We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Chinese Restaurant”
Review of House of MA

House of MA
Ranked #49 of 85 Restaurants in Emporia
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great Chinese Restaurant”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The restaurant needs updated and remodeled but the food is excellent! The staff are very attentive and you get a lot of food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luv2gohike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Well worth getting off interstate!”
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Kung Po Chicken is making my ears burn. Hubby had sizzling soup which was so good I wanted to cry. If you're hungry, don't let the strip mall setting fool you. This is some GOOD food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2653adele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but tasty and friendly.”
Reviewed 26 December 2012


The wait staff is always helpful and friendly when we visit and we are allowed to make substitutions in our combo dinner meals until they are just right (without any complaint or comment - just a smile and an "of course").

I ALWAYS get one of the combo meals either number 1 or number 3... I just love the pork chow mein. My mom says that the lo mein is the best in town - I am not big on lo mein, so I take her word for it.

House of Ma is lacking in atmosphere - the seating is outdated, the lights are a bit dingy, and it feels a bit "empty"...

BUT don't discount it before sitting down and ordering some food; you'll be glad you stayed.


Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank katlover86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food Outside of China”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I am a native of Emporia who now resides in Shanghai; although I live there, I always look forward to coming home and eating absolutely delicious Chinese food. Try the egg rolls and beef wrapped in foil as an appetizer, and really give the seafood a try. The service is great, and this is an Emporia landmark. The original restaurant was downtown, where Bobby D's is now located; it was known then as New China Restaurant. You can eat "normal" Chinese food, or you can head to House of Ma and having something really special.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elsalvaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, Great prices.......”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Probably the better of chinese food for the emporia area. Really good food.....

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Quilabichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House of MA also viewed

 

Been to House of MA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing