We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still nice & new”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Emporia
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still nice & new”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Daughter, her friend & I were coming to ESU for Saturday a.m. Weather looked questionable, so I decided that we would stay Friday night. So glad we stayed here! The place is nice & clean, choice of soft and firm pillows in the room. Amenities in the room were not the normal cheap stuff you normally find. The continental breakfast was nice - I'm not a breakfast eater (juice & toast), but the girls got full. The only con I can find was that the bed was too hard (& I like a firm bed). I plan staying here again once the kid moves to Emporia.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor (next to the parking lot) near the street and never heard any traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeS66046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    30
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
26
18
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Clean. Very nice desk clerks. Walking distance to several restaurants. Nice pool. Typical, less-than-average-tasting breakfast. Very disappointed the web site said one price and the hotel wanted to charge us more than $20 more and finally compromised on $10 more.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslee49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

this place was not as awful as some of the reviews.
It has just been bought by another hotel chain . I forget which one. The room was clean and very inexpensive. The breakfast was poor unless you just wanted pastries . The scrambled eggs were really bad.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

This Holiday Inn Express us the worst one I have stayed in. I am a Platinum club member. So, I travel quite a bit.

The lobby was dirty. This should have been my first clue as to the room condition. They cleaned it up some.

I should have moved straight away, but didn't. I won't make the same mistake again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Velohog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Emporia hotels

Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This us not a good place to stay. We booked the hotel while driving through Missouri. It was quite late when we pulled in or we might have just looked for something else.

It was fully booked.

The trash cans just outside the door as you entered were full and running over. I had to wait quite some time for someone to check me in and then the bottom of the bathtub looked as though it had rust stains in it. I would have complained had it not been late and this was the last room

Breakfast was not bad, but will keep looking next time.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank don7614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear don7614,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our first room was supposed to be a two room suit. It was not a two room just a large one room with a sofa. Plus it wreaked of smoke. They moved us two another room but in the middle of the night we realized the just air setting was broke and it got very humid and uncomfortable. We stuck it out, I was just to darn tired to move again. The bathroom had a bad urine smell. I will not be visiting this hotel ever again. I wish Emporia had a higher end hotel too make our visits to Emporia State nicer.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first, check air conditioner plus fresh air setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dspind01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear dspind01,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this property for many reasons. It had the quality we expect from the Holiday Inn chain, priced right, great location off the interstate and many good restaurants very close by. The front desk staff was friendly and the breakfast not too bad either. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. We would stay there again if in the area or just passing through.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jth3309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Emporia hotels
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Emporia
0.1 mi away
Emporia Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Emporia Northwest
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Emporia
Comfort Inn Emporia
#4 of 15 in Emporia
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Emporia
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 15 in Emporia
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn Emporia
Knights Inn Emporia
#15 of 15 in Emporia
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 2921 W 18th Ave, Emporia, KS 66801-6198 (Formerly Flint Hill Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Emporia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Emporia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Emporia Hotel Emporia
Holiday Inn Emporia
Emporia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing