We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magnuson Hotel Red Baron
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
National 9 Inn(Garden City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Garden City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Garden City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
2
12
5
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
12
5
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfruit and yogurtbiscuitsroom was cleanrepairtowels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stumbled into Garden City and picked the first hotel we came to. We found the staff to be very helpful. The room was large, clean and quiet. Very good value and would definitely stay there again. The mexican restaurant next door was fine and convenient for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patelbarrett, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Red Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Sue it was a pleasure to have served you at our establishment. We do hope to see you again.
And we thank you for commending us.

Barrett Patel
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Tht only reason this place has guest is all the oil worker filling up the newer hotels. I hate to give a poor rating but this place is far from average compared to other areas.
Pros:
Clean rooms, good shower pressure. Nice Indian woman at check in, pool looked good.

Cons:
Cheap beds, feed lot smell, view of trailer park on west side, jake brake truck and hwy noise on east side. Probably built in th 1970's, exterior in poor shape, breakfast looked questionable and was depleted.

This hotel's time has come and gone. Time for the wrecking ball.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Magnum9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This was converted from another lower end motel chain. No bed bugs-- no problems sleeping. Flys in the room and in the area, but that's to be expected because of all the stockyards. If I were going to return to Garden City I'd make reservations ahead of time at another hotel. No major complaints just an average lower end hotel with an middle price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyBoop1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The room was nice. The beds comfy and Pillows were nice..We even asked for 2 extras. The front desk was fast and friendly even with a small child behind the desk..wich we didnt mind but found kinda odd..The breakfast was decent..the coffee horrible and watered down along with the juice but the fruit and yogurt was the best part..we didnt use the pool but it was nice size and they seemed to have alot of seating inside the gate..They had a grill. The parking lot is next to a trailer park that is loud so ask to stay far away from it or you will hear alot of yelling..We have pets and they have a large area wich was great but the stockyards and trucks full of cattle make the place stink..It comes thru the airconditioner and vents..Dont open the windows between the cow patties and the dust it will be too much..housekeeping doesnt soeak english and communication is difficult for clean towels and toilet paper...If we didnt have pets we would have stayed @ the Holiday Inn Xpress its only 15.00 more and it smells far better...But we would return if we had our pets again as they didnt charge us for pets and they have plenty of room to walk....

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmellacorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

A heads up about the feedlot just North of town would have been welcomed. By the time we got there it was too late to make other arrangements. We started to hang our clothes for the evening then noticed that the hangers, and most other horizontal surfaces were coated in dust. The toilet appeared to have not been cleaned in a while. The lamp shade in the corner was cracked and dusty. Cobwebs were in the corners but didn't seem to deter the flies. The floor could have used a good vacuuming. We complained to the front desk and was offered a different room. When the desk clerk got to our first room we noted she was carrying a dust cloth. The second room was better but the refrigerator was not working and had no control knob.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herschell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews