We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Mexican food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Carreta

La Carreta
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Gardner
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Georgia
Level Contributor
898 reviews
627 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our family of four ate here. We all enjoyed our food. We tried both cheese dips and liked them both. My husband had the Grande Burrito, our son had the chicken quesadillas, our daughter had nachos, and I had a combo platter. I loved the hard shelled taco. The sopaipillas were an excellent closing for the meal. We had leftovers for another meal. Ww would return when in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank justme2Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Sometimes, the food is great, and other times it's just so-so. If you're in Gardner, and looking for Mexican food, this is your only option. You won't be wowed, but you won't be sorry either.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Danedri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just ate at La Carreta the other night. This was our second time to the restaurant. The atmosphere is nice, chips and salsa were very good, all of our meals (4 of us) were excellent and the service was also very good. It appears to be very family friendly and the prices are reasonable.

The Margaritas are great too! Try it...think you'll like it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DCKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardner, Kansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The only Mexican in Gardner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

I always rate a Mexican restaurant by their chips, salsa and margaritas. The chips and salsa was average at best. The margarita was very good! I unfortunately ventured out into the unknown by ordering the spicy shrimp dish...the shrimp was okay but the vegetables were too spicy..overall if you are in Gardner and want Mexican this is your only choice....then go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delish!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Have been there several times and each time it has been delish! Food is great and fresh. Service is good, drinks are cold and atmosphere is great! We usually go with several people and the order always comes out correct! We have sat at the bar and tables and have never had bad service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Carreta also viewed

 

Been to La Carreta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing