We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair Stay”
Review of American Inn Colby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
American Inn Colby
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Colby
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fair Stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My son & I stayed here the night, the front desk was friendly, the room was clean but there was no swimming pool. The only problem was there was no tables to eat breakfast on,other wise it was ok the A/C work really good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    12
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
13
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We like mom and pop hotels but this one didn't deliver. Air conditioner was old and noisy. When rooms next door turned theirs on, it was too noisy to sleep. Room was overwhelmed with perfume. Sheets were not large enough for the bed and with bed pads underneath. Old television with less than perfect picture...The male owner spoke very little English and it took us over 15 mins to check in. That should have been a clue Room was a collection of old furniture and for nearly $100 for two people I felt overcharged. Should have been half that much. Like another fellow said, best to go down the street and pay a little more for a quite, modern room.

Room Tip: Check out other hotels for better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colby hotels

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stopped here overnight both going and coming from Taos NM. This is definitely a "no frills" motel. The room was clean and well maintained. The first night the temperature outdoors was 106 and surprisingly the ubiquitous motel wall air conditioner cooled the room well within 15 minutes. Ice machine was in a hallway accessed through a sliding door that Arnold Swartzenegger would have had trouble opening. It took two hands and a mighty heave to get in. Then, sitting under the ice spout was an ice bucket full of water with a dead June bug floating in it. Wireless internet was very weak - at times my laptop could see the connection but would drop it periodically. Location is a plus for travelers 1 block from the interstate and across the street from a Petro II complex. Advertised a free breakfast, but it was not ready when we departed early.

Room Tip: If you bring your pet stay away from the area under the pines on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Colorado, with a Priceline reservation. If you are looking for a cheap place to just sleep and move on, this will be just fine. The rooms were clean and the shower has great pressure (a nice plus when you've been on the road all day). Very nice that the rooms have a refrigerator, however the fridge was unplugged when we came in the room - I'm sure a cost-saving measure, but that kind of defeats the purpose. The playground/park right across the street was a nice benefit for our kids. For anyone traveling with kids, they don't have a portable crib/pack'n'play, so you better have your own! A very basic continental breakfast. Wireless internet worked fine on my smartphone, but not on my wife's laptop. Room was quiet, but beds not super-comfortable.

Room Tip: It seemed like only 4 or 5 rooms total were booked, but they put us all right together, so maybe ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shackleton87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

It seemed okay at first. The bathroom was a little dirty, and the front door had cobwebs all over it. There was no pool even though the page on line I looked at said there was one. The tv kept going in and out. If you have children be careful with the shower. The water comes shooing out like its from a firehose, and it was very very hot, no matter how much cold I turned on. There is also no way to adjust the water pressure. You have to have the bathroom fan on, the ac on and keep the bathroom door open while showering or the smoke detector will start to go off. And you have to leave it on for about ten minutes after showering. The bed was very very uncomfortable, I have a sore back and sore shoulder. I would have left after the first night but I had prepaid for two rooms and there was a no refund policy. If you can afford the extra 20 or so I would go to the Comfort Inn across the street. They have comfy beds and there's a swimming pool and a hot tub. There's also a little playground located next to the Petro 2 gas station for little kiddies to play or if you just need a relaxing spot to read.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justme2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here off and on for business trips the past several years. No complaints other than dirt in the corner of the floor at the front of the bed. The couple who manages it are nice but the wife is easier to deal with overall. Good basic value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alleyhse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

we have stayed at this motel several times , it is a halfway point from our home in Colorado to Sterling KS where our grandson is attending Sterling college. The rates are reasonable, the rooms comfortable and plenty of hot water in the morning for a hot shower. There is a computer available in the office,(don't have a smart phone) and a nice breakfast offering with coffee, oj, a selection of danish and breads, and fresh fruit. Starbucks is across the street, along with restaurants, and a Travel Center with gas available.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colby
2.4 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites Colby
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Colby
Hampton Inn Colby
#1 of 10 in Colby
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Colby
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Colby
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Colby
Days Inn Colby
#7 of 10 in Colby
283 reviews
20.3 mi away
Kansas Country Inn
Kansas Country Inn
#2 of 6 in Oakley
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn Colby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn Colby

Property: American Inn Colby
Address: 2320 S Range Ave, Colby, KS 67701-9056 (Formerly Knights Inn Colby)
Region: United States > Kansas > Colby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Colby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Inn Colby 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
no pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your American Inn Colby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Colby
Best Western Colby
Colby Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing