We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Food”

Dodge House Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 69 Restaurants in Dodge City
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Dining style: Casual Dining
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Garden City, Kansas
1 review
“Terrible Food”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We order cheese burger, onion rings, and hash browns. The hamburger taste like old hamburger, and the onion rings and hash browns taste like it was cooked in old cooking oil. We will never eat there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Us2Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    25
    23
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
paris ontario
Level Contributor
237 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A real saloon”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is your typical old west saloon, with swinging doors, and a solid wood bar, with brass railings, supported by brass horse heads. In the corner sits a dummy, dressed in western gear, with a six shooter in his hand. The walls are covered with old wanted posters, and photos of the way Dodge looked a hundred years ago. Jared, behind the bar,gave me their special 22 oz. draft [$2.00}, and suggested that I try the brisket open face sandwich. I started with a trip to the salad bar, and when my meal arrived, they must have thought that someone else was with me to share. There was at least a full pound of tender brisket, on two slices of Texas toast, and a generous helping of fries, smothered in gravy. Needless to say, it was not all consumed. For a great atmosphere,terrific food, good service, at a reasonable price, try this saloon, for dinner. Jerry ....Paris Ontario,Canada


Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jerry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gove, Kansas, United States
1 review
“Expected More”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Dodge House has potential to be great, it's the first restaurant you come to from the west on the highway, and is attached to a hotel. Ate on a Wednesday night at 7:45p.m. We were the only ones in the restaurant part. Temperature was very cold, I couldn't stop shivering and I had jeans, a t-shirt and light jacket on. Waitress was very nice. Me and my boyfriend ordered the '2 for $25' meal. Both salads were warm, croutons soggy. Appetizer was the jalepeno poppers. They tasted like old fryer grease, just very odd tasting. My boyfriend got the shrimp alfredo, and me the chicken alfredo. It was more of a soup than pasta. Everything was cooked fine, but no flavor. Ate most of it once we put a ton of salt & pepper on it.

Will return once we read a string of great reviews!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very overpriced, you don't need the reservations, food was very tasteless !”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Our table ordered cheeseburger ..when asked for side of mayo we were brought miracle whip packets...they didn't have mayonnaise. (Really? A restaurant that takes reservations and is spendy not have mayo )
chicken strip: were very bland no flavor 
sampler platter: coconut shrimp, mozzsticks, calf fries (still insure of what they are ) potato skins: shrimp was good, daughter liked mozz sticks (i prefer marinara sauce with mine: Potato skins were very greasy and was basically skins on plate with a spoon of onion and bacon dumped on top . French fries were ok they looked really good but I think they were sitting awhile and steam got to them as they ended up kinda soft and mushy. They serve Pepsi products. Ice tea is very cloudy with an odd Ting odd taste . Needless to say the $40+ for 4 people was way spendy. We chose not too order any entrees there werent any under $18. The Waitress was nice and friendly. Would not recommend or return

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeatherRacinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Steak”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Got in to town late and this place was very close to my hotel. Ordered a tenderloin and a beer. Both were good. Staff was friendly and attentive.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingManNo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dodge House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dodge House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing