We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Newest in Town, But I've Stayed in Worse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Sunflower Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Garden City
Reviewed 10 August 2009

I spent two comfortable nights in the Rodeway Wheat Lands. The property is a little older and maybe nothing special, but it was clean and comfortable and everything worked. One caveat: they DO have high speed Internet, but it isn't wireless so bring a network cable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReplacedKansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2009

Older motel yet quite clean. Walls are indeed thin. Comp breakfast was fair. Compared to other costly choices in this town it was a good choice and I will return.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

I was in town for a dog show. The room seemed to be clean and it was close to the fairgrounds. Other than that, it had problems.

The walls were extraordinarily thin, and concrete. I had a headboard banger with a screamer in one room and a group of people in another room who not only talked so loudly I could tell you details of their conversation, but they also left their tv on all night. This was after I arrived late (2 am) after a very long drive, and having a very early ring time. The second night wasn't bad and was relatively quiet.

My plumbing didn't drip, in fact, the shower head looked rather new. There was a step just outside the room that I hadn't noticed at the aforementioned 2 in the morning. The first morning to let the dog out I took quite a tumble and have screwed my knees up.

They say they have high speed internet, which is true, however, it is on the opposite side of the room from the desk so it was not very useful.

I asked for a 6:30 wakeup call and thankfully I set some backups because my phone rang at 7:30. They hadn't accounted for daylight savings.

The staff was friendly and as I said the room was clean and very close the fairgrounds, though in a very questionable neighborhood. It was also cheap, but next time, I may spend a few extra dollars and stay at the other Best Western.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank siochainDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2007

Nice pool, very relaxed atmospere. It seemed that the newer Best Western a little farther out of town was the higher priority of the chain. But the room was clean and the other guests were quiet and considerate. Breakfast was very good and was included with the room rate. Sadly like many towns on the Great Plains many surrounding businesses were boarded up and many houses in the neighborhood were abandoned.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Teachzebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2005

Spent a night at the Wheat Lands for a business trip. This was probably a nice hotel about 25 years ago, but there's been little done in the way of maintenance and upgrades. It looks like the owners bought up all of the little motels in this part of town and combined them into one property, as there are at least five (maybe more but I stopped counting at that point) different buildings on both sides of a busy local highway. My room was done up in 1980 decor and had a very musty odor. I suspect the problem lived in the air conditioning unit and would have been cured with a gallon of bleach. The bathroom was clean but the shower valve leaked. Thankfully I was able to shut the bathroom door so I didn't have to listen to the water run all night.

Unfortunately fifty bucks doesn't seem to buy very much these days. Given a little maintenance on the plumbing and air conditioning systems, this hotel would be at the low end of the acceptable range. If I'd had to stay another night I probably would have lowered my rating, but as it was I took care of my business in town and happily moved on.

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2004

We stayed there the weekend after the Fourth of July for a family reunion. The family called ahead and told them we would like to have our reunion there. We did recieve a family reunion discount rate and several families stayed there, which made it very handy. Everyone enjoyed the pool and several took advantage of the exercise room too. The hotel gives you free breakfast (or $4.00 off anything you want at breakfast) and we all ate there together and sure enjoyed the food too! Our family get together was at the Conference Room and the staff was efficient and very accomodating with the large crowd that was there. The meal was excellent and we were all glad that we had made this choice. We stayed there again in August and we think this is a real good bargain. Would stay there again if we need to.

  • Stayed: February 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Goldie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garden City hotels
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Garden City
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Garden City
72 reviews
0.9 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Red Baron
Magnuson Hotel Red Baron
#14 of 16 in Garden City
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Garden City
Clarion Inn Garden City
#4 of 16 in Garden City
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Sunflower Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sunflower Inn & Suites

Address: 1311 E Fulton St, Garden City, KS 67846-6132 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Region: United States > Kansas > Garden City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range: £45 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Sunflower Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your New Sunflower Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing