We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Visit with Kids”

Sternberg Museum of Natural History
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Hays
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Fort Hays State University, the museum is dedicated to collecting and preserving plant and animal specimens pertaining to the Great Plains.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Visit with Kids”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My family really enjoyed visiting the museum. This was the second time we have traveled to Hays specifically to visit the museum. It is beginning to look a look out of date and needs some facility improvements. The public areas were in pretty good condition, but the exhibits need some improvements.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    39
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Rattler display.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Not just the live display of Rattlers but the whole museum is interactive. Great place to visit for all ages.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nean1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Surprising gem of a museum in Kansas right on I-70!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I have known about this museum for quite some time, so it is no surprise to me—but if you don't know about it and have any interest in paleontology, fossils, and/or dinosaurs, you will be amazed! This museum displays the famous "fish-within-a-fish" specimen discovered by Charles Sternberg, as well as several other spectacular finds of his. Temporary visits are frequently changed, and are often quite amazing—a couple of years ago, the museum housed a spectacular temporary exhibit featuring dinosaurs from Africa! The top floor of the museum contains a diorama featuring a large and loud animatronic T-Rex! Young kids are either terrified of it or love it! All in all, the museum is a superb value for the money and is a great way to break up a long trip along Interstate 70 in Kansas!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stocksbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Roar!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our visit happened to be near closing time so we didn't have to compete with loads of people. The exhibits were interesting but seemed sort of random. I found that the museum on the Omaha campus had very similar (identical) exhibits and was able to link them together to make sense. The Omaha site also had lots more, so I think I would recommend Omaha. It is an interesting attraction, the motion activated dinosaur made my husband jump!


www.sternberg.fhsu.edu/

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spacescoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing attraction!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

If you have time please stop and see this place. It is well worth the time if you have kids or even like dinosaurs. It is a lot of information but well worth the nominal fee of admission.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luv2gohike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sternberg Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Sternberg Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing