We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place - above average, given the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
miles away
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not a bad place - above average, given the location”
Reviewed 27 November 2007

My husband and I stayed here on Sat, Nov 10. It was a last minute booking, there was some sort of rodeo in town, not to mention Garth Brooks. We were surprised how clean and comfortable the room was. The location leaves very little to be desired. I work in downtown KCMO and KCK needs some cleaning up!
The front desk staff were helpful & friendly. My husband left early Sunday morning for the Chiefs game and I slept in, no problems with the maids trying to get it or the manager trying to run me out.
The bed was almost too comfortable - my back hurt the next morning. Oh yes, the floors do not offer much of a noise barrier. The guests directly above us were having a 3AM rodeo of their own! We heard everything!
Other than that, we have no complaints. Parking was easy and free. We didn't eat at the hotel, I'm not even sure there was a restaurant. We didn't need anything from the front desk. There was an iron & board, toiletries, microwave, mini-fridge, nice TV. NO complaints.

  • Liked — spacious, clean rooms
  • Disliked — KCK is grubby, it's not the hotel's fault
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovepv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    176
    99
    46
    39
See reviews for
134
123
29
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KS
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2007

My husband and I stayed for two nights and found our stay quiet, comfortable, and restful. Although we did not use much that the hotel offered we found what we were looking for in a clean room and very quiet stay. The staff were always friendly, the parking was good, and the cookies in the evening were awesome. Would highly recommend for a good, out of the way hotel.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — not within walking distance of interesting things
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CFM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
644 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2006

When traveling to Kansas City, friends and business associates have always told me to avoid staying on the Kansas side. Well, my advice is do not discount something until you've tried it. In July I stayed two nights at the Hilton Garden Inn and was pleasantly surprised. The property was excellent. Downtown Kansas City, Missouri is conveniently located a few minutes away by car. While the immediate area around the hotel is uninspiring, it is safe enough for an evening stroll or jog. The front desk staff is absolutely first rate and professional. Parking is onsite in a small parking garage behind the hotel and free. Breakfast at Hilton Garden's is not free; I thought the breakfast buffet is somewhat pricey for what is offered. The eating area offers a small bar open to 10:00 pm for those needing a nightcap. Defintely more quiet on the Kansas side than on the MO side. If your looking for a good nights sleep, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location; convenience to highways; away from the noise of downtown Kansas City, MO
  • Disliked — Views from hotel rooms are not that great
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Keystone_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 October 2005

We went to KC for the KC Ren Fest. Often after a day at faire, all one wants to do is sit at the bar or in the pool and relax. The "bar" was a couple of barstools at the end of the eating area, we ended up taking our drinks back up to our room. The bartender (and I use the term very loosely) didn't know how to make our fairly common drinks, and once explained, didn't have the ingredients to make them. (no tequilla????) We also had to wait while he served guests their dinners, and ran roomservice up to other guests, and this was a Saturday night. The pool was more like a kiddie pool, not the "olympic sized pool" advertised.

The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was nice enough, but if you're looking for somewhere to do more than sleep, I would look elsewhere

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2005

The staff at this hotel was incredible. Very friendly and accommodating. We had been driving all night and just needed to sleep for a few hours. They let us check in very early and allowed us a late check out as well. This hotel was one of the cleanest I have ever been in and I am a travel agent, I have seen plenty of hotels. The pool was a very small, but we didn't want to swim anyway.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricksltlsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2005

stayed on business, clean and well furnished room, free internet, quiet, most of the action is across the river...

  • Stayed March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yepperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#50 of 108 in Kansas City
296 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
2.3 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#9 of 108 in Kansas City
2,203 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
Address: 520 Minnesota Ave, Kansas City, KS 66101-2930
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing