We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Dodge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dodge House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Dodge City
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

There isn't much to say about the hotel. Its old, dirty, and the carpet felt like you were walking on a greasy kitchen carpet. I woudn't go in the shower or walk around in my room without shoes on.

If you have kids the pool area is okay - its really annoying if you don't because almost all the rooms are off the pool area and its usually loud with kids screaming until 10 at night.

Service was okay and the restaurant was average.

  • Liked — Nothing was better than a cheap Holiday Inn
  • Disliked — Dirty and old!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    54
    34
    30
    33
See reviews for
57
55
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2007

They have invested their money in the character of the hotel (we didn't get to check out the saloon). There are lots of western props and artifacts. Our kids loved the place, playing in the pool, or on the central basketball court and rec room.

With that said, there were a few hiccups. Wireless Internet was not available. Breakfast had minimal offerings, and the rooms are in need of repair (there are no elevators, which make it hard for access to rooms on top stories).

Our kids, however, didn't notice these things, and they didn''t care. This is an authentic Dodge City locale. Stay in a chain motel if you can't handle a little grit with your griddlecakes.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Kansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2006

Hotel may have been nice many years ago, but in is bad shape now. Housekeeping was poor, the sheets were dirty, the tub and sink was dirty, the top of the tv cabinet was so dusty you could not tell what type of wood was underneath. The bathroom had dead cockroaches in it. The staff was nice but tried to charge double, and did not speak english well. Poor lighting in the parking lot as most lights were not working, and none of the outside entrances to the hotel were secure all had broken locks.

  • Liked — Close to the rodeo
  • Disliked — Dirty room and poor desk service
  • Tips/Secrets — There are better hotels in the vicinity for less
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Talljhawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dodge City hotels

midwest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2006

My husband and I recently stayed at Dodge House for 3 nights. First, the rooms are not very clean. The layout is a pool, basketball court and lg. party room right across from the rooms. On Sat. night, the kids were still playing basketball after the deadline , right next to our room. Then at 10:30, a LOUD party began with microphone and LOUD music, people yelling, drinking etc. We complained to management 3 X to no avail. We finally called the police for disturbance of the peace and it finally got quiet about 1 A.M. If you want to sleep on a Sat. night, do NOT STAY THERE!

  • Liked — lOCATION IN TOWN
  • Disliked — Party atmosphere when I wanted to sleep
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank azpeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2005

We were surprised how nice Dodge House was since I had read a horrible review.It was the first time we had been to Dodge City.We rode a stagecoach.Then we went on a trolley for an hour,that was fun.We learned alot.The feedlot was amazing,I never seen so many cattle in my life,it must have been at least a half million! The show at the Boothill Museum was so funny.The Marchal Ranch was closed,I really wanted to see it ,but they only open if the have at least 25 guests,so make a reservation so they can open.We went to the chuckwagon dinner at Boothill,and Sally cooks a mean dinner for 9.95 all you can eat.Everything is homemade,great biscuits,brisket,fried potatoes. The Hotel room was superb.Kingsize bed with refrigerator,but best of all was the Hot tub in my room next to the bed.I watched TV and soaked for 2 hours.The pool,whirlpool,ping pong,and video games are in an atrium.They have a karoke bar next to the restaurant.The staff is super.I will go back again.The room was only 107.00 including tax,what a bargain.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank rhonda8858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2005

We found that the management at the Dodge House was eager to promise us all you could ask for in a hotel but when it came time to deliver they fell short on most everything agreed upon. They seemed driven by profit as oppossed to guest satisfaction.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dodge City hotels
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN North Edge Inn
BEST WESTERN North Edge Inn
#1 of 19 in Dodge City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Country Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dodge City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Dodge City
Comfort Suites Dodge City
#4 of 19 in Dodge City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Dodge City
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Dodge City
Travelodge Dodge City
#14 of 19 in Dodge City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodge House Hotel

Property: Dodge House Hotel
Address: 2408 West Wyatt Earp Blvd., Dodge City, KS 67801
Region: United States > Kansas > Dodge City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Dodge City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dodge House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dodge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodge City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing