We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW what a change” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dodge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dodge House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Dodge City
Lacrosse Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW what a change”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2008

Wow was I impressed with the changes since new ownership has taken over in June. The rooms are clean, with new sheets (felt like I was sleeping at home), new towels that are big enough to go around a person and and the staff is a lot more friendlier than ever before. The pool area is clean with no heavy chlorine smell and ample adult seating. The owner was walking around greeting the guests and asking if everything was okay or if they needed something. When I needed something I called the front desk and within 5 minutes they had brought me a new ironing board and asked if there was anything else I needed. I have stayed there before and was nervous about staying there this time because of my experience before but was greatly impressed with the new owners. They were quick to point out that they have already made a bunch of changes and have a lot more they are doing. They will be redoing the pool area and getting new equipment for the area so the kids will have new slides and toys to play with.

The Dodge House will be where I stay from now on...already booked rooms for the Dodge City Days there. Under the new OWNERSHIP the Dodge House will be a great place to stay and visit. Thanks for such a great stay!!!!!!

  • Liked — The service was outstanding
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ksren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    54
    33
    30
    33
See reviews for
56
55
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

booked this hotel on travelocity, and have to admit, was a bit worried, because reviews werent the best, but it was a sold out weekend and only hotel left available aside from Travelodge , which is a dump that we had a displeasure to stay at for 1 night the last time we were in town.

Dodge house is cool place with a flavor of the wild west. It has a lot of theme to it. My husband was in town for business and we decided to come along with family. Our kids had a blast. they played basketball, spent a lot of time at the pool and of course the game room, we were told the hotel is under new ownership as of recently. our room ( pictures attached) was very large, clean and had all the amenities we needed ( coffee maker, fridge and a microwave) staff was friendly and we had a wonderful 4 night stay. we will be back for sure.

  • Liked — unique themed and many amenities under 1 roof ( basketball, tennis, etc)
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 4familytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limbo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2008

When we first opened the door to our room we were hit by a warm clammy feel in the air. We kicked off our shoes getting ready to settle in and when we did the carpet felt wet and it had a waxy residue on it that sticks to your socks and the bottom of your pants. The shower fan didnt work so the bathroom couldnt ventilate. Within 2 days there was mold growing in the bathroom. We left the door open from then on to ventilate the bathroom and mold started to grow on the ceiling and walls of the "living room"!!! Room was so damp that the papers in the room would go limp and get water waves. This was constant even if the shower wasnt used. Maid service sucks as well. They dont care if you have the "do not disturb" notice on the door, they will come in anyway. Make sure you lock it from the inside too so they dont walk in on you! The hot water in the shower would fluctuate from hot to cold. Also the roof leaks in the hallway outside of the rooms. I got hit with water 5 times, husband 3. On the upside it did come with a king sized bed, sheets didnt fit it though. All in all, the place is a real winner...................dont waste your money here!!!

  • Liked — continental breakfast
  • Disliked — The nasty room!!!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LimboTravelbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2007

I come to Dodge City on a regular basis, and normally stay at one of the newer locations on Wyatt Earp Blvd. As this was Dodge City Days weekend, the only room I could find was at the Dodge House. I remember staying there as a child when it was the Holiday Inn Holidome. Thirty years later, it looks like it did back then, with minimal improvements. Drawbacks include:

1. Smoking was allowed in the lobby.
2. The corridors were built long-ago, and it was a confusing maze to find the room, especially in the back of the hotel. Some staircases that seemed like exits just took you to lower parts of the hotel. It seemed like a fire trap to me.
3. No wireless internet access except in the lobby.
4. The breakfast was a very minimalist "continental", hardly an excuse for one.
5. The rooms were small, with dark, old bathroom features.

When I stayed there last, I saw the La Quinta being constructed next door. Needless to say, I am sitting in my new La Quinta room using the wireless to type this. I will go into more detail with a La Quinta review, but for now, I do not recommend the Dodge House, until some very extreme removation takes place there.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mfricke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

There isn't much to say about the hotel. Its old, dirty, and the carpet felt like you were walking on a greasy kitchen carpet. I woudn't go in the shower or walk around in my room without shoes on.

If you have kids the pool area is okay - its really annoying if you don't because almost all the rooms are off the pool area and its usually loud with kids screaming until 10 at night.

Service was okay and the restaurant was average.

  • Liked — Nothing was better than a cheap Holiday Inn
  • Disliked — Dirty and old!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2007

They have invested their money in the character of the hotel (we didn't get to check out the saloon). There are lots of western props and artifacts. Our kids loved the place, playing in the pool, or on the central basketball court and rec room.

With that said, there were a few hiccups. Wireless Internet was not available. Breakfast had minimal offerings, and the rooms are in need of repair (there are no elevators, which make it hard for access to rooms on top stories).

Our kids, however, didn't notice these things, and they didn''t care. This is an authentic Dodge City locale. Stay in a chain motel if you can't handle a little grit with your griddlecakes.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Kansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2006

Hotel may have been nice many years ago, but in is bad shape now. Housekeeping was poor, the sheets were dirty, the tub and sink was dirty, the top of the tv cabinet was so dusty you could not tell what type of wood was underneath. The bathroom had dead cockroaches in it. The staff was nice but tried to charge double, and did not speak english well. Poor lighting in the parking lot as most lights were not working, and none of the outside entrances to the hotel were secure all had broken locks.

  • Liked — Close to the rodeo
  • Disliked — Dirty room and poor desk service
  • Tips/Secrets — There are better hotels in the vicinity for less
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Talljhawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dodge City hotels
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN North Edge Inn
BEST WESTERN North Edge Inn
#1 of 19 in Dodge City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Country Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Dodge City
Comfort Suites Dodge City
#4 of 19 in Dodge City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dodge City
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Dodge City
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Dodge City
Travelodge Dodge City
#15 of 19 in Dodge City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodge House Hotel

Property: Dodge House Hotel
Address: 2408 West Wyatt Earp Blvd., Dodge City, KS 67801
Region: United States > Kansas > Dodge City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Dodge City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dodge House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Dodge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodge City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing