We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace & Tranquility”
other travellers have booked this property
Mill Cottage, view across mill pond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Cottage, view across mill pond
private sun terrace Lounge / Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Mill Cottage, view across mill pond
private sun terrace
Lounge / Dining room
Kitchen
Magnolia in back garden, flowering beside the stream
Charlie waiting to go out in the field
Charlie and Danny
our sheep are very friendly
we sometimes have delicious eggs for sale
the duck pond in our orchard
our dogs
Canada Geese and their ducklings visit our Mill Pond
jetty on to mill leat
us, from the end of our lane
the village pub
River Avon
Aveton Gifford village church
Kingsbridge town square
Kingsbridge estuary
Thurlestone Sands
Avon Estuary Walk in Spring
view of River Avon from the Avon Estuary Walk
River Avon tidal road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Aveton Gifford, Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Shirley25...
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace & Tranquility”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our second visit to Marsh Mills and we were not disappointed. It is a perfect location for us as we enjoy either relaxing in the Cottage or walking down the nearby tidal road. Kingsbridge and Salcombe are nearby and they are always worth visiting.
Maggie and John are perfect hosts and always make you feel very welcome. We came away very relaxed and happy and have already booked for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr. David...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scenic, Relaxing, Cosy & Recommended.”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Mill Cottage for a week from 18th July 2015. An absolutely beautiful & delightful place to stay. We didn't meet the owners as they were on holiday.....their friends looking after everything were lovely and very helpful. It is very dog friendly and my wife, our dog and I had a very relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlanney
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing location”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at Mill Cottage from the 10th to 17th of October. The cottage is perfectly positioned to access plenty of stunning beaches and and fantastic walks and is an ideal base to explore South Devon. The cottage itself is in a stunning location right on a Mill Leat on the owners beautiful small holding with chickens, ducks, doves, sheep, two friendly donkeys and beehives.We even got to see the Kingfisher that frequents the leat! The hosts Maggie and John are very welcoming and a font of information for the best places to visit. The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped. We were on holiday with our dog and found South Devon to be very Dog friendly. Highly recommend nearby Bantham Beach and a visit to the Gastrobus which serves fantastic food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful, peaceful location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salKent
Brook, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We wanted somewhere nice and quite as I was recovering from a stay in hospital. Well we sure found it at Mill Cottage. Maggie and John are the perfect hosts there if you want a chat gave information about the best places to go. My husband was in his element fishing right outside the front door. There is a pub at the end of the little lane, it is ok. We had a wonderful meal at The Winking Prawn north sands in Salcome the most wonderful fish restaurant.
We had such a fantastic time we intend to go back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing to not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G
1 review
“Far exceeded our expectations.”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We arrived on Saturday 15th August 2015 and were warmly greeted by both Maggie and John. The cottage nestled directly against the leat and on a hot summers day was an absolute delight to see.
The interior of the cottage was larger than we imagined and was pristine with warmth and rural charm and afforded all of the interior furnishings from a marvelous fan assisted oven through to Sky TV/DVD.
The balcony was a lovely seated area to watch and listen to the water flowing back and forth into the leat with view of Mullet, Bass and small Trout.
The grounds of the small holding were colourful and maintained to a very high standard with an array of various trees, plants and shrubs.
Animals are an important part of the farm and are lovingly cared for by both Maggie and John and include Rams, Donkeys, Sheep, Ducks, Geese, Chickens, Bees and Doves.
There is also a resident Kingfisher who flits over the leat especially during the early morning.
We spent a lot of the time at the cottage and didn't feel the need to travel further afield. It was such a beautiful and tranquil spot.
John and Maggie were the perfect hosts. They didn't intrude and made our stay more than welcome. John gave excellent advice and guidance on fishing techniques in the leat and paid dividends enabling me to catch a Bass on the last day of our holiday.
This was indeed a holiday to remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The leat and animals
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Marsh Mills”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from a two week break at Marsh Mills. It was delightful. The cottage is clean, roomy and well maintained. The facilities are good and the owners, Maggie and John, were always on hand if we required anything. Nothing was too much for them. Marsh Mills itself is idyllic. If you are looking for a peaceful retreat within a five minute walk of a welcoming pub and a convenient local shop/post office, Marsh Mills is perfect. There are two donkeys and two rams each of whom is addicted to ginger nut biscuits! You’ll also see sheep, hens, doves and fish. We caught sight of a kingfisher on more than one occasion. The nearby estuary draws in swans, egrets and cormorants amongst other wildlife and there is a tidal road to walk along. Kingsbridge is less than fifteen minutes away by car and is served by the 93 bus, which will also take you as far as Plymouth or Dartmouth. Bigbury-on-Sea, Burgh Island, Banthem Sands and Salcombe are within easy reach and certainly worth visiting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and the surrounding nature
Liked least: The beds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarretts8
Blaenau Gwent, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful retreat”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

An ideal base for travelling around South Devon. The grounds to the property are absolutely fabulous and an animal / wildlife lovers dream. Also a great location if you have dogs as most of the local pubs accept dogs, and are very welcoming.
The cottage itself is comfortable but a little dated, however it has everything you could need for a self catering holiday. We had a great week with plenty of walks and discovered lots of deserted, sandy coves. An ideal place for de-stressing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds to the property
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing