We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage would come here again”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunset at the estuary opposite the cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset at the estuary opposite the cottage.
Living Area with Log Burner Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Sunset at the estuary opposite the cottage.
Living Area with Log Burner
Living Area
Lounge Area
Log burner for cosy winter evenings by the fire
Kitchen
Dining Table
Welcome on Board
Dining Area
Master Bedroom
Twin Beds
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Back Yard
Location of cottage
From the front, near Cariad Cafe and The Roma.
A view from distance showing location to waterfront..
Marsh ponies (250 yards)
Low tide on the estuary (100 yards)
Boats and horses
Loughor Estuary (just across the road, 200 yds)
Penclawdd's famous blue boats
Hide tide with reflections
Go see Arthur's stone which was a tourist attraction in the Dark Ages.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Penclawdd, Swansea, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julia S
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage would come here again”
Reviewed 18 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Warm modern pleasantly furnished and clean cottage. Mostly well equipped but could do with tiny improvements. Well situated next to a chip shop, parking across the busy road and round the corner from supermarket. Within easy reach of swansea. Perfect for a relaxing break with or without your dogs.

Kitchen was fairly well equipped but could have done with more baking sheets for the people that enjoy cooking. Think a tumble drier and a dishwasher would also make it perfect, if you want perfect from a holiday kitchen. Tumble dryer would certainly help with how many clothes to bring. However, there is a launderette thirteen minutes drive away.

Two bedrooms with heavenly beds and a large bathroom upstairs. Main bedroom could have done with a small dressing table and wardrobe but would have been pushed for room re the wardrobe.

Downstairs nicely furnished but one chair seemed to sink in need of looking at (right hand side of two seater) so therefore quite worn. Dvd seemed to make buzzing noise in background of playing DVDs. Generous amount of DVDs left for guests amusement. House was warm with radiators and wood burner available for the adventurous to use; however, we didn't use this.

House overall was spacious, downstairs being bigger than upstairs and lots of things in the cottage for amusements including guitars which was unusual to find. All very thoughtful. Local leaflets and information as well as book about the property explaining things and local attractions; also very thoughtful by owners.

Basics left in kitchen, tea, coffee, milk and wine. Most thoughtful.

Yard small and gravelled. As many areas of Wales no black bin, but black bags put out the back on a Friday were not attacked by wandering animals.

Cafe few doors away plus chip shop next door helps with the catering somewhat. Dogs were happy even if cottage on main thoroughfare was pretty quiet and sleep easy to do with no disturbances.

Price of cottage for time of year was probably a bit expensive. Communication of owner Adam frequent and quick and attentive. Did ask me if I wanted to cancel TWICE before we came, on me asking questions; this was a little bit off putting as they do have a moderate cancellation policy which means that mostly if you do cancel then you lose a lot of money. I know business is business but why ask twice ...hmm...apart from that and the high standard of accommodation and thoughtfulness of things left for use of guests in cottage I have scored a four out of five. Just a few bits to iron out and I would have deemed this a five...So overall a good stay and well recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2018
Thank you Julia for your kind review. I'm really pleased you would stay again. Sorry about the misunderstanding in relation to the offer to cancel. One of the reason's we offered to cancel was because you asked a number of questions and as some of the things you asked for were not available we wanted to offer you the option to cancel rather than see you disappointed. We would have been happy to offer you a full refund. Sorry if his was not clear. We will take on board your feedback as we value guest views and are always striving to improve. I would point out that the upstairs bedroom has a walk in wardrobe adjacent to the door. We've had compliments about the well stocked kitchen and will be sure to leave more baking sheets in future. We also like to think we are reasonably priced and regularly check prices in the area to compare. We think the charge to your party of what worked out at £10 per head per night and included your dogs was very reasonable. Best wishes Adam.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ6764
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 7 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Located next to the estuary and some lovely views, and with easy access to all Gower has to offer. Unfortunately the pub across the road is currently closed but there is a great chippy, Indian takeaway and a lovely café all very close by...and we sampled all three! There is a friendly local pub within a 10 minute stroll with great beer but no food. The cottage is cosy, spacious, spotlessly clean and has everything you might need during your stay. We would definitely return.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniada...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You must, must visit . .”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Cockle Shell Cottage, the location of Penclawdd, and of course the wonderful landlord and landlady exceeded ALL our expectations.

Beautiful very spacious cottage with a wonderful homely atmosphere. Great for us and our teenagers and dog! Penclawdd a very friendly and warm community. Local people all ages, but all as lovely and considerate as eachother towards us.

The Railway Inn across the road and the superb chip shop and pharmacy both next door, and of course the supermarket round the corner always deliver very high standards of very polite service and care. The bus service for easy access to Swansea and Cardiff great also.

Last but not least, the landlord and landlady very supportive and approachable before, during and after our stay.

WE ARE GOING BACK!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie R
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect little bolt hole”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a few days in half term. Whilst the cottage doesn't look much on the outside and is situated on a busy road, we were pleasantly surprised.

Nicely furnished, very clean, lovely welcome tray. The whole cottage has been very thoughtfully furnished and is very comfortable. You can't hear the road, good amenities within walking distance (good pub opposite, great cafe for breakfast two doors down, fish and chips next door!) and well placed for sightseeing locally. We also took our dog and whilst there is no garden, you only need to cross the road to access the estuary walk.

All in all, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimandeff...
Tavira, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely spot in the Gower”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful holiday spot. The bay comes in just outside the front door; there is a wonderful restaurant across the street; a fish and chip shop next door has a lively business; a block away the grocery store supplies the village with all the necessities; lots of walking trails (or walkways) exercise your muscles. We hired a car and travelled to surrounding beaches and scenic towns. We kept the car for four days, then we concentrated on getting ready for London to end our holidays.
Our host and hostess were exceedingly helpful. We had come from Portugal and were out of communication for a full day, so we did not get their final emails. But the people in the Gower could not have been more helpful. They joined in the search for the Cockle Shell and eventually we all found it--much to our relief. After we got in, we had a splendid steak dinner at The Railway Inn.
Thank you, Adam and Ennir for a delightful experience, You live in a glorious place, and no doubt your presence and demeanor adds to its enchantment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Thank you Jim & Effie for such positive feedback, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your 10 day break in the Gower - it was a pleasure to meet you. We hope you had a safe journey home.
Take care
Adam & Einir
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funkyowl
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Nice cottage clean & cosy, lovely welcome pack. Village is more residential than holiday, however close to everything on the Gower and Swansea. Lots of places to eat and chippy next door is handy ;-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
Thank you Charlotte for your positive feedback, we are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Take care,
Adam.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing