We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”
Review of Appletree Inn

Appletree Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Appletree Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Independence
Bossier City
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We loved being able to walk to the downtown which was nicer than most. The swimming pool was the crowing achievement according to my daughter. The rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was nicely done, and the tables overlooked the pool and waterfall. The staff was attentive and we felt appreciated. While not the cheapest in town, we got our money's worth.

Room Tip: You can choose between two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    23
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
6
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Fortunately for us, we tried at the last minute to get a room at the Appletree Inn and were pleased and surprised to discover that due to a cancellation they had one room open and we took it, cancelling our reservation at the local Super 8 (which said on the web site AND the sign out front there was an outdoor pool--what they failed to say is the pool had no water!).

Great downtown location. Warm greeting as we entered and explained we had two boys with us could we get a rollaway--none available but they did provide ample extra bedding (and towels) for the kids to sleep on the floor. Excellent.

In door pool very nice with two jacuzzi's. Good (not great breakfast), but certainly a step up from most "continental" breakfast fare.

The one thing we noticed was lots of staff on duty--at the front desk, hallways, breakfast area--always friendly and wearing a uniform/smock. We saw many instances of the vacuum running in high traffic areas--LOVED this. Very clean property.

The local movie theater is right across the street, with a handful of decent bars and grills a short drive or walk away. This appears to be a family operated and owned hotel and it shows--hospitality the "big city" properties could take a lesson from. Just a few areas where an upgrade/touch-up to the building might be in porder--but nothing big. No AAA discount and this is not a bargain/discount hotel, but worth the $10-$20 per night over the other options if you value a good, clean room, friendly, helpful service, the best (only?) indoor pool in town, and people looking to make your stay pleasant. Two thumbs, way up!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 200-213 if you like quiet...the air conditioning is on the roof outside these rooms (2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxMan12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nixa, Missouri, USA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

4-star relative to area. 3-star property in reality. Breakfast closes at 9:29am sharp and the muffins start running out by 9am. Plan accordingly. This is Fairmont or Springhill Suites of Montgomery county. Back in the day, OtisSpunkmyer were served, but no more. :-(

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doctmilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel is the best and only place to stay with kids. Has a great indoor pool which, I believe, is the only one in Independence. Has a few minor cosmetic issues but overall a very clean and neat property. Front desk help was excellent. Breakfast is limited (could use some real eggs and sausage, not frozen, to really hit a home run) but is much better then the other two "national" hotel locations in town. Excellent location being close to downtown, eating and grocery. Overall a great stay and will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fpdad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

As I've said before, my ratings are based on expectations- you have to judge in the context of where you are, and this place rates a solid very good. Though I've not stayed at other hotels in Independence Kansas, I have stayed in small towns across the mid-west, and this place holds it's own. Our room and the facilities were clean, the hotel was well managed and the staff was friendly and accomodating. The room had wi-fi and a fridge; and the downtown location lends itself to some pretty good places to eat and shop. It's old school for reservations and check out; telephones and a face to face with the desk are the means of communication. That being said, the folks are friendly and very helpful. We had a minor issue with our refrigerator/microwave (unplugged by a previous guest) and a call to the front desk brought immediate repair.

Pros: Great location, great staff; easy parking; easy wi-fi, clean.
Cons: Facilities are dated- if you want shiny new the carpets and bathroom won't do. Like the author, old, but clean.

Room Tip: If you have a need, speak to the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tacobender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Since there are only 4 or 5 places to stay in Independence this seemed to be the best choice. Phone reservation was very efficient. Check in easy. Very friendly lady at front desk. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included. Selection was limited, but okay for a free meal.

Room Tip: It seemed like all the rooms would be quiet, although some of them are smoking. Be sure and request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lggg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I've stayed here on business several times and I've never had anything but a wonderful experience at the Apple Tree Inn. There aren’t a ton of hotel options in Independence, KS and the Apple Tree is definitely the place to be. It is hands down better than the popular Microtel up the road (The accomodations there are MUCH smaller). Rooms are spacious and clean. They feature a wall-mounted HDTV, large fridge and microwave. Bathrooms are large and clean as well. Best of all, the rooms feature a full-sized leather recliner! I can’t stress how wonderful this is. It’s awesome to crash in after a long day. The pool, waterfall and two hot tubs are fabulous. The free breakfast bar is excellent as well. The Wi-Fi sometimes takes a few tries to get connected to, but once you are on there are no issues surfing the net. The whole property, though somewhat dated, is exceptionally clean and well maintained. It’s within easy walking distance of several restaurants and the local movie theater. If you’re traveling to Independence, the Apple Tree Inn is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank infinity-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Independence
Super 8 Independence
#4 of 6 in Independence
164 reviews
14.3 mi away
Best Western Bricktown Lodge
Best Western Bricktown Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coffeyville
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Coffeyville
14.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Coffeyville
67 reviews
14.5 mi away
Rest-Full Inn
Rest-Full Inn
#4 of 4 in Coffeyville
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appletree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appletree Inn

Property: Appletree Inn
Address: 201 North 8th Street, Independence, KS 67301-3301
Region: United States > Kansas > Independence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Appletree Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Appletree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appletree Hotel Independence
Appletree Inn Independence, Kansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing