We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Budget Host Inn Emporia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
35
22
7
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
22
7
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleangreat pricingwould definitely stay here againice machinewi finon smokingin townfridgeshowersleepmoteltvinterstatecablepetconditionclerk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My minumum expectations for lodging include: clean, quiet, comfortable bed, good plumbing, lots of hot water, upkeep of the property. All of these were met by the Budget Host Inn. Plus, they have Turner Classic Movies on cable, always a treat for me.

And at a room rate under $40/night, you can't beat it.

If there's one negative, it's that the bath towels were a little small. But they were newer, quite fluffy and effective. So a very minor quibble, really. Also, the motel is on the east side of town, and there's not much around by way of eateries. But Emporia is a pretty small town; everything's within about a five-minute drive.

Now you won't be staying at a fancy place--this is basic accommodation--but as it goes, you won't do any better. I would definitely stay here again, and hope to do so soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ScottRLucado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npatel0317, Manager at Budget Host Inn Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise and Thank you for taking time to express your experience.
We really appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us, Hope to see you soon

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here one night. The room was clean and quiet.It was a great price and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aubrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npatel0317, Manager at Budget Host Inn Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise and Thank you for taking time to express your experience.
We really appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us, Hope to see you soon

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I am currently walking across America as a means of raising money for charity. When I cam through Emporia, I stayed at the Budget Host, and what a great call! Located outside the hustle and bustle, but within reach of everything (even walking), the hotel was a nice respite from the grind of walking all day through the city. The service was excellent, and Nick and the entire staff were friendly and spot-on. I'll be staying here again next time through (preferably with a car).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npatel0317, Manager at Budget Host Inn Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise and Thank you for taking time to express your experience.
We really appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us, Hope to see you soon

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We decided to stay here after reading the reviews. This is a great place if you are traveling on I-35 and just need a place to stay for the night that is budget friendly. Their price was significantly less than other budget hotels in Emporia.

The rooms were way out of date, almost to the point they were retro and kind of fun (our tub and toilet were baby blue with a really interesting hand-laid tile floor). But the rooms were CLEAN, smelled fresh, and were welcoming after a long day on the road.

Our room also had a mini fridge and microwave and being a motel it was nice to park directly outside your room. Owners were polite. Beds were comfortable, and while we heard the trains the sound was not loud enough to be bothersome. We will be back on our next I-35 trip!

Room Tip: call for price, we got a bit better rate calling in than online.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank herd_of_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npatel0317, Manager at Budget Host Inn Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise and Thank you for taking time to express your experience.
We really appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us, Hope to see you soon

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Room was oversized with lot of space and it was very clean! I did not find a single crumb of food or anything on sides. "Dont judge a book by its cover" Dont let old style exterior scare you, rooms are LOT better then looks outside. It Seemed like hotel was under renovation with new AC units, furniture, paint, bed spreads, high quality bed sheets, TV, Roof. Room and Rates were VERY reasonable compare to other hotels I looked at. There are restaurants within 1-3miles from motel. Room had 3beds in a room which helped us and our kids get good night sleep.

Location was very quiet and we all got good night sleep during softball weekend! Family who owns the place were very friendly when we asked for extra towels, we got them delivered to our room within minute with a big smile.

Stayed while son was playing softball during weekend.
We will be back Patel family!

Room Tip: AC cools the room fast so choose the right settings
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff-BJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npatel0317, Manager at Budget Host Inn Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise and Thank you for taking time to express your experience.
We really appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us, Hope to see you soon

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews