perfect. We were happy with our stay here. It is clean and quiet and comfortable. And good internet service. The price is good...much lower than the big chains down the street ! Breakfast is juice and sweet rolls and bagels. They did have apples and bananas this time. We will be back :)

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank theakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colby
2.4 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites Colby
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Colby
Days Inn Colby
#5 of 10 in Colby
311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Colby
Hampton Inn Colby
#1 of 10 in Colby
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Colby
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Colby
274 reviews
20.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Oakley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn Colby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn Colby

Address: 2320 S Range Ave, Colby, KS 67701-9056 (Formerly Knights Inn Colby)
Region: United States > Kansas > Colby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Colby
Price Range: £35 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Inn Colby 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No Pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your American Inn Colby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Colby
Best Western Colby
Colby Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing