We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and clean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penclawdd
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Manse B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Penclawdd B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My boyfriend and I have just come back from a little trip to Gower and stayed at the Old Manse. Cathy who welcomed us was lovely and made us feel at home. She offered us tea and would randomly offer us cookies or cake throughout the stay.
We had the ensuite room, which was clean and comfortable. The location is fine, the rest of Gower is easily accessible and the area is quiet. Not the best perhaps if you want something very close to the beach as the coast in that area is mostly marshes. But otherwise, totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tianabrown T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieB01792, Owner at The Old Manse B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2014

Thank you for your kind words.
You are right, nothing is very far away on Gower ! The marsh fascinates me more, the longer I live here too. I look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very welcoming host, Catherine, for a small B&B in Penclawdd. Easy access to all the Gower and to the westbound M4 for trips to The National Botanic Garden, Tenby, Laugharne, Aberglasny.
Comfortable room with very large private bathroom across the hall (this wasn't a problem) lovely bath, separate shower and plenty of space.
Lovely homemade jams at breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

we stayed here for a couple of days, a warm welcome from the very engaging owner Katie, who has several rooms to let, plenty of room, comfortable and very adequate accommodation. The Old Manse is well sited for getting to all parts of the Gower Peninsular , close to Swansea and it has good views over the estuary

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Katie was a wonderful host and made us feel so welcome. The rooms were lovely and clean with modern furnishings and the cooked breakfast was amazing with good selection of other options also. We all had a great stay and would definitely return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank sw6123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at The Old Manse House as we had a family surprise Birthday party in Swansea. I had contacted Katie to let her know that it would be late when we got there and she waited up for us. I had spoken to Katie over the phone on numerous times when I made the booking and on only speaking to Katie I felt that I already knew her. Katie is very welcoming and a warm person. Her cooked breakfast was lovely and with catering for different diets nothing was too much for her. Our room was lovely and we had a peaceful nights sleep. Katie has a lovely B&B and we would definitely stay there again and as it is within easy reach to the Gower Peninsula which is breathtaking!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tarlochan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Although we live only an hour away, we stayed at The Old Manse to attend a concert in the local church. The B&B is super, in a very convenient location to do lots of exploring, and Katie is a lovely, attentive, very accommodating host. The homemade cookies and jams were delicious, as was the cooked breakfast! Our room was perfect and had everything we needed and we were very impressed with the spacious bathroom. Would definitely go back if we were over that way again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank A_A120714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My brother in law and I stayed with Katie Brown at the Old Manse, over the weekend of the 21st and 22nd June this year. Katie is a warm and charming host, thoughtful, extremely generous with her time and indeed everything that she does. The Old Manse is an excellent base from which to explore the beautiful Gower Peninsula and Katie's extensive and enthusiastic local knowledge really helped us to get the best from our short visit. I would encourage anyone - families, friends, solo travellers, to stay at the Old Manse for a really comfortable, happy stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Manse B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse B & B

Address: The Old Manse West End | Penclawdd, Penclawdd, Swansea SA4 3YX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Penclawdd
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Penclawdd
Price Range: £40 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful house to stay in, with beautiful food, in a beautiful area. Peaceful position, overlooking an estuary; well back from road with plenty of private gated parking. Comfortable bedrooms, private bathroom or ensuite. Full breakfast, vegetarian and healthy options, hospitality tray with homemade biscuits. Free Wi–Fi access, flat screen tvs. Non-smoking establishment. The Gower peninsula has gorgeous scenery and beaches, and Penclawdd is only 10 minutes from the M4. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing