We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a unique place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wood Pigeon Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raurimu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wood Pigeon Lodge
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a unique place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our family of four stayed at 'The Barn' for only two nights, but it felt like much longer. Compared to staying at virtually any other type of accommodation, this provided more fun and uniqueness than we could have imagined. Rustic and simple, yet exceptionally well stocked with what you need. Washer, 'crank it up' style drying rack in the open area by the upper loft, wood burning stove, room for at least 10 people to sleep, and an intriguing story to learn of how the place came to be. Tim was a tremendous host (the main house on the property is a few hundred meters away from the barn). The kids could not get enough of wandering the fields with the cows and the sheep. We also had a quick look at the Hut (similar feel, but much smaller), and the Tree House - the only structure of the three that was built from scratch to be accommodation (it is virtually self sufficient with wind and solar power, and all three structures get their water from rain). Pick one of the three, and go for it if you are planning any activities in the National Park - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Definitely 6 out of 5 points! This Tree House is located on top of a hill, overlooking the forest. Apart from the exceptional views (Mount Ruhapehu) the design is modern, the layout so fine that one can imagine being isolated for several days without becoming bored. We immediately loved this place! At a clear night you can see the milky way with the naked eye - stargazing in the most romantic way... The house is mainly on wind and solar energy, so the days were also environmentally friendly. Last but not least, the host Tim gave us some stories of the building. Thank you, Tim and Ewan, for giving this place to your visitors! We will try to come back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Menno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights at The Treehouse last week and had a great time soaking in the magnificent views of Mt Doom and Mt Ruapehu from our verandah. Completely quiet at night and the sky was amazingly clear, nothing but the moon and stars.
The house is very modern and ecofriendly (no microwave or clothes dryer), equipped with a stone oven that requires firewood to work. Great to get away from modern city living. Shower with high pressure and washing machine (which requires a generator to work) included. Beds very comfortable and children had a blast staying in the loft.
Tim was great, even showed a a bush walk trail that led to the river; taught us how to differentiate the silver fern from other more commonly found ferns in New Zealand. Best place to stay if one plans to do the rafting trip in Turangi, which is not far away.

Room Tip: this is their newest accommodation; the hut and the barn also available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikaomarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We are a family of four with girls 9 and 12 and stayed in the Tree House for four nights. It was well-equipped, clean and has beautiful views. It's near Tongariro National Park with lots of great hikes. We would definitely stay here again. The owners are lovely people and on top of details. The only room for possible improvement would be a better wifi situation and shades in the loft for sleeping (though there are good shades in the master bedroom). But again overall we were very happy with the place. If you go be sure to hire Sarah Cate to take you rafting or hiking.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jolly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Set amidst a small sheep and cattle farm just outside the Tongariro National Park, Wood Pigeon Lodge is a lovely place to stay. We stayed one night in the Tree House and two nights in The Hut. Though very different from each other, both accommodations were very charming. The Tree House is more luxurious and very secluded. It offers a great view and has fantastic bay windows - excellent for just chilling and reading a book.

The Hut is more rustic but equally cozy. Overlooking the paddocks and - more important - the Ruapehu, Ngauruhoe and Tongariro volcano range. In addition to a regular bathroom, it also features a "bush bath", an outside bathtub in the bush, which we enjoyed after we had done the Tongariro Crossing. What an experience!

Tim, the landlord, was extremely nice and helpful and bakes great rhubarb muffins!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbugHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the Barn in February, so we had plenty of space! The setting is wonderfully peaceful, and a short stroll provides amazing views of the Tongariro volcanoes. The Barn has everything you could need. We loved the decoration, which showed great taste and attention to detail (see photos on the website). Tim was a great host, providing loads of information, and organising our travel for the part of the Tongariro Crossing which was open (a must-do walk!). Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Eleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

The Tree House at Wood Pigeon Lodge is really an architectural beauty with spectacular views and complete privacy. The cabin is perched on a wooded hill close to Tongariro National Park with views of all three volcanoes. Despite the absolute quiet and isolation it is easy to find and handy to the park, making it an ideal base for the Alpine Crossing. We also stayed at the Hut and although both are wonderful they are entirely different. The Tree House is separated from the other buildings at Wood Pigeon by a short drive or walk, is new and classically beautiful and not as quirky as the Hut and the Barn. Tim and Ewan have found the perfect balance between helpfulness and unobtrusiveness and have created a really magical escape.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raurimu
19.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
9.3 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
4.0 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
4.0 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tongariro Crossing Lodge
Tongariro Crossing Lodge
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood Pigeon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Pigeon Lodge

Property: Wood Pigeon Lodge
Address: 130 Top Mill Road, Raurimu 3989, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Raurimu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Raurimu
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hut at Wood Pigeon Lodge allows you the chance to stay at a romantic rural retreat where no other offers the same. You have views of the Tongariro World Heritage area and the Tongariro Alpine Crossing from your windows at a location away from the noise of a busy tourist village. A cosy fire treats you on a cool night and the views offers NZ at its best. My promise is that you wont be disappointed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing