We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place to Stay in Dodge!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dodge City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boot Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Dodge City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The Only Place to Stay in Dodge!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My room was the Wyatt Earp Suite! How appropriate, since I had a veranda overlooking the original Boot Hill, where a number of Earp's deposed outlaw victims were buried. I was so pleased with the accommodations, I stayed an extra night. The Dodge City visit was on my bucket list, so I wanted to enjoy it in style. Kurt and Enid know the area well and will guide you through with their recommendations. The Boot Hill Museum and Experience are literally right next door, approximately 150 feet away. Visit the Museum and the Front Street reproduction. It is hokey and hokey, but worth the $30 dollars. Dinner, Gunfight and Show. If you travelled all the way to get to this "out of the way place & Era", you might as well do it up right and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnWesley_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
101
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This is our 6th or 7th time at this B and B. We've stayed in every room and each has its own charm. I love the "mismatch" and quaint ranch-style repurposing of every chosen object selected to make our stay comfortable and warm. Charming mix of hotel amenities (luggage rest) and china butter pat from another era to rest your coffee mug. If you need uniformity and hotel-style impersonality, go somewhere else. This historic home has always offered sparkling clean rooms mixed with good company .

Over the years our Hosts have stayed up late to receive us, warned us away when storms encroached, and sent us down the road with a spot-on English breakfast.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsenburg, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at this bed & breakfast. Kurt & Enid made us feel so welcome. Enid is a wonderful cook and is just a sweet heart. The breakfast was so filling we didn't have to eat lunch! We were full all day from the wonderful food. Her pastries are mouth watering. The second morning my husband and I were the last to have breakfast and Enid sat chatted with us, telling us stories about the place. Kurt was very informative about places to eat and things to do. This B & B is so close to all the sight seeing places we were able to walk everywhere. We were able to tour all the rooms after everyone left and we liked all of them. We stayed in the Doc Holliday Room at the top of the house and it was a cute room with all the privacy anyone would want. If we go back to Dodge City we will definitely stay at this B & B again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divide, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just got home from Dodge City. We stayed at the home of Enid and Kurt AKA the Boot Hill Bed and Breakfast. First let me say that we travel by motorcycle so a good bed and lots of hot water are vital. We stayed in the Wyatt Earp room, the mattress was amazing and the sheets were even ironed, the bed was so comfortable that my husband managed to sleep way later than he should have, The shower had amazing water pressure and it was like a massage of hot water, the thick towels were a plus and they even provided lovely thick terry cloth robes. The room fridge was stocked with cold drinks and cookies for the munching. The house is furnished with comfy sofas and lots of historic and family photos to look at. We received keys to the room and the front door and came and went as we pleased. The location is right next to the only part of Dodge really worth seeing and we were able to walk to everything. In the evening you can hear the train, but things get real quiet after 8pm. In the early morning you hear the chimes from the church clock across the street and awaken to the smell of fresh baked pastries and bacon. Breakfast is cooked to order and the coffee is fresh. We enjoyed the conversations we had with other guests and Sheriff Charlie even stopped in to tell us about Dodge City of Old. This is the Hilton of B&B's but, if you prefer regulated, impersonal, same old same old, then go 4 blocks down the street and stay in the Econo Lodge. ONE NOTE: This is a historic old home so there are no elevators, you will need to go up some stairs. if this is an issue you may need to make other arrangements.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent - however the Miss Kitty room has the private bath across the hall - if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_ette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband & I stayed 2 nights at this wonderful little B & B. We felt very welcome here. Kurt was very knowledgeable about places to eat, places to visit, etc. Enid was just as sweet as can be & a wonderful cook!! Her food was amazing & we were stuffed full of delicious goodies both mornings! Their helper was sweet too. The room was clean (we peeked into the other rooms on the 2nd floor when they were briefly empty & thought they were cute too) & the fridge was stocked with water & sodas. The jar of homemade cookies was a yummy treat as well. Kurt & Enid were the best B & B hosts we've encountered too. We want to come back next year.
This was the 1st B & B that we ever got a good night's sleep on the bed (very comfortable & we are used to a waterbed). The reviewer who bashed this place & the museum must be very dissatisfied with life & have nothing better to do but be a grump.We loved the museum (Boot Hill) both years that we have visited Dodge City & it was busy both times (we came during Dodge City Days). The rodeo was excellent too. All in all we had a great experience!!

Room Tip: We had the Matt Dillon room. The jacuzzi was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night and were very impressed by the character and comfort in Dodge City. We were able to walk to restaurants and sights very easily. Great location. Breakfast was fairly simple but well prepared and served. Wonderful hosts and we will stay here again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We'd read good reviews about this place but were nothing but disappointed. When we drove up, it didn't look much like the photos on the website. The planters needed care and there was clutter in the windows. We received a friendly greeting but the specific room with a private bath that we had reserved had been given to another guest. They gave us a choice of a room on the third floor (too many stairs to carry luggage and it was tiny and creepy) or another room that had a bathroom room across the hall. We took the second one.

The furnishings and decor are worn, outdated and hodge-podge. There's clutther and tons of family photos all over the house. So, it feels like you're in a stranger's home instead of an inn. The bathroom had no privacy cover on the window...only lace...and it was too big to cover with a towel (I tried). The shower/tub had a curtain held up with plastic ties that looked like it might fall down. The tub had rust stains and lots of hair on the wall from a previous guest. Towels were pink and green....not the normal white in most places to know they are clean. The windows in the room had curtains you could see through. Again, not much privacy. The sheets were very perfumey from the laundry soap and bothered our allergies. Other parts of the bedding smelled dirty. The beds were hard and uncomfortable (the only ones like that on our entire three week road trip). The TV was a tiny computer monitor. The patio furniture was falling apart. There were cookies in a glass jar on the desk in the room but I wondered how old they were and if they'd been there during a previous guest's stay.

I hate to give a poor review but we weren't happy at all about staying at this place. In fact, we slept in our clothes and left before sun-up. We didn't even stay for breakfast. Somehow, that didn't seem like a good plan to eat there with how disappointing the inn was.

The good part....if you're there to see the Boot Hill Museum (also disappointingly small and more like a ghost town...not much there and hardly any visitors), it's right across the street. If you're only staying as an overnight stop along your travels....go somewhere else!

Room Tip: In my opinion....there are no good rooms at this inn. Very disappointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funsters3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ned_Dacstruk, Owner at Boot Hill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I am sorry that you did not like our establishment and would have done so much more to make your stay an enjoyable one has we had any idea of your issues. We go to great lengths to do this and are sorry that you did not mention any of this to us.

To address your issues.It is true we offered you a different room due to circumstances we could not change,if you were unhappy with the rooms we would have offered to move you to a brand new hotel and paid for your stay.

First of all the family photos.This is our home and we live here every day and are thousands of miles from family and so enjoy having them around. you were welcomed as you said into our home with open arms but we realize that we cannot please anybody no matter how we try.
The bathroom for your room was outside your room,big and spacious and the original bathroom of the house.It was also private to you.I realize the bath has iron stains but it is scrubbed daily even without guests.It amazes me that you found a hair and for that I am sorry but again we would have fixed that had you told us.The shower curtain was pulled down by the previous guest that morning and has now been fixed.

The window in the bathroom is so small and high and we never thought it was a problem,thank-you for bringing to our attention,we could have put curtain up had you asked.
And if you felt heavier curtains were needed in your room we would have brought some up and replaced,the same with the sheets.All our sheets are washed and ironed and if we had known that you had allergies we would have remade the bed with allergy free sheets we keep for just this purpose.We also wash blankets and comforters after every guest leaves.The TV is on the smaller size but is a regular new TV not a computer monitor. I guess it was easy for you to make that mistake and the towels,we prefer to use colored towels to match the room or bathroom colors than the rough small white towels in hotels. And I am not sure what to make of the bed issue.All our mattresses are comfy and we have had no complaints.We have also slept in that room ourselves on occasion without problem.

Cookies are made fresh every day as you were told when you checked in and when on check in we asked what time you wanted breakfast you told us that you were on a tight deadline as you had a long drive the next day and you would just be leaving very early.I offered to get up very early to give you breakfast and you said you really did not want me to have to do that. In you review you say you slept in your clothes and left early without breakfast without mentioning you had already made this arrangement.(Not the sleeping in clothes part) That horrifies me that you felt so uncomfortable that you would have to do that when we could have fixed 90% of your problems.

The furniture in our house is older and I guess some people would see it as hodgepodge but most of our guests for the last 9 years love the homey feeling and the fact that you are made so welcome and mention that its wonderful to just sink into a comfy overstuffed armchair an chat or read a book.But I now realize it is not for everyone

We had had a couple of weeks of stormy weather and hail which broke plants and made the pots look like they need attention but they soon perked up and are glorious now.The patio furniture covers were replaced this year. Some things happen and we try to keep up repairs but sometimes they have to wait a day or two. We have had a very wet and stormy spring and summer.
To address your final issue about the other rooms.You did not get to see them as they were occupied but felt the need to assume they were all bad,again I am sorry your experience was so bad. You talked to us several times with a smile on your face and never once complained to us about anything .Everything except the beds and family photos could have been resolved right then and you would no longer have felt like a stranger in someones home.You would have left with a positive feeling that although things were not perfect you realized that we go the extra mile for everyone and maybe would have even stayed for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dodge City hotels
1.4 mi away
Dodge House Hotel
Dodge House Hotel
#12 of 19 in Dodge City
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Country Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dodge City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Dodge City
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Dodge City
Comfort Suites Dodge City
#4 of 19 in Dodge City
107 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western North Edge Inn
Best Western North Edge Inn
#1 of 19 in Dodge City
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boot Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boot Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Boot Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 603 W Spruce St, Dodge City, KS 67801-4241
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Dodge City
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dodge City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Boot Hill Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend a night or three in a grand old house at the top of Boot Hill, featuring the "Best Breakfast in the West." Relive the old west at Boothill Museum (across the street), walk the Trail of Fame in Downtown Dodge, see a show at the Depot Theater Co. Dinner Theater located in the Historic Sante Fe Depot, or visit historic buildings like the Mueller-Schmidt House (the House of Stone), and the Carnegie Center for the Arts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing