We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff, Reliable Internet”
Review of Hampton Inn Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Derby
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bryant, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Staff, Reliable Internet”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The internet at this hotel was reliable and fast during the day and at night. As a frequest traveler, I see the inside of a hotel room an average of 10 nights per month. This Hampton was nice and clean. I had a few issues on checking, but the staff was quick to respond. The hotel swimming pool has wheelchair lifts for both the pool and hot tub. Although we didn't need help getting in and out, I thought it was really neat they had planned for someone that may need help. We had a room with two full-size beds and it seemed much smaller than normal for a Hampton. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to business and vacation travelers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razorbackshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    61
    21
    6
    17
See reviews for
99
46
20
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Having stayed here twice in the past two weeks in February I was impressed with the new looking property, clean rooms. This was handy to work outside of Wichita in the suburbs and an easy drive to work. Some chain kind of dining was handy. The hotel is set back from a busy road so it was also quiet from road noise.

The downside is that the other guests are easily heard all night, singing, talking and snoring so that if you are right next door to the party crowd there is no escaping it at 3:00 a.m.

I did not contact the disinterested management. If you stay here request a 3rd floor room toward the back then there is a chance that you might avoid the rabble that seems to check in here. At 3:00 a.m. I did not feel like going to the front desk in my pajamas to complain. That would have led to only more noise.

My first was the loud talking and snoring guests above and next door on 2nd floor. The next week I asked for 3rd floor. Got this. But the last night some party types moved in one door away and sang along with their radio until at least 3:30 a.m.

By turning on the air conditioner fan and stuffing my ears with ear plugs I was able to lower the decibel level, but by then it was impossible to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room toward the back and hope the party crowd shuts down before 3 a.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I recently stayed @ this hotel and was most impressed by the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms. Seems like everyone bent over backwards to insure my stay was comfortable and satisfactory. The breakfast was really good and they even had brownbag breakfasts available in addition to the normal breakfast for those who are in a hurry. I highly recomend this hotel to anyone passing through this area. The small hometown atmosphere of the hotel and surrounding community makes anyone feel welcome.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I was an extended guest at this hotel which was not comfortable. As with most small town Hampton's nowadays, one must ask for a mini fridge for their room. But if you are just passing through or staying for a vacation this is a great place for the short term. Right outside of Wichita so you aren't in all the hustle and crime of a big city. Derby is a great place to stay for families. The whole town is a sidewalk community and even has a small water park for the kids. I was always treated nicely by all the staff at this hotel. They answered any question I had and offered their assistance at all times. My room was clean and well kept by housekeeping. The parking lot and outside area was safe and well lighted. This hotel is always busy and booked due to the amount of travelers wanting to stay outside of Wichita. Book in advance and don't expect the halls to be to your quiet standard, especially in the summer. I wiould definately stay here again for a short term stay, but would have to reluctantly stay at a more extended stay hotel over in Wichita if I had to go back for business reasons.

Room Tip: Get a room with two queen beds and not a single king if you want more square footage and ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meadow318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dighton, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We arrived on Friday night and checked in for our 3 night stay in room 118 without a problem. It was very humid in Wichita so we turned the AC on at night but everything felt damp in the morning. Breakfast the next morning at around 7:15am was standard, eggs, waffles, cereal, coffee, orange juice, everything was clean and replenishment was fine. The area was full so had to take my breakfast to my room.

Went out and got back to our room the way we left it. Housekeeping had skipped our room. I went to the front desk and asked if there was a problem - the woman at the front desk apologized with pretty much 'that's all we have folks take it or leave it'. The hotel was very clean so it wasn't a big problem once I took my trash to the front desk to dispose of.

Sunday evening I went down to the front desk to ask if we could check out on Monday at noon instead of 11am. There were two gentlemen at the desk and was told the manager would be in at 6am then next morning and to speak with him/her. Needless to say we just got up and left.

You know I can't say it was really bad, as I have stayed in places much worse but it was just a feeling of once they had your money service just didn't seem to matter.

Room Tip: Room was bottom floor to the back - great access
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annitajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas City, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2011

My room was booked and available upon arrival. The location of the hotel is accessible to nearby restaurants and shopping centers. Front desk service was courteous and efficient. The room was warm and welcoming. All the amenities necessary for a comfortable stay were readily available. I especially enjoyed the bed, which was clean, comfortable and attractive. The shower was refreshing with plenty of hot water. The breakfast was well prepared with a variety of foods, and the coffee was robust and flavorful.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weatherford, oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We have stayed at Hampton Inns in many places, but this one cost more than others. We paid $125.00 per night for a king sized room with computer desk. It also was like a studio suite, I guess. I only wanted a king size bed, as we were only going to be there for one night, so that we could attend a funeral the following day. The room was pretty and spacious and might have been nice on another occasion when we wanted the room for a vacation or such. It had a full bath, with the sink outside of the bathroom. It had another sink, microwave, and small refrigerator at the front of the room. The computer desk sat in the middle of the room, which was a lovely separation with the bed on one side and the sofa and such on the other side. There was one pivotal tv in the room, at the computer desk that you could rotate to watch in bed or when you were sitting on the sofa. I thought for the price that they charged, that they would have two tvs there. Just very overpriced. The breakfast was nice and they have a nice eating area. Staff was friendly, though discounts weren't to be had. I would recommend it simply because it was pretty, but not because of the price.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelinggrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derby
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites I-35 / Mulvane
4.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 2 in Haysville
89 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wichita-East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wichita
Days Inn & Suites Wichita
#42 of 87 in Wichita
330 reviews
9.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wichita South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Derby

Property: Hampton Inn Derby
Address: 1701 E Cambridge St, Derby, KS 67037-3782
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Derby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Derby 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Derby Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing