We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“F'n mattresses man...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“F'n mattresses man...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

The mattresses fall somewhere between granite and diamond on the scale of rock hardness. I'm not sure the sheets are even cotton...some kind of horrible poly-blend. I think a stable in Bethlehem would be more comfortable, donkeys, weird men (though wise), and all. Do I smell frankincense? The arcade reeks like a fraternity post foam party. What I'm trying to say is, Joseph would not bring his wife here. BOOM! OUT!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unhappish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    567
    399
    283
    144
See reviews for
1,622
15
Solo
0
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Paid $420 for a "suite" with moldy caulking.. When we complained, we were told they were "too full" to do anything about it. Room service took forever and didn't even bring half of what we ordered, including no silverware.. Had to wait again for that. No appologies, staff was rude. Room wasn't ready by 4 pm check in because they were "too full" but we still had to pay full price. Lines were long- NOT worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, General Manager at Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
I apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. I will share your feedback about the state of your bathtub with our Director of Housekeeping to ensure that this is resolved for future guests.

I also apologize for the rude staff you encountered, this is unacceptable to us at Great Wolf Lodge and I will share with our Director of Guest Services.

Once again, I am sorry your experience did not exceed your expectations. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Kind Regards,
Karina Addari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

This was our first trip to Great Wolf Lodge. We have a 3 year old boy and a 6year old girl. There was plenty to keep the 3 year old entertained and my 6 year old had a blast! don't get suckered into some of the extras, like games, build a bear, craft junk, or wizard quest...in my opinion not worth the money. However the water park is!! They don't let people who are not guests in to the waterpark so even at its busiest, it was never too busy. we never waited more than a few minutes for a slide or a tube for the lazy river. Look for their carry-out pizza deal-it was by far the most cost effective way to feed everyone without leaving.(lg pizza, breadsticks, salad, and pop for under $30)

Arrive as early as you can so you can get to the pool and start having a good time! (there are lockers available if your room is not ready to check into yet.....)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drpete65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

This was our 4th and LAST stay at GWL.

First, this hotel has a no cancellation policy within 72 hours. Our daughter was in the ER a couple days before we were scheduled to go, and we couldn't take her swimming for 10 days following her visit. GWL rescheduled us for two weeks later, for an additional $100, and said that they would not reschedule under any circumstances and we'd lose the full price of the room (which must be paid in advance) if we didn't show. Two weeks later, and we have two kids w/the stomach flu. So, we had no choice but to take them this past Sunday and hope for the best. KEEP IN MIND, this dilemma probably occurs for lots of parents; at least it also happened to my coworker (she took sick kids). What does that mean? Kids GET SICK IN THE ROOM! (as did our kids). We cleaned it up ourselves, but well, consider how germy these rooms must be.

Second, the accommodations are awful. Lumpiest mattresses EVER (and we've stayed in 4 different rooms), our A/C leaked prodigious amounts of water, and the elevator closest to our room was broken for a whole day.

Third, the food in the restaurant is high priced and awful. We've always taken our food or eaten at the nearby Legends mall.

Fourth, if you're wondering why we went back 3 times.... well, our kids love the waterpark and it is less than 2 hours from our home, so it worked for a quick getaway. The waterpark is fun, though kinda small to warrant frequent visits. Doesn't matter to us, though, because we will not return.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank katrajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed for three nights as a girls trip with my Mother, sister-in-law and two nieces. The air conditioner in our family suite did not work. It was finally replaced our second night and the new one did not work either. After finally insisting on speaking to a manager, we were moved to a loft suite where the air worked but the room was never cleaned and no clean towels delivered. We actually had to find housekeeping carts in the halls and take towels off since our numerous requests at the front desk and phone calls did not produce any....tip - take a lot and hide them in the dresser! The restaurant prices were outrageous, especially the breakfast buffet. Kids were running all over the place waving "magic wands" around and forget about being able to get on one of the two elevators. My nieces did enjoy the waterpark but would have been just as happy at a cheaper, nicer hotel with a pool and a trip to Schliterbahn!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vvanders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, General Manager at Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay. There is no excuse for your issues with the towels and I will share these comments with our Director of Housekeeping so this can be avoided in the future.

Once again I apologize and thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. I value all feedback, good or bad, and use it to help us create a better experience for our guests. I hope that you will visit us again.

Kind Regards,
Karina Addari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Air Conditioning was so old and noisey you couldn't hear the TV which was an ancient set. The kids beds were hard as a rock. Water park is a bump in the road compared to Schlitterbahn. Not a $300 a day experience. Advice go to Schlitterbahn, stay in a $100 a night hotel and have a great and more economical experience.

Room Tip: Go next Door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwcnicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, General Manager at Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
I apologize that you did not find your Great Wolf Lodge experience to be as enjoyable as expected. We value all feedback, good or bad, and use it to better our Lodge for all guests.

We strive to provide an experience that puts all of the conveniences and fun of vacation under one roof. That is why waterpark passes are included with your stay and why we offer a variety of other amenities. Again, if you did not find these to exceed your expectations, I apologize.

I hope you will join us again in the future.

Best Wishes,
Karina Addari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Pretty much nothing in the hotel seemed to be running as it should. The check-in was slow, the pool kept running out of towels, and it took about 15 minutes to simply rent a locker. The level of chlorine was very high and my entire family developed a bit of lung tickle/cough. But the biggest issue was the noise at night. It sounded like they were jumping on the bed above us. I called the desk and didn't even receive an apology. When I went down to the front desk to complain, they really couldn't care less. After the trip we complained via survey and indicated we would like a response from management, but never heard anything. They clearly did not value us as guests.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2parents_with_2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, General Manager at Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
I apologize that Great Wolf Lodge did not live up to your expectations. I can assure you that these issues are not typical of a visit to our lodge and I would like to personally apologize.

The issues you experienced with check-in, lack of towels and time to rent a locker can sometimes happen when the Lodge is full. We constantly work to alleviate these issues and ensure that they don’t happen in the future.

As for the noise during the night, I am sorry you felt your complaints were not valued. I will share this feedback with our Director of Guest Services so that we can remedy this issue.

Again, I am sorry and I hope that your family will join us again in the future to experience a true Great Wolf Lodge stay.

Sincerely,
Karina Addari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER KC Speedway Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
0.4 mi away
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
#11 of 21 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City

Property: Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City
Address: 10401 Cabela Dr, Kansas City, KS 66111-1954
Region: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City 3*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Kansas City
Great Wolf Kansas City
Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing