We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but way overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Butterfield Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hays
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, but way overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

While this is indeed a nice hotel, clean and comfortable, there are too many other options for a clean, nice room while in Hays. One hotel adjacent to this hotel has been remodeled, and for a substantial savings, offers the same amenities.If you do not need to watch your budget, ie, if you get reimbursed by your company, this is the hotel to stay in. But if, like me, you need to watch your budget, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    162
    30
    17
    14
See reviews for
232
130
33
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wichta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very nice hotel. Very clean and friendly staff. I was most impressed with their complementary breakfast - wonderful variety and super nice ladies staffing the breakfast bar. They were so helpful and accommodating. I would definitely stay there agin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were very happy to have found this hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Location was easy to find. Close to restaurants and personal shopping. Quite and clean We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VT
Level Contributor
326 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

After Sleep Inn (we had reservation we could cancel and did) and Comfort Inn told us it was too early for check-in and we couldn't watch TV in their breakfast room until official check-in time, we stopped at BW Butterfield. Rate for room was close, but the difference in attitude and service was night and day. Lina didn't have a room ready but invited us to watch TV (US Open golf tournament) in the comfortable lobby. She was very busy but kept track of check-in and available rooms and had us in within 45 minutes. So nice.

Now the room. Big. Comfortable. Appealing. Great bed, decent bedding. Good wi-fi, fridge, microwave. Great night's sleep.

Didn't have their breakfast because it was way too busy. They opened a separate room for overflow but too many people fighting for food to be what we were looking for. Went to Golden Pheasant Pancake House - no available tables. Ended up getting a nice breakfast sub at Subway and got on our way.

Gas station in front has highest price around. Valery station next to Subway south of 70 was $.50 a gallon less.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VTLongTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
260 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were very comfortable. The hotel seems to be recently built and is arranged for guest convenience. The beds were comfortable, the rooms extra clean and the breakfast was good (but predictable) The hot tub was clean and well cared for. We were traveling with 2 seniors and they were sure to locate us close the the elevator, but far enough away to be quiet. We will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road_Bear57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nebraska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

When we arrived we were greeted by Shelly at the front desk. She was super friendly and helpful. Also, we were allowed to check-in almost 3 hours early with no problem. Walking to our room we noticed how the hallway was wider then we were use too which was wonderful with bags and kids. When we walked into the room it was very inviting. I would have to say this is one of the nicest motels we have ever stayed at. The room was very spacious and super clean. It had a room safe, microwave fridge, desk writing area plus an additional sitting area. This was their standard room, The beds were extremely comfortable. It was nice to just relax and my younger daughters have plenty of room to setup their dolls and play. We took advantage of the pool. It was perfect temperature. I wasn't so sure about the salt water part of it when booking but now experiencing it I will be looking for a salt water pool when we travel. Also, the breakfast was fantastic and excellent variety. If we come thru Hays again we will be staying here without any hesitation. My only suggestion is I would have liked to see a vending machine. They have pop machines but with kids and when we travel we seem to go swimming then back to the room for showers and a movie. We usually spoil the kids and get everyone a treat from the vending machines.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a great place to stay. it is located just off the interstate in an area with several hotels. We found it very comfortable, and a there was good breakfast. The staff at the front desk and in the breakfast area were both friendly and helpful. There were several places to eat nearby, also. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javabadgermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hays hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hays
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hays
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Hays
Fairfield Inn Hays
#11 of 13 in Hays
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Butterfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Butterfield Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Butterfield Inn
Address: 1010 E 41st St, Hays, KS 67601-9495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hays
#3 Business Hotel in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Butterfield Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Butterfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Butterfield Hotel Hays
Best Western Hays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing