We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and Nostalgia”

Sunnyland Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garden City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunnyland Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Garden City B&B and Inns
Usa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Charm and Nostalgia”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Our bedroom, the breakfast, and the house itself was wonderful. The owners are nice and friendly. We stayed in "Matthew" on the second floor, certainly a unique large room with a view. Less expensive than a B&B we considered in Dodge City, but we could not have had a better experience! Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank revgmb4689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden City Kansas, USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This place is used for parties, graduations, reunions, and showers. It is a fun, little out of the ordinary, turn of the century building. The owners take a lot of pride in it and really make everyone's experience a great one. The food they serve is amazing and all homemade and the rooms are a comfortable mix of quaint to fancy. The prices are very reasonable for the quality.

Room Tip: The room in the ballroom has lots of room and also a round bed. A fun experience but a little noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was a delightful stay in August. Fresh coffee delivered to your door before breakfast, if you like. Very nice innkeepers who are Christian but open to those of different beliefs and gentle in their approach to religion, with perhaps only a quiet, "pray," said. A lovely room on the first floor is available, well equipped with hair dryer and other amenities.

Room Tip: Swimming pool is only a few blocks away. For those who wish to avoid stairs, the Titanic themed roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne62704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I was returning to the Kansas City area from Telluride, CO on a motorcycle trip by myself. Got to Garden City but all hotel rooms were sold out due to a baseball tournament. Fortunately the hotel clerk contacted a B&B for me and they had one room available. I spent th night at the Sunnyland B&B owned and operated by Fred and Kathryn Askren. I was very fortunate. What a beautiful old house taht has been well maintained in historical fashion and Kathryn has decorated it very nicely with many special personal touches. The hosts were great people and very accomodating. Tailored a breakfast just for me as I am wheat-free and do not eat eggs. Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, CO
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Fred and Kathryn are the ultimate hosts. My last trip was solo, but my husband and I have stayed at this elegant and immaculate B&B many times. We have traveled very extensively and have yet to stay anywhere else that is so elegant for such a reasonable price. Breakfasts are unforgettable as well; Kathryn is the ultimate artist and creates a new centerpiece for every season. Both Fred and Kathryn always go out of their way to make sure your stay is as pleasant as possible. You won't find anything better than Sunnyland--especially at these more-than-fair rates!

Room Tip: If you need two beds for your stay, you might want to try Ecclesiastes. Very cheerful room as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I recently stayed for three days at Sunnyland, in the Ecclesiastes room. The beds were very comfortable and the room was immaculately clean. Sunnyland is easy walking distance from the Amtrak station (three blocks) and downtown ( two blocks). Breakfast was delicious and each day the menu changed. Everything was homemade and yummy. We liked the breakfast so much, we asked if we could bring our friends to breakfast on the last day. The owners, Kathryn and Fred, graciously agreed, and for a reasonable fee, our friends got to enjoy breakfast at Sunnyland too. Sunnyland does allow for a limited number of extended stay guests ( three to six months), for those people coming to Garden City for internships or looking for a house to purchase. Sunnyland also offers luncheons or dinners with advanced reservations for groups of eight or more people. It is located right next to the hospital, as well. We had a wonderful time at Sunnyland and felt it was a great value ( less expensive than most hotels in Garden City). Highly recommend!!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay at Sunnyland. The room was immaculate. We stayed in the Ecclesiastes room, and both beds were bery comfortable The food was delicious, especially the warmed banana compote, which was heavenly. Upon check in, the owners, Kathryn and Fred, were very accommodating and professional. We were so pleased with our experience overall and would highly recommend Sunnyland. We arrived on the Amtrak train, which is a short, walkable distance away. Sunnyland is next to the hospital and easy walking distance to the downtown shops.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garden City hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Garden City
Clarion Inn Garden City
#4 of 16 in Garden City
170 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Heritage Inn & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 16 in Garden City
102 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Garden City
Hampton Inn Garden City
#2 of 16 in Garden City
284 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Garden City
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyland Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyland Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sunnyland Bed and Breakfast
Address: 501 N. 5th Street, Garden City, KS 67846-5633
Region: United States > Kansas > Garden City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing