We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow”
Review of Boot Hill Museum

Boot Hill Museum
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Dodge City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Explore the Old West at this museum dedicated to preserving the history of Dodge City, through exhibits, audiovisual programs and, in the summer, stagecoach rides and mock gunfights.
Portales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

we were intending to have lunch here but at 18 dollars a plate plus the entrance fee it was way out of our budget.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    219
    72
    22
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stop!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stopped on our way thru.. Great way to spend a couple hours..museum, saloons and shoppes were all fantastic. Great little piece of history

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stanley Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roeland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great museum and sights for ALL ages”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I went to the museum and our ages ranged from 9 to 94...my mom is handicapped as well. It was amazing! I agree with the post below stating that the girls behind the counter aren't too friendly or particularly interested in helping or administering tickets....however they were probably 16 or 17...they were clearly friends and it wasn't a big deal. When they saw us waiting they immediately helped...no worries.

It is soooooo worth the money. You watch a short 10-15 minute video on the history, then you walk up Boot Hill (there's a ramp), where you can see where people were buried there and then there's a museum on life back then from native Americans to wedding gowns from the 1800s. When you walk down the ramp there's a whole row of "stores". An old saloon where you have to try their Sasparilla!!! The man playing the piano is just phenomenal. There's an old house you an tour, a church, an ice cream parlor, the general store etc... There's also a shoot out at noon and after you can have a picture signed for your kids. It was a lot of fun!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahVier81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesquite, Nevada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Too expensive for what you get......;they seemed more interested in the admission then to making us feel welcome. The two young ladies behind the counter seemed irritated we interrupted their conversation to buy a ticket.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 57BravesLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you like museums, this one is great as it offers lots of period pieces and artifacts including a great gun collection. Boot Hill is a bit hokey but it fits with the theme. The price is very reasonable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaska_Bulldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boot Hill Museum also viewed

 

Been to Boot Hill Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing