We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Great Western Inn
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Junction City
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The room was clean — something that is important to me, of course — and the bed was comfortable — also very important. (The room had an odd smell — some odd cleaning fluid, probably.)

The outlet into which the refrigerator and microwave were plugged had problems — it took a while to figure out how to make the appliances work.

The "breakfast" should be labelled something else, maybe "eat this only if you are starving" and if you are willing to stand up to eat. The coffee was the weakest brew I have ever ever seen (and there was no option for tea instead). We decided to pass on the whole thing and eat elsewhere. If I had known this, I might have chosen a different motel to begin with. After all, some "continental breakfasts" are actually quite nice. But not this one.

Room Tip: Check the room out first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GauchodelOeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

this place nice to satay n price is good n place is top off hill love to stay in this hotel room n it's is on new management .. they have free wifi n breakfast in moring i would recommend to stay in this hotel ..

Room Tip: good price n nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankP1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here when most local hotels were booked and prices were very high. Great Western offered a low rate at $50. Unfortunately, this hotel is long past due for a complete remodeling. The walls are cinder block, carpet too old, furniture visibly worn and doors need replacement. OK, for fifty bucks what do you expect, right? Here's the rub, the refrigerator in the room was unplugged. The towels had small stains that I presume to be rust from the towel rack. The AC was turned off, leaving the room very musty. With all that musty stickiness, the bedding did not feel clean. If you must choose Great Western for the price, plan ahead and bring your own bedding and towels.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This place is very good for the money. The manager gave me a great deal.Good service With clean rooms. cable tv and internet. If you want a cheap place to stay that is descent this is the place. And if you have had any issues in the past with this place. It is now under new management.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I have stayed in junction city on several occasions and this place is top in my opinion for service, price and cleanliness. I would recommend it to families as well as people having to stay for extended stays.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1968ghetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We had to Stay there there for 6 weeks waiting for our new house. The staff was Super friendly, our room was clean, AC and heater worked Fine. If we needed something or had questions the staff was really helpfull. The pillows where new and fluffy. It's not expensive and they have a military discount! At the end it felt almost like home ;D. Would stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Well, its not a true five star hotel but for the price i had to rate it as that. The owners care and it shows. A few years ago it was purchased by a new owner and they fixed it up. New carpets, flat screen TVs, new beds/linens. Its not much more than 200 a week including taxes. Any other options don't compare. The value place cant hold a candle to a well run/owner run hotel. Also the convenience of the burger/steak joint next door is nice. I work at Ft Riley several times a year and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott5820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Junction City hotels
1.7 mi away
Junction City Inn & Suites
Junction City Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Junction City
99 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western J. C. Inn
Best Western J. C. Inn
#2 of 15 in Junction City
308 reviews
1.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Junction City
WoodSpring Suites Junction City
#11 of 15 in Junction City
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn near Fort Riley
Quality Inn near Fort Riley
#3 of 15 in Junction City
127 reviews
2.4 mi away
Express Inn & Suites Junction City
Express Inn & Suites Junction Ci...
#12 of 15 in Junction City
8 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Junction City
Courtyard Junction City
#5 of 15 in Junction City
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Western Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Western Inn

Address: 201 Continental Dr, Junction City, KS 66441-4359
Region: United States > Kansas > Junction City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Junction City
Price Range: £38 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Great Western Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Western Inn of Junction City offers great rooms at competitive rates. Located near the popular Fort Riley and Kansas State University you will find plenty to do whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. We are pleased to offer our travelers FREE, full Continental breakfast service in our spacious Dining Room, Pet-friendly*, and Air-conditioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Great Western Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Western Inn Junction City, Kansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing