We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden City's Diamond in Western Kansas...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Inn Garden City
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Garden City
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas TX
1 review
“Garden City's Diamond in Western Kansas...”
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Kansas is famous for many things...Wild Days in Dodge City...Birth Place of Amelia Earhart...the best steaks in the country...and it is now about to add...The Diamond of Western Kansas...I am talking about the Clarion Inn, Garden City...In February 2010 I traveled to Garden City to help facilitate a marketing event for my Prudential Agents Greg Calzonetti and Josh Noel...From the moment I checked in...the words that come to mind could only be WOW...! From the atmosphere at the front desk...to the friendliness of the staff....I was blown away by the experience...from the indoor swimming pool and Spa...to the Restaurant and Convention Center…Simply put…the Clarion was the Diamond of this trip. --J Collins -Allen TX

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JrayDallasTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    36
    8
    7
    7
See reviews for
26
23
14
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Whenever we go to Garden City, we stay at the Clarion Inn. No where else in town even compares The ambience is wonderful, and there is no need to leave the building. The kids are happy because of the indoor pool, and the adults are happy as well due to the fantastic restaurant and bar, Samy's. The beds are over the top, comfort-wise.

Amro Samy, Owner/Manager, always goes out of his way to personally check on all of the hotel's guests. He is very much involved in all the aspects of the hotel's operation and is the main reason the hotel is so successful.

Thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaAndover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Love the facility, stay there every time I go to this town or thru it.

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Taps1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We frequently travel to Garden City to visit family and our last trip we stayed at this hotel. I will say the hotel was beatiful, very nice decor, the beds were comfortable, and had very nice amenities. We did run into several problems, first off the showers in the rooms would run cold for a few seconds every minute or so, slightly annoying but really not that bad. The breakfast was great but be warned, show up early! We arrived at 8:30 on a Saturday morning and there was hardly anything left, when asked we were told breakfast is over at 9:00 but when some other families arrived the did make some more food, unfortunately for us, we had made do with the pastries and cereal before we knew that. My biggest complaint was the pool area and managements response (or lack there of) to problems. When we first arrived I was shocked to see several teenage boys eating pizza in the hot tub (gross!) We made a casual remark to the front desk and they promised to do something about it which they never did. The second day was much worse. When we arrived there where teenagers jumping off the TOP of the slide into the pool and in general being reckless. I'm no idiot, that's pretty typical teenager behavior but management did nothing about it as well as the few parents in there. My child was only 6 so of course I was concerned about his safety. Once things got very loud and dangerous management showed up and asked me if everything was ok, I looked at the "rules" sign and told him about every rule was being broken and about the older kids jumping from the top of the slide. He went around and asked the other parents there if they were guest, when one replied no nothing was done, and then left. Honestly what is the point of printing up several signs explaining the pool area rules if you have no desire to enforce it. Also there were several people coming in through other entrances (there is a restaurant with it's own entrance) changing in the bathroom and then using the pool. Not very fair to paying guests. Later that evening we had unsupervised kids running up and down the halls screaming and yelling. Although management acknowledged the had recieved several complaints nothing was done. While it was a beautiful hotel the whole trip was a major headache. Would definitely never return.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJ22Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

We traveled to Garden City for a wedding last weekend and decided to stay at the Clarion because that is where the reception was to be hosted. In all honesty, the hotel's rooms, staff, and facilities were fine. The problem was that after we left the reception, we went to our room planning on getting some sleep. Many of the rooms in this hotel have windows and sliding doors that open up to an indoor courtyard, which happens to be where the reception was being held, so we could hear pretty much everything that was going on in the reception hall -- loud music, people talking loudly, etc.

Another problem was that our room was adjoined to the rooms on each side, but the walls seemed to be very thin and the doors between didn't block out noise at all. We could hear children screaming late at night and earlier in the morning. Needless to say, we didn't get much sleep.

I'm sure this hotel is one of the better ones in Garden City, but if you stay here on a weekend, request a room that doesn't open up to the indoor courtyard just in case.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheffreygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We are from San Antonio and had never been to Kansas. We were not expecting much but to our surprise this hotel was great. It was so nicely decorated. We arrived at 11pm becuase our flght was the last flight in, they sent a staff member to pick us up and then he was he nice enough to bring us some food even though their kitchen was closed. The front desk knew of our car rental and gave us info on that and the room. The room was beautiful. we had everything we could need. The room was quite and we did not hear noise from the bar. The food was great the staff was friendly. This definetly the place to stay.

  • Liked — comfort of the bed and the restaurant
  • Disliked — the wake up call the phone lit up and did not ring
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

August 08, and renovation still goes on at this hotel; nevertheless, hands down the very best hotel in Garden City, and I have stayed in three different hotels in this city already. I believe that the key to a good hotel is cleanliness and the bed! Outstanding bedding:down pillows, comforter, and incredibly soft bed. The bathroom was on the small side, felt a little crammed, but overall the room was a bargainvery clean and nice.

The swimming pool is right in the middle of the hotel, and our room overlooked that area, but even though it might have been a bit noisy, it seemed as though everything quieted down early enough eventually. Not an annoyance at all.

Another thing that I trully enjoyed was the restaurant on the premises. A very good dinner with food prepared to perfection. I especially liked not having to drive somewhere else for dinner.

You could not stay at a better hotel in Garden City. The room rate was very reasonable. Well worth it. I strongly recommend it.

  • Liked — room, bed, restaurant
  • Disliked — still under renovation
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 66EC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garden City hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Garden City
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
The Heritage Inn & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Garden City
Hampton Inn Garden City
#2 of 16 in Garden City
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 16 in Garden City
97 reviews
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Garden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Garden City

Property: Clarion Inn Garden City
Address: 1911 E Kansas Ave, Garden City, KS 67846-6240 (Formerly Garden City Plaza Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Garden City 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Garden City Hotel Garden City
Clarion Garden City
Garden City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing