We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth checking out”
Review of Motel 6 Colby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Colby
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Colby
cimarron, kansas
1 review
“worth checking out”
Reviewed 10 November 2010

older motel. but well kept----beds are very satisfactory---showers are excellent---generally well kept, and clean----rates are good for those on a budget.---The hotel staff has been very accomodating--- Have stayed there for approximately 3 to 4 years when on business in the city, and have been pleasantly satisfied----Would recommend it to anyone who wants comfortable accomodations, for a reasonable price.-----------------------------Regards, Floyd Ralls-----Cimarron Kansas-----620-338-6797

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Old-Salesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    24
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
21
13
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Willits, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2010

My husband and I stopped in Colby and searched for a room with a good price. We ended up staying at the Motel 6 and were very satisfied with our stay. The beds were comfortable and rooms were very clean. Everyone was very friendly, I recommend this motel to anyone passing through!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingbee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2010

I was double-charged. I paid in cash for the room on check-in. 2 days later my credit card was charged an additional amount of $62.32.

I called the hotel at 785-462-8201 - reception could not help and gave me the number of the hotel manager (Sonny Patel) 404-819-7833. Called him a couple of times for investigation and resolution of the problem. He promised to get back to me and never did.

Terrible customer service. Additionally, the ceiling in the room we stayed in (#121) was leaking at night during rain. Water just comes through on the carpet.

Would not recommend staying in this place.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nik_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colby hotels

Pueblo, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stopped at the Colby KS motel because we were traveling from Missouri & Colorado and were exhausted. We did not have reservations. My husband went into the lobby and requested a room on the 1st floor as I am in a wheelchair. The receptionist was very pleasant. However, the room was a nightmare. When we opened the door, the room had a very powerful musty/mold smell. We figured it was due to the fact that the air conditioner had been running all day. However, once we removed our shoes, we discovered the issue. The carpet from the bathroom into the bedroom was completed soaked. On top of that, there were obvious stains all over the floor, there were dead bugs all over the place, and the toilet was not secured to the floor. Being in a wheelchair, I was not able to use the toilet without fear that it would fall over and I would get injured further. My husband attempted to take a shower and discovered that the sink and bathtub had not been clearned; there was hair everywhere. This room also has other issues: the light is falling out of the ceiling, the air conditioner thermostat is broken and ran all night, the floor tiles in the bathroom are broken and have had grout smeared all over the door and walls, and the door does not shut securly. This room is barely wheelchair accessible has my husband had a very difficult time getting me into the room. When we complained, we simply were told "We have wheat bugs and there is nothing we can do." All of the other issues seemed to not matter. If we had not been so exhausted and I was not in a wheelchair, we would have left and found another hotel. Unfortunately, we will never return to another Motel 6 in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colorado_EmptyNester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We stayed one night at this hotel and were very impressed! It was very nice, clean and offered a wonderful hot coffe. The rooms have a living area and bredroom and the bathroom was big and roomy. It was also very quiet and they allow pets. We plan on staying there again the next time we are through colby

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank self1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2008

We were only passing through on our way to Yellowstone and checked in at around 11 pm. We booked 2 rooms using Roomsaver coupons for about $45 each. The hotel looks fairly new compared to the others in the area. The rooms were good - adequate lighting, TV, etc., and there were no bugs. Also, the lady at the desk was very nice. Overall, I would say it is one the the nicer, better kept up Motel 6's.

  • Liked — Covenient to the road
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ValueMinded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2007

We got to this motel during a thunderstorm and was a bit disconcerted to find large ant like critters scurrying around in front of the side entrance....

We accidentally booked a smoking room! And the motel was full so we were stuck.

The room was average size for a Motel 6...it did have a table and a couple of chairs which was nice.

My daughter came out of the bathroom and said her feet were sticking to the floor - ugh! Sure enough I walked around in there with my sandles and my feet kept sticking.

The toilet kept running until we jiggled the handle (after every flush!) and one of the pillows had a hole with stuffing coming out of it.

You know - I know it's a Motel 6 and we're not talking first rate hotels - but I'd just like it to be clean and have pillows with no holes or at least put one of those pillow protectors over it if there is a hole.

The creepy bugs outside the hotel were a nuisance while we were trying to load our car the next morning in the rain...had stuff piled there and I feared we'd take home a load of the fellas!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank munkamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colby hotels
2.1 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites Colby
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Colby
Days Inn Colby
#6 of 10 in Colby
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Colby
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Colby
Hampton Inn Colby
#1 of 10 in Colby
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Colby
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
American Inn Colby
American Inn Colby
#9 of 10 in Colby
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Colby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Colby

Property: Motel 6 Colby
Address: 1985 S Range Ave, Colby, KS 67701-4014 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > Kansas > Colby
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Colby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Colby 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Colby is conveniently located near shopping and dining. Visit Prairie Museum of Art and Thomas County Fairgrounds. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in all modern guest rooms and Micro-Fridges in select rooms or utilize our coin laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Colby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Colby
Colby Motel Six
Colby Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing