We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must get the Steak Ranchero!”

Cancun Mexican Grill
Ranked #6 of 91 Restaurants in Hays
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Hays, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Must get the Steak Ranchero!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We go to this restaurant about a couple times per week. The service is always great. There are 3 things on the menu that I personally like the best.

#1 is the Steak Ranchero. They describe it as a 12 oz T-bone steak marinated to give it a smooth flavor, topped with French fries and Mexican chorizo (sausage), served with rice, beans and tortillas. Topping a steak with Chorizo and fries! Brilliant!

#2 is the Tostada Cancun. This is a close to a tostada that I can get that my Mom would have made. Give it a try, the pork meat is fabulous. I would get a little extra sour cream.

#3 is the Carnitas. Tender and seared pork chunks are so full of flavor. This is they way carnitas should be done.

Don't forget to grab some Chorizo Fundido to start the meal. I always have a Pepsi from Mexico. Nothing like a drink with real sugar.

So just go, you are going to love it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    26
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marion, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I'd read the online reviews and the raves were on target. Can't imagine a low rating! We'll remember the Cancun on our next I-70 road trip and arrange to be hungry when passing Ellis KS. :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great chips and salsa”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Table of 3 was about $22 with drinks. We each ordered a chimmichanga. Meat was very tender but not very seasoned. A LOT of food for your money. Very nice staff. Great, fast service. Fresh food. Wonderful chips and salsa. Our only complaint is that our chimmis were not very crispy. Glad we stopped on our way down I-70.

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo West, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worst Chili Rellenos ever!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Good service, good chips and salsa, good décor. Then we got the food and it was terrible. The chili must have been old plus it was not fried crispy and instead was soft and flavorless with watery sauce on it. Had a taco which was so greasy it couldn't be picked up. My friend had the enchiladas and only ate half after complaining about the sauce. No one asked us how we liked the food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stopped in for dinner as a family and were pleasantly surprised. The food was all prepared apparently from scratch- we had enchiladas, tamales and tacos. Everything had wonderful flavors and the service was second to none! The pricing was very fair- exceptional when you consider the quality of the food. We will return the next time we visit Hays!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Road_Bear57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cancun Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing