We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dodge city”
Review of Dodge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dodge House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Dodge City
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Chose this hotel because of recommendation from true west magazine. It's a older hotel rooms are neat a clean. The only thing I noticed is they could use new carpet inside and out. The pool area is covered by a large roof the area is carpeted and also has a volleyball court and basketball hoop. So if you retire early expect noise till 10:00 pm

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle P, General Manager at Dodge House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Howdy!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always so nice to hear back from all of our guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely
Danielle Petty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

The Dodge House Hotel in Dodge City Kansas was our aim after travelling from North Platte. Let's be honest the roads to Dodge City are not the best there are no Interstates and you will pass many farms on the way. The point I am trying to make is that you are tired by the time you reach Dodge. The check in was fine and we proceeded to our room. We did the check for bed bugs. We did not find any bed bugs we did find some dead bugs in the mattress covers in both beds in the room. There was also human hairs that had not been cleaned out. The final straw was when we found blood on one of the pillows and along the wall. This was brought to the attention of the receptionist and she apologised, she came up and saw for herself she then apologised more. We were given another room and this room after a thorough check by us was given the all clear. There was also plenty of dust in the room and was way too much for a room that should have been cleaned
Come on Dodge House make sure your rooms are clean and bug free albeit dead ones and please rule number one finding blood on a pillow is totally unacceptable and can only be put down to the room not being checked correctly and therefore not cleaned correctly. The breakfast is free but the quality of the breakfast is only average and you will find many places in Dodge City that will provide a more quality breakfast.
The overall appearance of the hotel was good and well themed. The open area of the hotel indoors near the pool and the volleyball area were leaking rain water during and after a thunderstorm. There was buckets in place so that means they must have been used before.
The bar area was very impressive and a good atmosphere. The overall character of the hotel was very good.
Now this is not necessarily a criticism but be prepared to be disturbed during the night by what we thought were spooky unexplained happenings. Like thuds within the room. Some of you may be put off by this some may be intrigued so that could be a possible attraction for the hotel, we were on the top floor so there was no possibility of sound from above.
What is most certainly not an attraction is uncleaned rooms with dead bugs and blood in them and for that reason the rating of this hotel is shown appropriately to take these very important issued into account.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewerUSAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle P, General Manager at Dodge House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Unfortunately, unless you’re adventuring to find miles of wheat crops, grazing land, and old farm houses, your destined to be quiet sleepy when you arrive in Good Old Dodge City Kansas. It is very important to all of us here at The Dodge House Hotel, that each of our guests are able to experience a smooth check in process and are able to get into a clean comfortable hotel room. We appreciated you bringing these issues to our attention immediately and I'm glad we were able to get you into another room that met your expectations. We looked into these concerns at the time, initialized changes in our operating procedure, and are continuing to take the appropriate steps to remedy situations like these in the future.

Sincerely
Danielle Petty
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

On the way home from a trip in the Southwest, we spent a night in Dodge City at the Dodge House Hotel. Though it's an older hotel in need of some updates, it was very clean and our room was so spacious. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the historical pictures and artifacts around the hotel were very interesting. This is a great stop for families -- the pool and game areas allow kids to burn off some energy after a long drive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle P, Manager at Dodge House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Greetings,

Thank You for taking the time to write such an honest review. It was such a pleasure being able to accommodate you and your family during your recent stay. Over the last 6 years we have spent approximately $2 million upgrading the hotel and will continue renovations in the months and years to come. It has been a work in progress and we will continue to work towards that goal in the months and years to come. We are so glad that yo enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!

Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at the Dodge House Hotel and Convention Center checking in on the 15 of April and checking out on the 16 of April. Great stay, nice clean rooms, great staff ment us at the front desk, got us checked in, offered WI-FI with card on how to log in. Great breakfast, lunch and meeting rooms. Could of not had a better stay. Thank you staff of the hotel for making our short mini learning stay so very neat.

Room Tip: We were ask if wanted a non smoking room, ground floor, WI-FI, help with anything. Call and stay at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittypig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle P, Manager at Dodge House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Greetings! It was such a pleasure having you folks stay with us for the recent SWKLS meetings that took place last week. Thank you for taking time to write such a kind review! We hope to see you back in Dodge City again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The night clerk was super rude. We were in town for a funeral so it was family who had not seen each other in ages. The night clerk thought we should be locked down in rooms at 10 pm this is a hotel not ft leavenworth prison we werent even being loud

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conarkerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle P, Manager at Dodge House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank You for taking the time to write a review. We pride ourselves on customer service, and I apologize that you were not as satisfied with our Night Shift Staff during your recent stay. The dome area of the Hotel is closed every evening at 10:00 pm so guests reserved in sleeping rooms that border the dome area are not bothered. We strive to be able to serve everyone, and unfortunately due to some noise complaints we had to ask your group to quiet down. Understanding of your situation and your spending time with loved ones, we offered you a private banquet hall at no cost to your family. If you would like to discuss this matter further please feel free to call me at anytime. I look forward to hearing back from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

the staff was friendly and willing to help. the rooms were clean, nice and roomy. we had 2 queen beds. my dad is 90 and they asked if we wanted a more quiet area which i said yes. so we were on the outer and it was not much of a walk for dad to get to the car. the refrig and micro was nice because i freeze soup and bring to eat when we travel.
the pool area and the family area had lots of space. can even play volleyball indoors. lots of pictures of the gunsmoke cast in their western town. we stayed 2 nights because we wanted one whole day to sightsee. breakfast buffet was good, had french toast pancakes saus biscuits and gravy 2 types of scrambled eggs 2 kinds of fried potatoes or could use your ticket for so much off on a menu item. If we go back we would definitly stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle P, Manager at Dodge House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank You for taking the time to write such a pleasant review. We are all so pleased that you and your father enjoyed your stay. Please, next time you stay ask for the Managers Tour of the place. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Average price, good location just a few blocks from the old town center.
Good facilities, clean well-run and efficient. Bar and restaurant onsite, with a reasonable breakfast. Small indoor swimming pool. Conference faclities. And just across the street from the Doc Holliday Liquor Store, which is a plus.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle P, Manager at Dodge House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank You for your pleasant review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Dodge House and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dodge City hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western North Edge Inn
Best Western North Edge Inn
#1 of 19 in Dodge City
595 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Dodge City
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Country Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Dodge City
TownePlace Suites Dodge City
#6 of 19 in Dodge City
107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Dodge City
Motel 6 Dodge City
#15 of 19 in Dodge City
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#14 of 19 in Dodge City
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodge House Hotel

Address: 2408 W Wyatt Earp Blvd, Dodge City, KS 67801-3003
Region: United States > Kansas > Dodge City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Dodge City
Price Range: £40 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dodge House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dodge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodge City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing