We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Spring or Autumn, it's Beautiful!

I brought 6 students here in winter and again in Spring to experience an outdoor "museum." They... read more

Reviewed 2 December 2018
Pamela G
,
Athens, Greece
Exciting ride

Driving through forests and mountains, finally got there and the reward was great. Observed the... read more

Reviewed 27 October 2018
redman5314
,
Egaleo, Greece
Read all 66 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Troodos
from US$75.00
More Info
from US$41.54
More Info
from US$86.53
More Info
from US$43.84
More Info
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
33
26
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
26
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water features trees and plants opening hours small waterfall well worth a visit forestry department by chance an excursion leventis frogs foundation asbestos toilets flora centre nature cyprus
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We drove up the Troodos mountains from Limassol and down into Nicosia on the route back. This gave us amazing views from such a height. The tops were dusted with snow and it was raining lightly. Our aim was to visit the final resting place of Archbishop Makarios. He is buried in a tomb just passed the Kykkos Monastry. It is not a real tourist destination, but my first visit to Cyprus was in 1977 a couple of days before the great man died. The whole of Cyprus went into a state of mourning with the body laying in State. I have memories of my mum visiting his body.
Since my last visit to Cyprus ten years ago, there seems to be some development taking place on route to the grave. They have transferred his large statue that was at the museum of his name in Nicosia up to his grave. The path leading up, now has beautiful coloured mosaics of the saints on route up. The is also evidence of more works taking place, as areas were cordoned off.
The grave is guarded by Greek soldiers who are armed. I don't know why. Most people visiting I can only imagine is to pay their respects to such a great man, who influenced the Cypriot men and women.
It makes me wonder if I ever had the choice where I would be buried, I would probably choose the spot where the Archbishop is buried, cause the views are amazing.

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank 548angelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews