We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope that you don't get stuck here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Red Baron
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Garden City
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Tht only reason this place has guest is all the oil worker filling up the newer hotels. I hate to give a poor rating but this place is far from average compared to other areas.
Pros:
Clean rooms, good shower pressure. Nice Indian woman at check in, pool looked good.

Cons:
Cheap beds, feed lot smell, view of trailer park on west side, jake brake truck and hwy noise on east side. Probably built in th 1970's, exterior in poor shape, breakfast looked questionable and was depleted.

This hotel's time has come and gone. Time for the wrecking ball.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Magnum9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Hotel Red Baron
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

This was converted from another lower end motel chain. No bed bugs-- no problems sleeping. Flys in the room and in the area, but that's to be expected because of all the stockyards. If I were going to return to Garden City I'd make reservations ahead of time at another hotel. No major complaints just an average lower end hotel with an middle price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyBoop1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The room was nice. The beds comfy and Pillows were nice..We even asked for 2 extras. The front desk was fast and friendly even with a small child behind the desk..wich we didnt mind but found kinda odd..The breakfast was decent..the coffee horrible and watered down along with the juice but the fruit and yogurt was the best part..we didnt use the pool but it was nice size and they seemed to have alot of seating inside the gate..They had a grill. The parking lot is next to a trailer park that is loud so ask to stay far away from it or you will hear alot of yelling..We have pets and they have a large area wich was great but the stockyards and trucks full of cattle make the place stink..It comes thru the airconditioner and vents..Dont open the windows between the cow patties and the dust it will be too much..housekeeping doesnt soeak english and communication is difficult for clean towels and toilet paper...If we didnt have pets we would have stayed @ the Holiday Inn Xpress its only 15.00 more and it smells far better...But we would return if we had our pets again as they didnt charge us for pets and they have plenty of room to walk....

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmellacorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

A heads up about the feedlot just North of town would have been welcomed. By the time we got there it was too late to make other arrangements. We started to hang our clothes for the evening then noticed that the hangers, and most other horizontal surfaces were coated in dust. The toilet appeared to have not been cleaned in a while. The lamp shade in the corner was cracked and dusty. Cobwebs were in the corners but didn't seem to deter the flies. The floor could have used a good vacuuming. We complained to the front desk and was offered a different room. When the desk clerk got to our first room we noted she was carrying a dust cloth. The second room was better but the refrigerator was not working and had no control knob.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herschell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

It's on the edge of town. No restaurants around it. Front desk sent us to a BBQ place that didn't seem to exist. Drove back into town and found a Golden Corral and had a passable dinner.
Hotel had a coin laundry, but the front desk didn't have any quarters, so I had to drive down the road to a convenience store to get some. Continental breakfast was mediocre but there was no place else to eat. Getting through Kansas has always been a chore.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Blacknite98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed here on our way to Colorado and Utah for our two week vacation National Park-ing. The room was clean, the front desk staff was very nice, and the breakfast was decent. The property is in a slightly run down area, but nothing unsafe. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable place to lay your head for a night, this place will do just fine.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewlyWedTeacher82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We were caught in, what for us Brits, was severe weather and only pulled in here out of fright! It is an old style motel type building and we would have driven past under normal circumstances. The front desk was excellent, friendly and quick. You got the feeling everyone was making an effort. The room was clean and everything worked. Plenty of snowy white towels in the bathroom. Internet was good and quick. Breakfast was on a par with some of the best we've had with lovely fresh fruit skewers. All this for little more than half we would have elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnTUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garden City hotels
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Garden City
69 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Garden City
1.0 mi away
Clarion Inn Garden City
Clarion Inn Garden City
#4 of 16 in Garden City
171 reviews
0.9 mi away
New Sunflower Inn & Suites
New Sunflower Inn & Suites
#16 of 16 in Garden City
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Red Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Red Baron

Address: 2205 Fulton Street, Garden City, KS 67846
Region: United States > Kansas > Garden City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range: £50 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Red Baron 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Red Baron is minutes from the Garden City Community College, Finney County Museum, Sandsage Bison Refuge and Wildlife Area, and Lee Richardson Zoo. This hotel offers a delicious FREE HOT BREAKFAST each morning consisting of SCRAMBLED EGGS, SAUSAGES, BISCUITS & GRAVY, WAFFLES, DANISHES, MUFFINS ETC. ETC; FREE HI-SPEED WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS, 40" flat screen tv, a business center, laundry facilities, free parking, and pets are welcome with additional fees. Standard rooms feature: Refrigerator & Microwaves, free wireless internet access, cable TV with closed caption, SHO TIME, air conditioning, alarm clock / radio, free local calls, hairdryer, microwave, mini-fridge, and iron and board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Red Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden City
Garden City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing