We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down place in a economically distressed town”
Review of Motel 6 Dodge City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Dodge City
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Dodge City
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
758 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Run down place in a economically distressed town”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We missed our turn on Highway 54 at Mullinville, Kansas. So we decided to continue on to Dodge City because; 1. according the map it was the biggest town within an hour drive, and 2. Dodge City is a town out of TV westerns. When we found the Days Inn (looked the best of a few choices in the motel strip) the first thing we saw was the sticker on the front door that said, "get out of Dodge" with a picture of a cowboy. Ominous sign no less. Inside the lobby were two people who looked like they hadn't slept in a few days. One behind the counter and the other stretched across a sofa. They were pleasant enough to us and we got our room promptly. The place indeed was pretty run down and appeared not to have had any maintenance done in several years. Our room was pretty big on the 2nd floor but had peeling paint and the furnishings were badly worn. The ceiling looked like there was a roof leak with stains. It was a cold night so we had to use the heater which turned on and off every five minutes no matter what we set it at. It was so noisy that I couldn't get a restful sleep. If we turned it off completely it got cold very quickly in the room. The parking lot was ice covered. The included breakfast was what I would call crappy. The only saving grace for our brief visit to Dodge City was the wonderful dinner we had at the Thai restaurant (reviewed separately on TA) a short walk away.

Room Tip: I don't see a good choice in staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltheworld012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    30
    41
    32
    37
See reviews for
58
41
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nortonville
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I was not very pleased with our stay.
The room had a funky smell.
The towels also had that smell.
All the brochures and other information
Was dog-eared. We have decided not to stay at a Days Inn anywhere

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dodge City hotels

Twin Lakes, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have stayed at this motel a fews years ago and it needed some work but it was tolerable. However, when we stayed this time, it was terrible. The first room we looked at had trash on the floor as you enter the door and smelled of smoke even though it was supposed to be non smoking. The second room was a little better but not much. We had requested a ground floor room but there was only one available and that was an accessible room which we did not need. The outside stairs were filthy with debris all over them. You did not want to touch anything in the room as everything was dirty including the carpets. There needs to be a lot of work done at this property. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queen313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagosa Springs
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The fabric on chair was filthy. The sheet was dirty, and one out of the three replacements was dirty. I had to help make the bed. The dead bolt didn't line up with the hole in the casing, and didn't work. Someone was using a charcoal grill at the entrance to our wing of the complex, and the smoke blew into the corridor. When I reported it, the clerk said that she would go over later. Debris had blown into the corridor, and the carpet was soiled. The swimming pool needed cleaning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dodge City hotels
0.7 mi away
Dodge House Hotel
Dodge House Hotel
#12 of 19 in Dodge City
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knights Inn Dodge City
Knights Inn Dodge City
#14 of 19 in Dodge City
17 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dodge City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Dodge City
Travelodge Dodge City
#15 of 19 in Dodge City
195 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nendels Inn and Suites
Nendels Inn and Suites
#11 of 19 in Dodge City
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Country Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Dodge City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Dodge City

Property: Motel 6 Dodge City
Address: 1610 W. Wyatt Earp Blvd., Dodge City, KS 67801 (Formerly Days Inn Dodge City)
Region: United States > Kansas > Dodge City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Dodge City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Motel 6 Dodge City 1*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Motel 6 location is independently owned and operated under a Franchise Agreement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Dodge City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodge City Days Inn
Dodge City Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Dodge City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing