We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School Reunion at Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Highland Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Great Bend
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had our all year school reunion here in July 2013. Good clean accommodations. Great food served quickly and professionally to a very large group. Management was very easy to work with and helped with every request or concern.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

I spend a lot a time on the road, my company and my family came to Kansas for work. Mike and his staff took great care of my guys and my family. The restaurant and bar is very clean and the service was excellent. The pool is the cleanest pool I have ever seen. Anything we asked for Mike or his staff made it happen. Our rooms had up to date tv's beds, fridge, ac. The building is an older building however they are doing many renovations to it. If you go to Great Bend KS the Highland hotel and convention center is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We checked in on 8/2/13-8/9/13 paid w/credit card; & 8/10-8/13 w/cash. while waiting for our home to be finished. they charged us $398.65, 108.75, 50.00. The rms were suppose to be $40 not $50. Per night they were double paid for the nights paid w/cash. we cleaned our own rm. They were dirty moldy, the drain was clogged & leaked. we had to fix ourselves. due to them not fixing properly. the pool & whirlpool was green. weeds all over & tall grass. we had to move due to a/c. no discount. no free continential breakfast. Overall for for 11 days was hell! with filth i deep cleaned our room. but my biggest problem was my c/c being charged!!! I've disputed the entire bill! they will not get a penny out of me! Or a recommendation for any service!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeepgirl9399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike T, Manager at Highland Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Guest has paid twice by the credit card and we have her signature on the signing sheet. For her to claim that she was charged more is utterly wrong. For the fact there is an outstanding balance that she has not paid as yet.

The boyfriend of the guest who wrote the review was an employee of our hotel and worked in the maintenance department. If we have a maintenance problem in the guest room, our maintenance staff is going to fix it. I don't understand why she claimed that "We had to fix it". If she was not happy with the accommodation from her first day, she should have approached the management and not stayed for 11 days. That itself is questionable.

Guest also brought two dogs to the room and did not even informed the hotel about the same.

This review is totally baseless and untrue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

While staying in Great Bend , we have had to resort to this old Holiday Inn which has been the Highland hotel for a while. The facility has not had a renovation in many years and is tired and shabby but clean. The cheap beds are not comfortable like a newer hotel, no flat screens, carpet is bunched, pillow are old,old,old. Pool is old but nice and warm, need ropes at deep end and a cleaner deck area, Jacuzzi is lukewarm, missing drain cover like the pool, and not in good repair , gym area is tired. The employees are nice and friendly and the ones I met we're willing to help, ( no pool towels, room had 2 bath towels, one room in our party had to move as the ac was hot. The owners are on premise but either cannot afford the upgrades this hotel desperately needs or doesn't "get it" . Room was $79 with the "manager" discount but would be ok with more if the hotel was a better stay. Owner needs to do the math on a better occupancy rate like the "Best Western" across the street which is always full as it is much nicer.this hotel could be much more than it is right now with some renovation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virtualcfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Most accomadating and professional staff always going above and beyond the call of duty to meet the needs of our business meeting. While the Hotel and facilities are older, everything was clean and most furniture and appliances were new. The few issues raised by the sheer size of our group were addressed promptly, professionally, and with a smile. If your planning a business event you won't find a better value, and I've never experienced hotel Manager so willing to make miracles happen!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperDu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have noticed many things going down hill with rooms. Air conditioners way to noisy for comfort, security of rooms is really bad, bathrooms not clean, poor beds is my rating, commodities of room low value cheap small. Weeds growing to in excess of a foot tall around outside of building very tacky. Meetings rooms had low level lighting need flashligh to read our literature. Swimming pool water not clear, looks inhibiting. I would not recommend this place to stay. Restrooms outside of meeting rooms where nasty.

Room Tip: Look before you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfcsarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Mike and staff did not hesitate to meet my requests. This hotel has no elevator I asked who was going to carry my luggage up stairs and immediately Mike was there ready and willing. My air conditioning wasn't blowing very well Mike not only came up and made the necessary adjustments but just to be safe he also went back down and brought me a fan.
For some strange reason I wasn't able to link to WI-FI called the front desk to see if I needed a password but I did not. I still couldn't connect and I no flunky and one of the girls at the front desk said she'd be right up. WOW! And I'm hard to WOW!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shortcak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Bend hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 8 in Great Bend
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Angus Inn
Best Western Angus Inn
#1 of 8 in Great Bend
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Great Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Days Inn Great Bend
Days Inn Great Bend
#7 of 8 in Great Bend
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Great Bend
Comfort Inn Great Bend
#5 of 8 in Great Bend
80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelers Budget Inn
Travelers Budget Inn
#3 of 8 in Great Bend
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 3017 10th St, Great Bend, KS 67530-4261
Region: United States > Kansas > Great Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Great Bend
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highland Hotel and Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Largest full service Hotel in Great Bend that has a Restaurant (excellent food), Lounge & Fun Dome all under one roof. 171 guest rooms which include the normal amenities i.e wifi, coffee maker, alarm clock, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, cable TV. Fun Dome includes over sized indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, games, exercise room, coin operated guest laundry. Over 25,000 sq. ft of meeting space so whether your meeting is large or small we have a room for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Highland Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Great Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing